DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problems with clock

  1. Junior Droid
    DwightMann's Avatar
    Member #
    232128
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Casio commando
    #1

    Problems with clock

    My phone changes time zone without warning or notice. Can I set the time, time zone, use my GPS location or simply not switch time?

    Sent from my C771 using DroidForums
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    AirJunky's Avatar
    Member #
    195211
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    117
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #2
    Recently my clock widgets are locking up. I have one setup on the main desktop, plus the little one is visible in the Notifications task bar. Eventually the widget will freeze up. And the one in the task bar is correct. I delete the widget & then setup another one, but it does the same thing soon enough.
  4. Droid
    paxchristos's Avatar
    Member #
    230828
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Xperia Play R800x
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by DwightMann View Post
    My phone changes time zone without warning or notice. Can I set the time, time zone, use my GPS location or simply not switch time?

    Sent from my C771 using DroidForums
    Unfortunately, verizon (i'm pretty sure it's them) has the date/time options grey out (meaning you cannot change them) [I'm pretty sure it's verizon, because on my old ATT HTC Aria, I could mess with it, and now on my Xperia Play and my wife's commando it's unchangeable]

    *warning* haven't tried this on commando, but have tried it on Xperia play with no errors *warning*
    The way to get around this (that i've found) is to root your phone (yes, it's necessary) then install a program called "ClockSync" (Free, Market Link: https://market.android.com/details?i...Nsb2NrU3luYyJd ) once you have this installed, run it, press menu -> settings -> (scroll down) and check Override system settings, set your UTC offset (e.g. central time is UTC -06:00) then you need to click TimeZone fixer, and after the reboot, the time zone should be fixed! (and you can manually control it)

    Quote Originally Posted by AirJunky View Post
    Recently my clock widgets are locking up. I have one setup on the main desktop, plus the little one is visible in the Notifications task bar. Eventually the widget will freeze up. And the one in the task bar is correct. I delete the widget & then setup another one, but it does the same thing soon enough.
    Download a new clock widget. The verizon one is a piece of sh*t. I use fancy widgets, gives me the weather (based off my location and the time
  5. Senior Droid
    AirJunky's Avatar
    Member #
    195211
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    117
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #4
    Duh, should have thought of that myself.
    Thanks. Downloading now.
  6. crabbybahstid's Avatar
    Member #
    187335
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Casio Gz'One Commando
    #5
    I've had to delete the OE clock widget twice and reinstall. Plus this week it switched to 24 hour time on its own.
    Yes, I can hear you now.
  7. Droid Newbie
    mushmouth's Avatar
    Member #
    236866
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    casio commando
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by crabbybahstid View Post
    I've had to delete the OE clock widget twice and reinstall. Plus this week it switched to 24 hour time on its own.
    I've had mine freeze on me twice this week,got rid of it for a few days just put it back today.I've seen allot of the clock apps on the marketplace all seem to have a couple comments about freezing,not keeping time.
    I want a clock app that is stable and keeps time,anybody know of any that work well with this phone.
  8. crabbybahstid's Avatar
    Member #
    187335
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Casio Gz'One Commando
    #7
    Amazing. "Smart" phone requires a separate app, that turns out to be unreliable, to perform a simple function that's native on a stone simple flip phone from 10 years ago.
    Yes, I can hear you now.
  9. Senior Droid
    AirJunky's Avatar
    Member #
    195211
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    117
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #8
    Fancy Widgets is available in the Market for free. I've had it installed since my posts on this subject a couple weeks ago & it has not frozen up even once. Plus it combines the weather in the same Widget, eliminating 2 of the stock apps that suck.
  10. crabbybahstid's Avatar
    Member #
    187335
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Casio Gz'One Commando
    #9
    Thanks for the suggestion of Fancy Widgets. The app permissions aren't too intrusive. The only review issue I saw was potentially pulling down the battery, so I'll watch that. I went larger than stock, so it sure looks different!
    Yes, I can hear you now.
  11. Senior Droid
    AirJunky's Avatar
    Member #
    195211
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    117
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #10
    Yea, some cool options in it, like the hide background. I'm tempted to buy it if it continues to really work well.

    I haven't noticed any battery issues on my Commando...... or any more than any other Droid. The battery lasts a couple days if I'm not using it a lot. And if I'm using any of the Wifi, BT or even surfing over the cell network, it'll drain easily in a day. So far the only effect Fancy Widgets has had is in the stability. Might have actually improved the battery consumption a bit.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Alarm clock problems
    By Droidl0vr in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 10:09 PM
  2. Alarm clock problems
    By jjmb81 in forum HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 08:01 AM
  3. Post GB clock problems
    By PhotoMaster in forum Droid X2 Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 07:15 AM
  4. Clock widget similar to Simi clock but with battery percentage also?
    By gsu_golfer in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 10:17 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 03:56 PM

Search tags for this page

android clock problem

,
casio commando alarm clock
,

casio commando clock widget

,
casio g'zone commando clock
,
casio gzone wrong time
,

change date on casio commando

,
clockwidget for casio
,
gzone time problem
,
how to change time on verizon gzone
,
how to set time on casio gz one
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+