DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: how do you run scripts

  1. Senior Droid
    deadfrog82's Avatar
    Member #
    41530
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    139
    Phone
    SS v2.2 5 slot lv 1.2 ghz
    #1

    how do you run scripts

    I keep seeing in other developers roms just run scripts to change things you don't like my question is how do you do that
  2. Developer
    garrett's Avatar
    Member #
    180
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In a van by the River......
    Posts
    2,019
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Johns Phone
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #2
    scripts are just a series of linux commands that run in sequence...

    if you have a bash script created you need to "chmod u+x" to make it executable then just run the file either in adb shell or via a root terminal on the phone.

    to run the file the command would be "./samplascript" without the quotes
  3. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by deadfrog82 View Post
    I keep seeing in other developers roms just run scripts to change things you don't like my question is how do you do that
    A script is like a batch file in windows. Anything you do often you can put into a script so you don't have to type it all out again.

    For instance, if you want to remove something you can do the following:

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    rm /system/app/SomeSortOf.apk
    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    or you can put all of the above into a script file and and then run:

    rmSomeSortOfApk

    and then run that instead
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How do I run scripts????
    By jrl9851 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 09:38 AM
  2. can i add scripts to a rom by just copying the file?
    By tktouch12 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 12:20 AM
  3. Any software to teach me scripts for free?
    By YA123 in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 07:31 PM

Search tags for this page

adb run script

,
adb shell bash script
,

android bash script

,

android run bash script

,
execute bash file in adb shell
,
how to execute a bash script on android
,
how to run a bash script on android
,

how to run script in android

,

how to run scripts on android

,
run bash script in android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+