DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: swype not working

  1. Junior Droid
    MckeanOne's Avatar
    Member #
    94820
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    swype not working

    Has anyone have swype stop working on them?
    SSv4.6 no theme
    Launcher Pro
    SPRecovery
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    SStratman's Avatar
    Member #
    32630
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Yup...i was using a milestone copy of swype because i DO have a beta signup with swype but couldnt get it to work...anyways yesterday or last nite mine quit too and so I did some research and got the latest september version of swype to install/work!!!

    Basically got swype installer downloaded and swype installed from that which incidentally FAILED to work as usual so the steps with both installed for it to work for me were to...
    go into keyboard settings and make sure swype is UNCHECKED
    go into apps and clear data/cache on swype then uninstall
    go into apps and clear data/cache on swype installer and then uninstall it as well
    I believe I then did a reboot
    once booted I cleared cache with cachemate and clear dalvik cache with titanium backup
    next make sure no app killer is active (autokiller, ATK) and then go into apps and FC everything you can thats not part of android OS to free up as much memory as possible
    (I think FCing all apps other then android necessary ones was the KEY step, along with pressing back instead of done once swype says its installed, for it too work, i think its just really finicky in that it wants alot of free memory when installing!)
    then redownload swype installer and install swype with it and when it says swype is installed DO NOT click done instead press the BACK button on your Droid and then instead of getting the usual "swype is already installed on this device" BS popup it said "registering swype" and then it worked!
    Last edited by SStratman; 09-19-2010 at 12:52 AM.
  4. Droid
    Uglymouse's Avatar
    Member #
    38037
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    #3
    About a week ago I got an email from Swype sayng that there was a new version of Swype, and that the current version that I had would stop working soon. When it wouldn't work yesterday, I went back to the email which had a link to a new installer. I used that and got the new version that works.
    Food is an important part of a balanced diet.
  5. Senior Droid
    jim1974's Avatar
    Member #
    72382
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Harrisburg PA
    Posts
    105
    Twitter
    @jorchard1974
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Uglymouse View Post
    About a week ago I got an email from Swype sayng that there was a new version of Swype, and that the current version that I had would stop working soon. When it wouldn't work yesterday, I went back to the email which had a link to a new installer. I used that and got the new version that works.
    +1 on this. I did the same thing and its working fine.
  6. Senior Droid
    nagmier's Avatar
    Member #
    56968
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    177
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #5
    I had a similar problem, I had to uninstall reboot then reinstall to get it to work
  7. Master Droid
    FastKatt's Avatar
    Member #
    71116
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, TN
    Posts
    493
    Liked
    3 times
    Twitter
    FastKatt
    Phone
    Rooted RazrMaxx
    #6
    Mine won't take the new install

    It says it's not built for my phone...

    Maybe it's a ROM issue?
    Me: Motorola Droid RazrMaxx - Rooted
    Wife: Samsung Galaxy Note2 - Stock
    Son: Motorola Droid 4 - Rooted
    Daughter: Motorola Droid Bionic - Rooted
    Spare Rooted Phones: LG Vortex & 3 Droid 1s
  8. Super Moderator
    Vulcan1600's Avatar
    Member #
    7183
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,569
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #7
    I went back to my email and successfully installed it on my Droid 1.
    Thank you to all who have served or are serving our great country. You're always in my thoughts and prayers.

    Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. - Ronald Reagan
    --------

  9. Master Droid
    FastKatt's Avatar
    Member #
    71116
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, TN
    Posts
    493
    Liked
    3 times
    Twitter
    FastKatt
    Phone
    Rooted RazrMaxx
    #8
    Did you do anything special that time?
    Me: Motorola Droid RazrMaxx - Rooted
    Wife: Samsung Galaxy Note2 - Stock
    Son: Motorola Droid 4 - Rooted
    Daughter: Motorola Droid Bionic - Rooted
    Spare Rooted Phones: LG Vortex & 3 Droid 1s
  10. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #9
    im in the beta got the email and it works fine after installing it to the phone and not the sd card
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  11. Master Droid
    FastKatt's Avatar
    Member #
    71116
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, TN
    Posts
    493
    Liked
    3 times
    Twitter
    FastKatt
    Phone
    Rooted RazrMaxx
    #10
    I'm not asked where to install it?
    Me: Motorola Droid RazrMaxx - Rooted
    Wife: Samsung Galaxy Note2 - Stock
    Son: Motorola Droid 4 - Rooted
    Daughter: Motorola Droid Bionic - Rooted
    Spare Rooted Phones: LG Vortex & 3 Droid 1s
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype not working- help
    By Goofy Yno in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 08:33 AM
  2. Swype not working
    By alm0614 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 12:46 AM
  3. Swype Not Working?
    By xxnonamexx in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 05:35 PM
  4. swype stoped working
    By Arcadian in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 11:06 AM
  5. Swype not working....
    By BlumpkinsFasho in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 09:26 AM

Search tags for this page

droid incredible swype not working
,
installed swype but not working
,

swype installed but not working

,
swype is installed but not working
,

swype not working

,
swype not working droid incredible
,
swype not working on droid
,

swype not working on droid incredible

,

swype not working on incredible

,

swype stopped working on droid incredible

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+