DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Possible Root method

  1. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #1

    Possible Root method

    In post number 4030 of this thread on XDA, Baldrob reported gaining root:

    [APP]SuperOneClick v1.9.1 (Root, Unroot, Enable Non-Market App) - Page 403 - xda-developers

    I found the poster reporting Commando Root access doing a web search whereby the same person reported using the XDA linked program. Interesting. No additional information other than it works for the commando. ????????????????

    I am totally against these one step root programs as you do not learn a lot about what is going on with rooting, but a method may be a method when there is no other method. My interest in the phone just went up a tad more, as root is really what I need for a new phone.

    Craig
  2. Droid Newbie
    micahw29's Avatar
    Member #
    107916
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    TB/DX/G'zOne Commando
    #2
    Rooted mine using Super One-Click this afternoon. No issues at all, worked very quickly and I'm so glad to be de-bloated! Not a whole lot of room on this phone...
  3. Droid Ninja
    Bear in NM's Avatar
    Member #
    3690
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Bionic (sad but sweet)
    #3
    Micah,

    Thanks for the post. Looks like two folks have had success. I am surprised by you comment about phone room. I thought the phone came with a bucket load. Perhaps the bloat is also a bucket load.

    I thought this worth mentioning. On other phones where roms are not so much used rather than just root, when these phones attempt to get OTA updates, if some of the bloatware is removed, the OTA's can fail. When you "remove" bloat you have the option of simply renaming the files with extensions which keep them from loading, or actually erasing the file.

    It may be possible that in the future any OTA update may need to see these bloat programs to update. I would suggest either just use the renaming of extension convention, or at the least save a copy to your PC in case they need to be put back, temporarily. I apologize if you already knew this, but from the posts so far in this forum, it looks like the Commando is bringing a lot of new Android OS users to the fold.

    Craig
  4. Droid Newbie
    compurob's Avatar
    Member #
    196367
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #4
    Can one of you wit a successful root with the Casio Commando provide a detailed step-by-step. I have tried a variety of USB settings with Super One Click but it hangs waiting for the device every time. I'm currently running XP but I have a 7 machine as well.
  5. Junior Droid
    gioakjoe's Avatar
    Member #
    196254
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #5
    First plug in your phone into your computer with media sync selected on your phone.

    A pop up should ask you what you want to do
    chose bootstrap and that will instal the drivers to your phone.

    2nd put you phone into debug mode
    settings >>> Applications >>> Development >>> USB Debugging

    3rd put ur phone in to just charge but keep usb debugging mode on

    4th run Super one click

    p.s. if you go to device manager on your computer you should go to portable devices and see c771 and not have a yellow or red mark on in if it does you need to run that bootstrap from above to instal the drivers.
    Last edited by gioakjoe; 05-13-2011 at 09:06 AM.
  6. Junior Droid
    cap10mark's Avatar
    Member #
    12037
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Great Lake Erie
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Motorola 'Droid
    #6
    Rooted mine successfully yesterday.
  7. Droid Newbie
    compurob's Avatar
    Member #
    196367
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #7
    My C771 seems to be loaded with drivers just fine on my PC. Super One Click is still hanging though. Any suggestions?
  8. Junior Droid
    RLM703's Avatar
    Member #
    133134
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Droid X
    #8
    Attempted to root today but drivers would not install. I've tried it with every configuration of the phone I can think of but no results, so obviously no root.

    Any suggestions?

    Cheers!
  9. Junior Droid
    gpsjunkie's Avatar
    Member #
    197941
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Here's what worked for me on Windows Vista.

    Start with phone with debugging off and usb media sync on.

    Plug phone in with usb. Drivers should start to load and a box will pop up asking to load bootstrap.

    Click OK.

    Drivers will continue to load.

    Change usb to charging only and debugging to on.

    Disconnect phone and reconnect.

    Start Super One click,

    With this combination the phone was discovered and rooted.
  10. Droid Newbie
    Bumpasses's Avatar
    Member #
    199638
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    dont you need to be rooted to use bootstrap?
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What method to use to root?
    By WsW-WYATT-EARP in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 05:05 PM
  2. Euophoros Root Method
    By markml0528 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 01:49 AM
  3. Best Method to Root
    By aguilafan in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 12:22 PM
  4. New method to root 2.1
    By kevdog in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 01:25 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 11:20 AM

Search tags for this page

c771 root

,
casio c771 hacks
,
casio commando root
,

how to root c771

,

how to root casio c771

,
how to root casio commando c771
,
root c771
,

root casio c771

,

root casio commando

,
rooting c771
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+