DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: wont sync up to my wifi...

  1. Junior Droid
    vandenk's Avatar
    Member #
    4708
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Verizon Motorola Droid
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by hmarc View Post
    My home network wasn't broadcasting its SSID. This works fine for the Mac and PC laptops (5 in all). Has worked fine for years.

    The Droid will let me type in the SSID (aka network name) and then says the network is out of range (or something similiar). I messed around with it to no avail and finally turned on the SSID broadcast at the router.

    BINGO!

    The Droid then saw it, asked for the password, and connected quickly. The WiFi then worked great. I turned off the SSID broadcast back at the router and the Droid immediately lost connection and again told me the network was out of range.

    I solved it by leaving SSID broadcast ON. I hate doing that, but I suppose the Bad Guys who would want to break into my home network probably have the tools to sniff out the un-broadcast SSID anyway, so leaving it ON probably doesn't hurt. Much.

    But I wish Google (or Motorola or Verizon) would push out a fix for this obvious bug.
    I've had exactly the same problem. A "private" home network. Even Windoze allows a setting to "connect even if network is not broadcasting". Android/Motorolla needs to add this support.
  2. Droid
    thundercats's Avatar
    Member #
    3408
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    68
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #12
    The problem that I've found with Wifi and my Droid was with me phone, I could connect to a wireless router that was either open, running WEP, or WPA2. For some reason, if the access point was running WPA it would not connect. The other thing that it COULD be is the Droid's hardware may not be able to handle AES encryption for WPA/WPA2 networks. You could try changing your security to WPA with TKIP or WPA2 with AES or TKIP and see what happens.
  3. Master Droid
    DesktopDevin's Avatar
    Member #
    9867
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    297
    Liked
    33 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #13
    Do what I do to ensure security with the ssid enabled or disabled use your mac address filter so you only allow the mac addys of the devices that you approve of.
  4. Junior Droid
    Yukon Cornelius's Avatar
    Member #
    13659
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    On the edge of verizons coverage
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    A-855
    #14
    Hmarc, I am using the droid with great success on a non-broadcast ssid. The droid picks the network up immediately. I have security turned off and use mac filtering for all connections. I am using a dlink wireless router.
  5. Droid
    roadrash's Avatar
    Member #
    24092
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    38
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #15

    Works for a day...

    I'm using a Netgear WNR834Bv2 - with the latest firmware update they ever had.

    The only issue I've had is that every couple of days, I'll find the Droid connects...has the IP...thinks its connected, but when I go into the router admin pages and look at the connected device list, the Droid is absent. I've tried disconnecting and then reconnecting the phone. You can see the router give out the IP....and the it drops.

    The only "solution" I found is that running on WPA2 AES works great for a day or so...and then for no reason, I've found that changing max speed to 54Mbps on the router "fixed" the problem. A day later...issue came back...changed back to 130Mbps..."fixed"....

    It's an annoyance. I'm still within my 30 days of getting the phone. I wish there was easy to way to tell that the problem is with the phone over the router. I'd rather not swap the phone just to find I have the same problems. From the research I've done online I'm not the only one who's having the issue...so I don't know.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 02:04 PM

Search tags for this page

android phone picks up most wifi
,
cellphone wont connect to netgear router
,
droid 3 cant connect to wifi netgear n300
,

droid connect to netgear n600

,
droid pro wont get wifi
,

droid wont pick up wifi

,

my htc 1x isn't picking up wireless verizon router

,
why does my smartphone does not pick up my modem router
,
why does my smartphone does not pick up wifi on my modem rou
,
why wont my i phone let me hook up to wi fi
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+