DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: All About Apps2SD (FROYO)

  1. Senior Droid
    creamers's Avatar
    Member #
    21128
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    119
    Phone
    Pm me for it.
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ddarvish View Post
    sorry but what the hell is the auto option? does that mean the app itself decides where to install? does that have to be coded by the programmer?

    I think Auto is if the dev actually specifies if there is can be installed on the sd card it will auto install the sd.
  2. Droid
    bolden88's Avatar
    Member #
    43328
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    88
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #12

    Apps2SD minus the SD

    When I install .2.1 I lose all my apps and none of them are on my SD card. I have tried installing directly through "DownloadROM" and also install from SD card. Is there something else I am missing? I am back to .1 because I never write down all my apps so I can Redownload them. Time consuming. Runs really good though.
  3. Developer Relations
    tp7six's Avatar
    Member #
    61666
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11,512
    Liked
    361 times
    Twitter
    DroidForums
    Phone
    [MDK] S4
    Premium Member
    #13
    Disabling the auto install to SD also blocks out the move to SD option in Manage Applications for most applications. Which just goes to show how much work Pete put into being able to get Apps2SD working even beyond it's capabilities as we know it now. By replacing the '"2" with a "0" you can still move Apps2Sd in the Manage Applications menu but only the apps that developers have scripted to be compatable with Apps2SD

    Once again Pete, thanks for all of your hard work!!!

  4. Master Droid
    Asterisk's Avatar
    Member #
    50525
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    280
    Phone
    Droid X
    #14
    So after my phone rebooted all the apps on my sd card are not showing up in the app drawer. I waited for my phone to finish mounting the sd card after the reboot and they still didn't show up. I even unmounted the sd card and remounted it and still nothing. Can someone help?
  5. Droid
    Fulle's Avatar
    Member #
    77648
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    66
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #15
    Reboot your launcher!
  6. Senior Droid
    magnus's Avatar
    Member #
    19973
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID 2.0.1
    #16
    I'm having similiar problems.

    I haven't completely disables Apps2Sd because I'd like it for some apps......but I also need my widgets.

    Everything was working fine until I received my first phone call. After that I noticed that all the widgets for my home screen were gone, but they rest were there. So I rebooted ......BAM...they ALL gave that error message.

    Tried restarting Launcher pro, rebooting and moving all widget apps to phone, more rebooting, mounting and unmounting SD card...nothing.

    The apps in SD don't even show up in the app drawer and the custom icons I had for Apps Organizer are now all just standard Android green and white app icons. The shortcuts in there are the only way I can get to my Apps on SD.

    The apps were initially restored using Titanium backup

    Any ideas? HELP!!! :-)
  7. Senior Droid
    tfkennady's Avatar
    Member #
    72756
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #17

    Will moving apps2sd help overall performance?

    From what I can gather on the Android operating system is that it's unnecessary to run a task killer because the OS will prioritize what applications need to be running to suit your needs/experience at that particular moment and kill all others.

    Furthermore the operating system will use the remaining phone memory as "swap memory" when RAM becomes scarce.

    If this is true, could moving all your apps to the sd card effectively double your available "RAM"???

    If not, would it be possible to implement this into a custom rom (bugless perhaps)???

    Essentially all your apps would run from your sd card and if possible the entire OS.

    I probably don't know what I'm talking about but I was curious.
    Bugless V0.5
    900MHz Slayher Kernel
    Compcache
    Swapper2 32MB
    Evolution theme

    *Support Open Source* Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    ANDROID FTW!!!
  8. Junior Droid
    eteusch1's Avatar
    Member #
    49553
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Droid
    #18
    So I was fooling around with Apps2SD today and I found that after reboot, apps that were on my homescreen changed to the default icon, and weren't in the app tray....

    I also noticed that when you shutdown, the phone unmounts the sd card, and when you turn the phone on, it mounts the card. This is where I believe the problem is coming from. The launcher is started before the sd card is mounted, so it can't see the icons or programs, so it won't display the icons on the home screens or in the app tray.

    One way around that would be to change android so it doesn't unmount and mount the sd card when the phone powers off and on. The other option would to leave a "shortcut" (for lack of a better word) that would allow the launcher to add the icon as well as add it in the app tray, but point the app to the sd card location.....

    Is that right? if so, is anyone working on that?
  9. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by eteusch1 View Post
    So I was fooling around with Apps2SD today and I found that after reboot, apps that were on my homescreen changed to the default icon, and weren't in the app tray....

    I also noticed that when you shutdown, the phone unmounts the sd card, and when you turn the phone on, it mounts the card. This is where I believe the problem is coming from. The launcher is started before the sd card is mounted, so it can't see the icons or programs, so it won't display the icons on the home screens or in the app tray.

    One way around that would be to change android so it doesn't unmount and mount the sd card when the phone powers off and on. The other option would to leave a "shortcut" (for lack of a better word) that would allow the launcher to add the icon as well as add it in the app tray, but point the app to the sd card location.....

    Is that right? if so, is anyone working on that?
    Welcome to the party. All you do is restart launcher after reboot. all Icons and apps return
  10. Junior Droid
    eteusch1's Avatar
    Member #
    49553
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Droid
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by tallica View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by eteusch1 View Post
    So I was fooling around with Apps2SD today and I found that after reboot, apps that were on my homescreen changed to the default icon, and weren't in the app tray....

    I also noticed that when you shutdown, the phone unmounts the sd card, and when you turn the phone on, it mounts the card. This is where I believe the problem is coming from. The launcher is started before the sd card is mounted, so it can't see the icons or programs, so it won't display the icons on the home screens or in the app tray.

    One way around that would be to change android so it doesn't unmount and mount the sd card when the phone powers off and on. The other option would to leave a "shortcut" (for lack of a better word) that would allow the launcher to add the icon as well as add it in the app tray, but point the app to the sd card location.....

    Is that right? if so, is anyone working on that?
    Welcome to the party. All you do is restart launcher after reboot. all Icons and apps return
    Thanks...figured that one out on my own. Is anyone looking at a work around (specifically the two that i mentioned above)?
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Old rom do not use (update available)
    By peteralfonso in forum Bugless
    Replies: 661
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 11:20 PM
  2. How to get apps2sd on Froyo
    By Droid_3.0 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 10:57 AM
  3. Froyo and Apps2SD
    By Darkseider in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 08:40 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 11:22 AM
  5. Why no Apps2SD?
    By BobthePhotoGuy in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 03:26 PM

Search tags for this page

adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2

,
apps2sd
,

apps2sd apk

,
apps2sd download apk
,

apps2sd froyo

,

apps2sd.apk

,
disable apps2sd
,

froyo apps2sd

,
kcryptd android
,
setinstalllocation apk
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+