DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Where the heck is busybox

  1. Droid
    boscher50's Avatar
    Member #
    36164
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    88
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Where the heck is busybox

    I spent hours last night trying to get a certain theme for my phone to work.

    I successfully rooted, blah blah and downloaded metamorph but when I opened metamorph is says make sure I have BUSYBOX installed.

    Is busybox the same as recovery-0.99.2b?
    Is busybox the same as flash_image?

    I'm so confused!

    I feel like I'm the only one who can't successfully theme their droid- I'm not dumb or anything, I understand computers- but for some reason I can NOT FIND BUSYBOX ANYWHERE. (if i don't already have it-- i mean, last night i went to all types of theme forum types of things and put a few "required" files onto my SD card)

    Please don't just link me to another discussion/walkthrough.

    Will someone personally WALK ME through it?

    The theme i want is called DGreen.zip and it's on my SDCard.

    Thanks a lot. Excuse my newbness, I'm not usually like that.

    Appreciated,
    Boscher
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #2
    If what ever ROM you installed comes with it, look in /system/xbin folder, that's where I found mine. However MM looks for it in the /system/bin folder. You'll need to copy and paste it to that folder, then MM should run fine.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

  4. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #3
    If you used Droidmod 1.0 it's included.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Droid
    boscher50's Avatar
    Member #
    36164
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    88
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Im at work right now and I don't have my charger so I cant view contents using windows explorer- however I do have ASTRO.

    I opened astro and tried to move the rom into the system/bin but it wont!
    I held click on the rom, and chose copy, then moved to /bin and tried to paste, but it was GREYED OUT!!!
    I held click on the rom and chose MOVE, and in the top it said "moving *.rom" went into the /bin folder, tried to move, but move was greyed out.

    Do I need to use windows explorer to move the rom?
  6. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #5
    Astro won't let you do it, at least not for me. I had to get Root Access from the Market. I know there's another that is comparable but i can't remember what it's called. Root Access is like Astro but allows you to write to the root directories.

    Even if you have FTP you can't write to the root directories. I'm sure you can use Terminal Emulator or ADB if you find out how.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

  7. Droid
    boscher50's Avatar
    Member #
    36164
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    88
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Excuse my terrible knowlege on the subject bike_guy and thanks for your reply. I successfully rooted my phone last night.
    Assuming I place that ROM in system/bin - by any means, then my MetaMorph should load up?

    Anyone know of any app that lets you move your system files around?
  8. Premium Member
    Chief Wahoo's Avatar
    Member #
    7560
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Central PA
    Posts
    330
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #7
    I also have the MM problem that after it does its "checks' that it gives the message that ""Some files could not be extracted. . . Make sure you have enough free space in /system and have Busybox installed". I copied busybox over to the subdirectory stated in this thread and tried to rerun the Metamorph app and received the same message. Not sure what else to try, but not real comfortable trying to compress/shrink the /system area in any way.
  9. Senior Droid
    barbee's Avatar
    Member #
    9440
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    111
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #8
    lol i was gonna pist with this same problem. i felt so stupid. i understand commands and terminal and all that but for the life of me couldnt get anything to work. until i realised it is included in DM 1.0
  10. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #9
    Install Busybox | Root Your Droid

    Root your droid rocks! This walkthrough got me through the busybox install. just a word of caution, when you get to this step:
    busybox ––install .
    after install, you need a space and a period.
    On a side note, if you get errors about directories or files already existing, dont worry, just go on to the next step.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  11. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Chief Wahoo View Post
    I also have the MM problem that after it does its "checks' that it gives the message that ""Some files could not be extracted. . . Make sure you have enough free space in /system and have Busybox installed". I copied busybox over to the subdirectory stated in this thread and tried to rerun the Metamorph app and received the same message. Not sure what else to try, but not real comfortable trying to compress/shrink the /system area in any way.
    I ran into this as well. Was told that my ROM has BB and that MM looks for it in /system/bin folder. There was no BB in that folder but I did find it in /system/xbin and when I copy-pasted to /system/bin folder, MM ran without a hitch.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How do i know if I have busybox?
    By HemiDroid03 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 04:37 PM
  2. busybox help
    By dredge in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 08:36 PM
  3. Where the heck is 2.1??????
    By cabotcat in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 08:38 PM
  4. Busybox Help Please!
    By BigMace23 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:24 PM
  5. Jetflicks ...where the heck did it go??????
    By soze in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 08:29 AM

Search tags for this page

busybox icon
,
busybox themes
,
could not find busybox
,
were is busybox
,
what the heck is busybox
,
where is busy box
,

where is busybox

,
where is busybox icon
,
where is busybox?
,
wheres busybox
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+