DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Can't get into any recovery mode whatsoever

  1. Senior Droid
    romeov's Avatar
    Member #
    501
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    229
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Can't get into any recovery mode whatsoever

    Hi guys,

    I'm desperately trying to update to BB 0.4 now that it looks to be stable and yet, I've discovered I cannot get my Droid to boot into recovery (ANY recovery) no matter what I try.

    All attempts get me stuck at the M logo for a minute or so, and then the phone just reboots normally. That includes:

    The latest Clockwork
    Clockwork 1.8.1.4
    SP Recovery
    Sprecovery, clean reboot, BACK to clockwork, clean reboot

    I am currently running BB 1.0 and have never had any problems before. I saw somewhere else someone mentioning copying a fresh recovery-0.99.img via your SD card and terminal, which I have, but I don't know if the version I have is ok to do with my current 2.12, hoping to go to 2.2 (I have recovery-0.99.3.img backed up)

    Would this work? does anyone else have any ideas? I really want to get on 0.4!

    (should be happy I can at least boot normally and use my phone in the meantime I guess heh)
  2. Master Droid
    wmnomore's Avatar
    Member #
    711
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    598
    Liked
    1 times
    #2
    reflash your recovery(clockwork) 2-3 times in a row. this has been a problem with froyo.
    this happened to me yesterday and it worked.
    good luck
  3. Droid
    ellisz's Avatar
    Member #
    82609
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    I had the issue where I could not get into recovery and kept flashing multiple times from SPR to clockwork. Flash into SPR and boot into recovery. I did this as a test and it worked fine. I then started trying older Clockwork files. Some worked some did not. I ended up with 2.0.1.2 and left it there. It kept telling me to upgrade but I did not. 2.0.1.3 just won't let me in recovery.

    I am using 2.0.1.9 now and it is working for me.
  4. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #4
    I've noticed that if the reflash of whichever recovery you want to actually use takes a long time before Rom Manager confirms installation, it is a bad installation. You need to keep reflashing the recovery until it installs quickly. If it installs quickly on the first reflash, you do not need to continue to reflash. But that's just my experience and may not be universal - in other words (or letters) YMMV
    Baton Rouge, LA
  5. Senior Droid
    stark23x's Avatar
    Member #
    44669
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    185
    Phone
    GalaxyNexus, stock ROM, rooted
    #5
    BTW, when people say "flash back & forth three times" they mean in a row WITHOUT rebooting. Flash SP then CW then SP then CW, etc...do that a few times to try to make it stick and THEN try rebooting. Just clarifying in case that bit was lost...as it is a mistake I made for a good (and frustrating) hour before I figured it out.
    GEE-NEX
  6. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by stark23x View Post
    BTW, when people say "flash back & forth three times" they mean in a row WITHOUT rebooting. Flash SP then CW then SP then CW, etc...do that a few times to try to make it stick and THEN try rebooting. Just clarifying in case that bit was lost...as it is a mistake I made for a good (and frustrating) hour before I figured it out.
    lol...sounds like the fix is "shake the heck out of it until it works"

    This is why I just stick with SPRecovery. It works every time I want it to work.

    For those needing/wanting RM I wonder if an uninstall of RM, followed by a quick RSD Lite flash of SPRecovery, followed by a reinstall of RM would clear this up when it occurs. The downside is you might not always be near a pc with RSD Lite when you wanted to take this approach.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  7. Senior Droid
    stark23x's Avatar
    Member #
    44669
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    185
    Phone
    GalaxyNexus, stock ROM, rooted
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    lol...sounds like the fix is "shake the heck out of it until it works"
    That's better than the Phase II fix: HIT IT WITH A HAMMER.
    GEE-NEX
  8. Master Droid
    Captmilk's Avatar
    Member #
    13724
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    388
    Liked
    38 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX HD
    #8
    I did like another user told me to do.....flash Sprecovery. Then clockwork again and it worked for me
  9. SCT
    SCT is offline
    Droid Newbie
    SCT's Avatar
    Member #
    25197
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid on 1/08
    #9
    Had that problem and found the answer here. I was stuck with new V0.1. Reflashing CW did the trick for me and I installed .4 no problem.
  10. Senior Droid
    ilikefishes's Avatar
    Member #
    19219
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    100
    Phone
    DROID
    #10
    I have tried all of this and am stuck in the Froyo 0.4 version. I can't even back that up to go back to another older version. It just goes back to this ROM. Pete are you trying to take over my phone? Any help you guys could give me would be appreciated. I don't understand, it won't even go into recovery when I push X and power. Thanks and have a great day.
    BB Froyo .4 w/ Nextheme
    Chevy's LV 7 slot kernel
    Former iphone user
    Former BB user
    Former Windows Mobile user
    DROID!!!!!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. recovery mode
    By rjm5151 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 11:07 AM
  2. Cant get into recovery mode:
    By yankees2009 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 10:30 AM
  3. Can't get into Recovery Mode
    By JL8U in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 06:06 AM
  4. can't get to recovery mode
    By fisher_i_am in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 07:55 PM
  5. No RECOVERY Mode!!!
    By italianwhiplash in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 03:30 PM

Search tags for this page

atrix wont boot into recovery
,
atrix wont enter recovery mode
,

behold 2 recovery mode

,
behold ii can not boot to recovery mode
,
droid eris won't go into recovery mode
,
recovery mode behold 2
,
recovery mode on droid 3
,
recovery mode on droid 3 wont work
,
trying to get into recovery captivate wont let me
,
u8110 recovery screen is blank
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+