DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Why do we wipe data and cache three times?

  1. Droid
    Ecnassianer's Avatar
    Member #
    46070
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Why do we wipe data and cache three times?

    Everywhere I see people saying that I need to wipe my data and cache 3 times, but no one ever explains. Why do we need to do it three times? Shouldn't one wipe get ride of everything? And then you're good? What's the deal? Why thrice?

    (I searched, but couldn't find the answer.)
  2. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Ecnassianer View Post
    Everywhere I see people saying that I need to wipe my data and cache 3 times, but no one ever explains. Why do we need to do it three times? Shouldn't one wipe get ride of everything? And then you're good? What's the deal? Why thrice?

    (I searched, but couldn't find the answer.)
    Because people are OCD?

    Absolutely no idea why you would have to do that. I never even wipe. Sometimes that causes me to boot loop and I wipe then, but not unless something like that happens.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  3. Senior Droid
    SupAll's Avatar
    Member #
    64401
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    203
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    It is for the same reason you would format a hard drive several times when an issue arises that cannot be fixed otherwise. Doing it once is supposed to get rid of everything, but it isn't guaranteed. Doing three times limits the chances of there being malicious remnants or future conflicts.
    OG Droid
    GPA17
    1.0 GHz LV by Pete
    ADWLauncher EX

    BootAnimation Mashup - (Droid Shatter-Unstable Core-Cromag Rickman)
  4. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #4
    Anything worth doing, is worth over doing.

    I don't do it and never have. I only wipe if going to a rom built from a different OS leak (2.1 to 2.2). Otherwise, I never wipe, much less wipe three times.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  5. Droid Ninja
    Mojo's Avatar
    Member #
    8853
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S.W Missouri
    Posts
    1,358
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Its so you dont get streaks in your undies... And you guys; that is just nasty not to wipe!
    "Harley Davidson - The Perfect Machine to Turn Gasoline into Noise Without the Pesky Bi-Product of Horsepower!"
  6. Premium Member
    specmac's Avatar
    Member #
    14266
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    175
    Phone
    Droid X
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by SupAll View Post
    It is for the same reason you would format a hard drive several times when an issue arises that cannot be fixed otherwise. Doing it once is supposed to get rid of everything, but it isn't guaranteed. Doing three times limits the chances of there being malicious remnants or future conflicts.
    I laugh every time I read these ridiculous discussions.

    People do these things because they do not understand how technology works at the hardware level.
  7. Master Droid
    smokiedabong's Avatar
    Member #
    19064
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    997
    Liked
    100 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by SupAll View Post
    It is for the same reason you would format a hard drive several times when an issue arises that cannot be fixed otherwise. Doing it once is supposed to get rid of everything, but it isn't guaranteed. Doing three times limits the chances of there being malicious remnants or future conflicts.
    LOL , nice ghetto science .
  8. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by specmac View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SupAll View Post
    It is for the same reason you would format a hard drive several times when an issue arises that cannot be fixed otherwise. Doing it once is supposed to get rid of everything, but it isn't guaranteed. Doing three times limits the chances of there being malicious remnants or future conflicts.
    I laugh every time I read these ridiculous discussions.

    People do these things because they do not understand how technology works at the hardware level.
    I have to admit I don't understand how it works with Google. With a Blackberry a wipe was performed with each install. Obviously that doesn't apply here since I did have to go back and wipe twice. Not on the same install, of course.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Developer
    hedney3's Avatar
    Member #
    40074
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    778
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #9
    The answer is actually very simple. one day a while back some very "smart" individual told others to wipe twice before installing something. Because everyone seems think repeating this makes them sound smarter it caught on and since that point in time. Wiping twice was the norm. although wiping is wiping. and doing it once is just as good as doing it ten times. now be careful....this doesnt apply to everything
  10. Droid
    jmonte345's Avatar
    Member #
    49762
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    44
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo View Post
    Its so you dont get streaks in your undies... And you guys; that is just nasty not to wipe!
    HAHA... I was thinking the same thing.
    Bugless Beast v1.0 Overclocked to 1 Ghz and lovin it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 10:57 AM
  2. when restoring to a previous nandroid backup, do I need to wipe data/cache?
    By velocity92c in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 03:53 AM
  3. Wipe Cache - X key boot
    By jared1337 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 02:06 PM
  4. Will droid wipe itself If you enter pattern wrong too many times in a row?
    By tktouch12 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 12:25 PM

Search tags for this page

3 time wipe
,
3 times wipe
,
droid format cache
,
rom wipe data cache android
,
why wipe data
,

wipe 3 times

,

wipe cache 3 times

,

wipe data 3 times

,

wipe data and cache

,

wipe x3

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+