DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Running Rooted

  1. Droid
    Twista89's Avatar
    Member #
    70982
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    Running Rooted

    I was wondering is there anything that can teach me everything I need to know about running rooted specifially running with the BB V1.1??

    I was wondering how do you run scripts and also how do I stop this phone from double booting everytime I turn the phone off????
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    jrod1990's Avatar
    Member #
    23292
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    190
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Twista89 View Post
    I was wondering is there anything that can teach me everything I need to know about running rooted specifially running with the BB V1.1??

    I was wondering how do you run scripts and also how do I stop this phone from double booting everytime I turn the phone off????
    Scripts is done through terminal emulator which should show up in your app tray after install. You have to use your physical keyboard for this one. Just type in each script one at a time and hit the enter button and you should see the action you selected say it was switched or removed after. Not sure about the double boot, did you wipe before install?
    Moto Droid Rooted and OC'D, SPRecovery, BB V.6.1, Chevy's 1.1Ghz MV,

    "You gotta perfect it before you package it" - Dion Sanders
  4. Droid Ninja
    brando56894's Avatar
    Member #
    45165
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,217
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #3
    Not to be an ass or anything, but I doubt anyone on here is willing to take you step by step, just read around the hacking section and you'll learn tons of stuff. If you want a full step by step on how to root 2.0.1 check out Matth3w's guide and it will tell you everything to do step by step (theres about 115 steps IIRC).

    Ive only had me for almost three months and I feel I'm pretty well versed in it.
    How To: Compiling a Custom Version of Clockwork Mod Recovery
    <-- Lockscreen

    ROM: Incredibly Re-Engineered v2.3
  5. Droid
    Twista89's Avatar
    Member #
    70982
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by jrod1990 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Twista89 View Post
    I was wondering is there anything that can teach me everything I need to know about running rooted specifially running with the BB V1.1??

    I was wondering how do you run scripts and also how do I stop this phone from double booting everytime I turn the phone off????
    Scripts is done through terminal emulator which should show up in your app tray after install. You have to use your physical keyboard for this one. Just type in each script one at a time and hit the enter button and you should see the action you selected say it was switched or removed after. Not sure about the double boot, did you wipe before install?
    I dont see any terminal emulator in the apps...I see Superuser Permissions and Spare parts but thats it as far as unrecognized apps...

    and what I did was I wiped it clean before I rooted and just installed the ROM after I rooted with 2.1. This was happening with V1.0 as well....
  6. Droid Ninja
    brando56894's Avatar
    Member #
    45165
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,217
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #5
    You have to download a terminal emulator from the market, as for the boot loops try a different kernel.
    How To: Compiling a Custom Version of Clockwork Mod Recovery
    <-- Lockscreen

    ROM: Incredibly Re-Engineered v2.3
  7. Droid
    Twista89's Avatar
    Member #
    70982
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by brando56894 View Post
    You have to download a terminal emulator from the market, as for the boot loops try a different kernel.
    ok and right now I have the 800mhz kernel installed and it also did this with the stock 600mhz kernel....
  8. Junior Droid
    elohel's Avatar
    Member #
    71936
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    So to confirm, you didn't just wipe the CACHE, you wiped DATA/CACHE, right? As in reset to factory defaults??
  9. Droid
    Twista89's Avatar
    Member #
    70982
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by elohel View Post
    So to confirm, you didn't just wipe the CACHE, you wiped DATA/CACHE, right? As in reset to factory defaults??
    correct but only before I rooted the phone...afterwards I just installed the ROM...no wipe

    And any directions on how to use this terminal emulator...i figured out how to get permission access but when I type lets say -cpuinfo it says not found...
  10. Droid
    Twista89's Avatar
    Member #
    70982
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #9
    nevermind got the scripts to work...but would def like to fix this boot problem...
  11. Junior Droid
    elohel's Avatar
    Member #
    71936
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    correct but only before I rooted the phone...afterwards I just installed the ROM...no wipe
    So, to understand correctly, you:

    1.) Wiped CACHE/DATA
    2.) Gained root access on a Verizon 2.0.1 ROM, via whatever method you chose
    2.) Placed BuglessBeast v1.1 onto the SD card's root directory and renamed it to update.zip (assuming you've flashed to SPRecovery)
    3.) Allowed for update.zip
    4.) Installed update.zip
    5.) Boot into BuglessBeast v1.1
    6.) Getting boot loops.

    If this is the case, you've done it out of order, or rather, you've missed a step.

    You need to wipe CACHE/DATA IMMEDIATELY BEFORE you install the update.zip. Essentially, if this is what you did, you installed BuglessBeast over the 2.0.1 ROM and hence you're having boot loops...they're kinda like froot loops but not as tasty.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Just rooted my phone, can I get 2.1 and stay rooted?
    By combat_chuck in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-16-2010, 05:17 PM
  2. Running hot??
    By actngrezy in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 12:38 PM
  3. Rooted > Bugless Beast > Overclocked > Unrooted > Waited for 2.1 > Rooted > Droid Mod
    By Where'sMyCoffe? in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 04:41 AM
  4. People who rooted running 2.1
    By NYZ93 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 07:38 PM
  5. Droid Rooted Running 2.1 Pros and Cons
    By 91rangerturbo in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 04:04 PM

Search tags for this page

android rooted phone run script

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+