DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wifi not working! someone help please!

  1. Junior Droid
    Grimshad's Avatar
    Member #
    109550
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Wifi not working! someone help please!

    I normally use Bugless Beast 0.4 and I recently noticed that when I am using wifi, there is no internet connection. As soon as I turn it off, I have full connectivity again. I thought this may have been the rom, so I tried 12 other different roms, all of them with the same result.Here are some facts:

    I successfully connect to any wifi
    While connected to wifi, I cannot do anything that requires internet access
    As soon as I turn off wifi I have full access over 3G again
    I have tried turning off 3G while wifi is on, no go
    I have reset, rebooted, and switched wifi channels on the router
    I have tried wireless a, b, g, and n, on 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz at 130Mbs and 300Mbs
    I have tried 12 different roms
    After installing the rom the wifi works perfectly fine
    The wifi STOPS working after I install the google apps pack and sync my account
    I have looked this up, other people have the problem, no solution found

    Someone please help! I am sitting on cyanogen 6.0.0 without google apps and wifi is working fine, but as soon as i get google apps (so i can sync all my contacts, apps, and other stuff, and use the market) it doesn't work anymore.

    EDIT: I guess I take that back, after further testing, the wifi still does not work even before installing google apps. I swear it was working once, but i guess not. I am currently trying to go back to stock to see if that works.

    EDIT: Stock doesn't work either, unless someone knows about this and how to fix it, i'm going to assume my antenna is broken or something.
    Last edited by Grimshad; 09-16-2010 at 09:17 PM.
  2. Junior Droid
    antz2xplicit's Avatar
    Member #
    119118
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    DROID X
    #2
    Well the same thing was happening to me where i couldnt connect to ANY wifi, yeah it was saying i was connected but i had no conectivity.

    the solution: (and i felt like a total jackazz) is so simple that i didnt even think of it...

    go into your wifi settings and delete all save networks... rescan for networks.. find yours and long press it.. go to change password and look at security.. take it OFF of AUTO and put it either on WEP or WPA/WPA2 (TKIP) and put your password. Thats it. your wifi should say obtaining ip adress now. hope this helps


    p.s this probably wont stop the rebooting because my does still from time to time.

    ANTTTT
  3. Junior Droid
    Grimshad's Avatar
    Member #
    109550
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    I tried what you said and the options you speak of do no exist.

    I have no networks saved. It scans and instantly sees mine. I long press it and the only choice I have is "connect to network" which doesn't allow me to set the security, it always auto detects.

    But you are right, it never seems to say "optaining IP address". It just goes from not connected to connected
  4. Droid Ninja
    harrellj's Avatar
    Member #
    94200
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,063
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #4
    Silly question, but your wireless network name, did you change it from the default? (ie: its actually unique and not overlapping with a neighbor's?). Its a common problem I've seen on laptops to have no internet connectivity and have the problem be that the computer was confused which of the 2 or 3 "linksys" networks it should be using.
  5. Junior Droid
    Grimshad's Avatar
    Member #
    109550
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Yes its changed. Just for the hell of it I'm going to try it with no security

    EDIT:Nope, still no go without security.

    EDIT: I went and asked for a replacement at Verizon. I'm hoping they send me a D2 or DX, but i would be happy with just a working phone!
    Last edited by Grimshad; 09-17-2010 at 03:33 PM.
  6. Theme Developer
    xkape's Avatar
    Member #
    95251
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    OH-IO
    Posts
    3,877
    Liked
    78 times
    Phone
    Bionic, G Nex and T Prime
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #6
    Dunno if it helps but... I had an issue where it would see the network, connect and then disconnect in an instant. I tried to reset my router to no avail. I got mad so I unplugged my router for about 5 minutes. Poof, wifi came back and worked.
  7. Junior Droid
    antz2xplicit's Avatar
    Member #
    119118
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    DROID X
    #7
    are you using a droid x? sorry for assuming you were if your not. but is there an option to manage networks on the bottom?
  8. Droid Newbie
    ksomers23's Avatar
    Member #
    132991
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    I just had this problem. third day i have had the phone. Connected to wifi at home. went to school and tried to connect. loop kept saying optaining ip adress. so i clicked use static i.p. entered my info and hit enter. the phone then told me to enmter a valid ip adress, i hit cancel, and it strted working. i turned static ip off and it began looping again. give it a try. hope it helps. just use your i.p adress your pc is currently using
  9. Senior Droid
    JoeeDB's Avatar
    Member #
    9630
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    176
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    Anyone ever figure out a fix for this? Mine just started doing this too and I have no clue why. I see the wifi icon in the notification bar but can't connect to my browser, market, ftp server for file transfers, anything.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi on computer stops working after using wifi on droid
    By geronimogman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 02:45 PM
  2. CM 6 RC3 Wifi not working
    By Anj in forum Koush
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 06:38 AM
  3. How is wifi working?
    By nwlake in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 11:25 PM
  4. Wifi not working
    By Savidi in forum Bugless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 06:37 PM
  5. WiFi not working ?????
    By venom93corba in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 08:25 PM

Search tags for this page

android wireless connection problem
,
droid incredible wifi not working
,
droid wifi connected but not working
,
droid wifi not working
,
droid x wifi connected but not working
,

droid x wifi not working

,
droid x wifi stops working
,
wifi not working droid x
,

wifi not working on droid x

,
wifi on droid x not working
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+