DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Baseband Update

  1. Beta Team
    circsmonky's Avatar
    Member #
    54009
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    VZW S3
    Premium Member
    #1

    Baseband Update

    So when I navigate to BB through ROM Manager I see something called baseband update. What is this? Do I want it?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    TheFarmerDeBoer's Avatar
    Member #
    76310
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    107
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by circsmonky View Post
    So when I navigate to BB through ROM Manager I see something called baseband update. What is this? Do I want it?
    Supposedly it'll give you more bars in more areas. I've heard a lot of people saying it didn't work, and they actually got less bars. If your signal is on the high side, don't worry about getting it.

    Though if you decide to try it, you will have to reactivate your phone, similarly to how you need to activate it if it was fresh out of the box.
  4. Senior Droid
    Apollo's Avatar
    Member #
    85027
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    147
    Phone
    Droid x2
    #3
    Basebands are said to improve signal and battery life in some cases. You should always upgrade to the latest one available. To check which baseband your Droid is currently running go to Menu > Settings > About Phone > Baseband Version.

    Although the latest baseband (C_01.43.01P) has been available for roughly two months now, it was officially pushed OTA on the 3rd of this month. As always, it is a good practice to use the officially pushed files rather than those that have been floating around for quite some time. They may be labeled the same but there is a chance that they could be slightly different.

    Installation Instructions (Using ClockworkMod Recovery):
    1. Download C_01.43.01P.zip
    2. Place on sdcard
    3. Boot into recovery mode
    4. Choose and install C_01.43.01P.zip (Do not wipe data & cache!)
    5. Reboot your Droid
    6. Dial *22891 To update your roaming capabilities (optional)

    *Note: If you are using SPRecovery then you must name the file you wish to install "update.zip"
  5. Beta Team
    circsmonky's Avatar
    Member #
    54009
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    VZW S3
    Premium Member
    #4
    Ok, if it makes things worse is there a way back with out just my back up of my current rom? Also the back up of my rom is that a clone if what I have now? Sorry for all the questions but I just rooted a few days ago
  6. Senior Droid
    dparm's Avatar
    Member #
    67440
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    136
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    The baseband update is separate from the ROM. Using nandroid will not backup the baseband, but you can always reflash to a different one.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Baseband Update
    By Cdjones187 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 11:59 PM
  2. Please Help After Baseband update
    By myfast_gti in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 10:18 PM
  3. Baseband update
    By cruzhm in forum Bugless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 10:16 PM
  4. [UPDATE] Baseband
    By woodyman in forum Droid Concepts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 08:49 PM
  5. Baseband Update?
    By Goldenshellback in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 08:03 PM

Search tags for this page

android baseband
,
android check baseband
,
android how to check baseband
,

check baseband android

,

evo baseband update

,

how to check android baseband

,

how to check baseband android

,

how to check baseband on android

,
how to update evo baseband
,

update evo baseband

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+