DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Traveling to Chile

  1. Droid Newbie
    handeyman's Avatar
    Member #
    127201
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Traveling to Chile

    Hello, I have a droid running bb .05 and I am traveling I was wondering if there was a way to shut off 3g, edge, phone service... and just use the phone over wifi so I dont get any charges, basically turn it into an android wifi tablet/mp3 player but still be able to use skype over wifi and surf the web...
  2. Junior Droid
    Slagg3r's Avatar
    Member #
    54095
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    Hey man , now im not to sure but i would like to try and help you ..

    I know you can turn off the cell radio in settings so that the only data you get has to be over wifi..
    now for the phone part you could maybe remove the phone.apk? and then put it back when you get home?
  3. Junior Droid
    B0NE's Avatar
    Member #
    24368
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    yes you can all you have to do is leave the phone on airplane mode, and turn on your wifi the only draw back is that you can't use your bluetooth if your are taking one.

    hope this helps.
  4. Senior Droid
    trowa's Avatar
    Member #
    36384
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    152
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    If you install another rom like UD or LFY you have more options in the power widget. One is to disable 2g and or 3g. Turn off everything but wifi and it should work.
    Current HTC Thunderbolt BAMF stripped

    Retired Motorola Droid 1
  5. Senior Droid
    SaxaDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    77078
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    you could install switchpro widget...its on the market....I moved mine to system just cuz.... but it has a toggle for data. It alsob has a toggle for 3g/2g but I can't get it to work....but the data works just fine...I can still make and receive texts but no data....saves my battery too.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. wi-fi access when traveling
    By jbcant in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-21-2010, 08:00 AM
  2. Traveling Overseas - question
    By JAB 67 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 06:53 PM
  3. Int'l traveling w/o data
    By goldbergs in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 10:07 AM
  4. Tips for traveling out of country
    By alucardx in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 05:56 AM
  5. Holy Crap! 8.8 Earthquake in Chile
    By cyber3d in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 06:43 AM

Search tags for this page

do verizon phones work in chile

,

does verizon work in chile

,

does verizon work in santiago chile

,

santiago chile verizon 3g service

,

verizon phone service chile

,

verizon thunderbolt in santiago chile

,

verizonservicesantiagochile

,
will 2g phone work in santiago
,

will my verizon phone work in chile

,
will my verizon work in chile
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+