DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Can Anyone Help Me Figure Out What I Am Doing Wrong With ADB Commands

  1. Senior Droid
    skylordusa1's Avatar
    Member #
    106748
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    205
    Twitter
    Skylordusa
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    Can Anyone Help Me Figure Out What I Am Doing Wrong With ADB Commands

    I am new to using ADB and need a little help. Im trying to figure out the pushing and pulling of files. I connect my device and and turn on usb debugging and then reboot to recovery. I do the adb devices command and it shows my phones serial number connected. So just to practice I attempted to pull and then push my framework-res.apk file from my phone and back to my phone. Thought I was doing everything right but doesnt seem that way. After I pushed the file back I rebooted the phone and when the phone comes back up I get a crazy amount of errors/force closes for a ton of things. I restored my back up and was hoping maybe someone can let me know where I went wrong. I appreciate any help. Thank you.

    First off I rebooted to recovery

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb reboot recovery <--- This command worked
    Then once in recovery I tried the remount command

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb remount <--- This did not work I got the below error
    remount failed: Unknown error: 0

    I then found another way to mount the phone and ran it it seemed to work ok.

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb shell mount /system

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb shell ls /system
    app build.prop fonts lib media usr
    bin etc framework lost+found tts xbin

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb shell ls /system/framework
    am.jar framework.jar
    android.policy.jar ime.jar
    android.test.runner.jar input.jar
    bmgr.jar javax.obex.jar
    com.google.android.maps.jar monkey.jar
    core.jar pm.jar
    ext.jar services.jar
    framework-res.apk svc.jar
    framework-tests.jar

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk
    567 KB/s (0 bytes in 5224198.008s)

    C:\androidsdk\tools>adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk
    354 KB/s (0 bytes in 5224198.014s)

    Im seeing 0 bytes in how ever many seconds so im sure im doing something wrong. But when I did the pull I saw the framework-res.apk file show up in my tools folder on my pc. I was able to open it and everything. I didnt make any changes to it though cause I was just trying this to see how it worked. So after i opened it I just closed it out and then proceeded to do the push. Then since I was in recovery I just selected reboot phone now. Phone came back up with a ton of errors and force closes. If anyone has had this problem or sees anything Im doing wrong. I would really appreciate you pointing me in the right direction as I really like the idea of adb and being able to pull edit and push files. Thank you in advance for all your help.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #2
    What did you open the file with? What rom are you running?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
  4. Senior Droid
    frozty's Avatar
    Member #
    9499
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    116
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    I'm having a similar problem using the zipalign it keeps telling me that the file cant be found.

    Graphic Designs Beast W/ DROID 2.2-1hgz
  5. Senior Droid
    skylordusa1's Avatar
    Member #
    106748
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    205
    Twitter
    Skylordusa
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by shocka2430 View Post
    What did you open the file with? What rom are you running?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Hello Shocka,

    I am running ShadowRom v.0.0.1. I use 7zip to open the file. But that was mostly in the beginning. Now im just pulling the file seeing it pop up on my PC in my tools directory and then pushing it back to the phone without even opening it.
  6. Master Droid
    forkup's Avatar
    Member #
    184
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    317
    #5
    You must give it a path to save the file TO. Use adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk c:\ or wherever you want to save it to. Use the same thing to push it back.
  7. Senior Droid
    skylordusa1's Avatar
    Member #
    106748
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    205
    Twitter
    Skylordusa
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by forkup View Post
    You must give it a path to save the file TO. Use adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk c:\ or wherever you want to save it to. Use the same thing to push it back.
    I have to give it a path even if within cmd I navigate to the directory where adb is and then do the pull command and see the framework file pop up in that directory?
  8. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #7
    Mine looks like this cd c:/android/tools adb pull /system/app/whatever.apk whatever.apk. adb push whatever.apk /system/app/whatever.apk

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
  9. Senior Droid
    skylordusa1's Avatar
    Member #
    106748
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    205
    Twitter
    Skylordusa
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by shocka2430 View Post
    Mine looks like this cd c:/android/tools adb pull /system/app/whatever.apk whatever.apk. adb push whatever.apk /system/app/whatever.apk

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    I appreciate you trying to help but thats what I have been doing and I still get the same errors/force closes when I boot back up after pushing the file to the phone. The file pulls fine and ends up on my compooter and I can open it and change it and do whatever to it. But after I push it back it doesnt boot up correctly. I could see if I was actually making changes to the framework-res.apk and then pushing it back and having the problems. Cause maybe I screwed the file up while changing it. But Im not even editing or opening the file. Im just pulling it and then pushing it straight back. Im at a complete dead end. Not sure where I am going wrong.
    Last edited by skylordusa1; 10-08-2010 at 02:57 PM.
  10. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #9
    Are you mounting system while in recovery? On 2.2 I've always had to mount when I pushed or I got force closes.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
  11. Master Droid
    shocka2430's Avatar
    Member #
    49305
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    530
    #10
    Try my fix there, it should work, I can bout gurantee it. If your paths are set correctly.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    follow me on twitter @shocka2430
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 08:14 AM
  2. Can Anyone Help Me Figure Out What I Am Doing Wrong With ADB Commands
    By skylordusa1 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 09:40 PM
  3. I have been trying to figure this out
    By mchorne1 in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 01:56 PM
  4. Can't figure it out. Ask here!
    By verian in forum Droid Concepts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 08:45 PM
  5. Can't figure this out!
    By AlanMAC in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 10:51 PM

Search tags for this page

adb remount failed
,
adb remount failed unknown error
,

adb remount failed unknown error 0

,
adb remount failed: unknown error: 0
,
adb remount remount failed: unknown error: 0
,
adb remount unknown error
,
adb remount unknown error 0
,

remount failed unknown error 0

,
remount failed: unknown error 0
,

remount failed: unknown error: 0

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+