DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Restore / Recovery mode broken

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Droid A855 & Bionic

Restore / Recovery mode broken

Ok, just switched over to 4.3 a few days ago...so I'm new to this rom, so pardon my ignorance if I've missed something.

I was going to update to the 4.4 and decided to boot my phone in recovery mode so I could do a backup. (From Rom Manager (Pro)).

My phone (droid A855) shut down, got the Moto M for 3 mins, then it went blank, got the Moto M and it started up... not in recovery mode, but back to 4.3.

Ok, I'll just download 4.4 and do an update... same thing... get the Moto M, 3 mins later (about), screen blanks, then it boots the phone up. No go.

So I decided to search the forums looking for suggestions... here's what I've tried:

1. Turn phone off, hold down X on physical keyboard, turn on phone, hold until recovery mode is up.... nope, will not work. If I'm patient enough, after about 10 mins, the phone reboots back to 4.3.

2. Changed ClockworkMod (2.0.1.3) over to Alternate Recover SPRecovery 0.99.3b... exact same problems... nothing works.

3. I've deleted most of my apps so I could move everything to phone, thinking maybe parts of the restore mode were on the SDCard... nope didn't work either.

Before I try my last idea (wipe phone to factory defaults)... anyone else have any other ideas?

Please help.

Tim
  2. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    vzw s3
    Quote Originally Posted by tbrand68 View Post
    Ok, just switched over to 4.3 a few days ago...so I'm new to this rom, so pardon my ignorance if I've missed something.

I was going to update to the 4.4 and decided to boot my phone in recovery mode so I could do a backup. (From Rom Manager (Pro)).