DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Lock in Memory - but only when I want?

  1. Senior Droid
    AndyMcDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    188298
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    162
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic, OG Droid
    #1

    Lock in Memory - but only when I want?

    One issue I've had with Gingerbread ROMs is that apps get killed to readily. I would like to prevent this from happening with Slacker, but only if I want it to be running. I don't necessarily want Slacker in memory all the time, I just want it to not get killed while it's playing music.

    Is there any way to make this happen in 5.4?
  2. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    That's interesting, so slacker gets shut off when its running? I use Pandora and have never had it shut off while it was streaming music. Seems as though you are very tight on ram if that's the case. Are you running the v6 supercharger script. I'd think that would help free up ram so slacker can run while other services are in use as well.

    Sent from OG Droid sporting SS5.4 w/HoneyGingerComb and Chevy's lv1.0ghz kernal
  3. Droid Ninja
    Snow02's Avatar
    Member #
    159755
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,343
    Liked
    27 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #3
    There is a task manager app, but I forget which one, that let's you set the oom level for individual apps.
  4. Senior Droid
    AndyMcDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    188298
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    162
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic, OG Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
    That's interesting, so slacker gets shut off when its running? I use Pandora and have never had it shut off while it was streaming music. Seems as though you are very tight on ram if that's the case. Are you running the v6 supercharger script. I'd think that would help free up ram so slacker can run while other services are in use as well.

    Sent from OG Droid sporting SS5.4 w/HoneyGingerComb and Chevy's lv1.0ghz kernal
    I'm aware of the script, but never paid much attention enough to know exactly what it does or if it would benefit me. I'll take a look. Thanks.
  5. Droid
    Trips555's Avatar
    Member #
    43624
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    I agree though... an option like that would be great. I like to super-multitask... like Poweramp, navigation, and browser all at once... so I put poweramp locked in to make sure it doesn't get shut down. But when its off, it still locks in. I have Supercharge too, but there's only so much one script can do! Being able to only lock when its active would be awesome!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. Senior Droid
    AndyMcDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    188298
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    162
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic, OG Droid
    #6
    For unrelated reasons, I tried the "lock in memory" setting with Copilot Live - a relatively huge app that tends to exit and subsequently restart when interrupted by a phone call or switching to another app. With this setting, the app remains in memory when interrupted, but actually exits when I tell it to, and it no longer remains in memory. And, it doesn't start up when the phone boots like Slacker did with the same setting.

    So it would seem that the "lock in memory" setting only prevents Android from killing the app, but does not prevent the app from self-terminating. Can anyone confirm this?

    If only more apps actually exited when exit them, then this would work just the way I want.
  7. Developer
    ChevyNo1's Avatar
    Member #
    20299
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5,355
    Liked
    26 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    It definitely is how the app is programmed - for example - by default, pressing the 'back' button STILL leaves most apps in memory. I changed ChevyNo1Tools to actually EXIT from memory on the back button, but STAY in when the home button is pressed ...

    That being said - you CAN use the long-press on back button to effectively kill/remove the app from memory ...
    D1 GB (10/17/2011) - Simply Stunning Gingerbread v5.6 (2.3.7) - from Source - 10/17/2011
    DX GB (10/17/2011) - Simply Stunning X Gingerbread v2.2 (2.3.7, GB Kernel) - from Source - 10/17/2011

    Follow me on Twitter @ http://twitter.com/ChevyNo1Droid

    If you enjoy my ROM's, feel free to help support my efforts by donating. I spend quite a few hours making sure you get the best ROM out there Your support is much appreciated! Paypal
  8. Senior Droid
    AndyMcDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    188298
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    162
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic, OG Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by ChevyNo1 View Post
    It definitely is how the app is programmed - for example - by default, pressing the 'back' button STILL leaves most apps in memory. I changed ChevyNo1Tools to actually EXIT from memory on the back button, but STAY in when the home button is pressed ...

    That being said - you CAN use the long-press on back button to effectively kill/remove the app from memory ...
    Even when it's set to "lock in memory"?
  9. Developer
    ChevyNo1's Avatar
    Member #
    20299
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5,355
    Liked
    26 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyMcDroid View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ChevyNo1 View Post
    It definitely is how the app is programmed - for example - by default, pressing the 'back' button STILL leaves most apps in memory. I changed ChevyNo1Tools to actually EXIT from memory on the back button, but STAY in when the home button is pressed ...

    That being said - you CAN use the long-press on back button to effectively kill/remove the app from memory ...
    Even when it's set to "lock in memory"?
    Yes - the 'lock in memory' applies only to Android's process of killing apps when memory is short - the 'longpress on back' acts apart from that ...
    D1 GB (10/17/2011) - Simply Stunning Gingerbread v5.6 (2.3.7) - from Source - 10/17/2011
    DX GB (10/17/2011) - Simply Stunning X Gingerbread v2.2 (2.3.7, GB Kernel) - from Source - 10/17/2011

    Follow me on Twitter @ http://twitter.com/ChevyNo1Droid

    If you enjoy my ROM's, feel free to help support my efforts by donating. I spend quite a few hours making sure you get the best ROM out there Your support is much appreciated! Paypal
  10. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by ChevyNo1 View Post
    It definitely is how the app is programmed - for example - by default, pressing the 'back' button STILL leaves most apps in memory. I changed ChevyNo1Tools to actually EXIT from memory on the back button, but STAY in when the home button is pressed ...

    That being said - you CAN use the long-press on back button to effectively kill/remove the app from memory ...
    I'm a little confused? What's the difference between exiting the app and killing the app? If you are exiting it from memory, aren't you killing it? I know when I tap back in an app it is still shown under running services until it decides it doesn't need to be running anymore.

    Also, what effect does the long press to kill app in the development settings have on all this. That seems to remove it from running services.

    Sent from OG Droid sporting SS5.4 w/HoneyGingerComb and Chevy's lv1.0ghz kernal
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Lock in memory...?
    By HorsePony in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-28-2011, 09:10 AM
  2. Please add lock app in memory option
    By Fault in forum Liquid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 02:06 AM
  3. Lock in memory app
    By Jester6x in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2011, 06:59 AM
  4. Lock MMS in memory?
    By dawg55 in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2011, 05:06 PM
  5. Lock home in memory
    By drpaul07 in forum Koush
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 05:06 PM

Search tags for this page

disable lock home in memory

,
home locked in memory
,

how to disable lock home in memory

,

is home is locked in memory

,
is home locked in memory
,
lock app in memory
,
lock app in memory android
,

lock home in memory

,
lock home in memory android
,
uncheck/disable lock home in memory
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+