DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Droid Browser Not Working After OTA 2.2 Update

  1. Droid Newbie
    shawya's Avatar
    Member #
    106153
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #1

    Droid Browser Not Working After OTA 2.2 Update

    So I received the OTA Froyo 2.2 update on my Droid 1 this morning. Ever since then, the stock browser doesn't work at all on 3G. I have Verizon, by the way. The 3G icon in the notification bar is on like normal, I have perfect reception, and it appears that all the other internet and data apps work over 3G fine, including Opera Mini, just not the stock browser. I also checked and found all my favorites had been erased. The exact error is a "webpage cannot be displayed" error. Anyone else have this problem, or maybe just know how to reinstall the browser? I absolutely want to avoid a factory reset, since it seems unnecessary at this point. I've looked literally all day online for an answer and got nothing. My phone is completely stock and it was an OTA update, so I'm stumped. Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially since it doesn't appear there's any way to have the browser button link to another browser (and I like the stock browser anyways).
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
  4. Droid Newbie
    shawya's Avatar
    Member #
    106153
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1
    #3
    Damn I'm slow, probably should've included what I've tried so far. I've rebooted several times, as well as done a couple soft resets by pulling the battery while it was on and leaving it out for a couple minutes. Also cleared every cache in the browser, but no dice.
  5. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    Does the stock browser work over wifi or 1G?

    Other things to try:
    go phone settings > applications > manage applications > All tab > Browser > Clear data

    And:
    in browser settings > Reset to default

    The browser button will link to whatever the default browser is. I recommend that you use Dolphin HD. It has tabs and it enables you to keep the user agent set to computer/desktop so that you get full versions of web sites (not neutered mobile sites). In Dolphin's settings, click "Set as default browser".

    I know that's not the answer you were looking for, but I prefer Dolphin HD to the stock browser.
  6. Droid
    abullock22's Avatar
    Member #
    105675
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    droid
    #5
    my browser stopped working also after the update..wierd!!
  7. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    Well, unless someone else has another idea...factory reset.
  8. Droid
    abullock22's Avatar
    Member #
    105675
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    droid
    #7
    might have to go that route - was going to just download dolphin HD and use that as my browser..turns out my market doesnt work either...doh!!
  9. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    OK, well, unfortunately I think your phone is a prime candidate for a factory reset.

    Takes notes on how you had everything set up. There are apps in the market that will email a list of your installed apps to yourself. Kinda frustrating tweaking all the settings just right, but not that bad.
  10. Droid
    abullock22's Avatar
    Member #
    105675
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by aminaked View Post
    OK, well, unfortunately I think your phone is a prime candidate for a factory reset.

    Takes notes on how you had everything set up. There are apps in the market that will email a list of your installed apps to yourself. Kinda frustrating tweaking all the settings just right, but not that bad.

    yeah, i figured i would need to, thanks for the help, and thanks verizon!!
  11. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Oh, I guess you can't download the app that emails your list of apps cuz your market is broken.

    Let us know if the reset fixed it!

    ***

    My girlfriend got a new X and we set it up just right. Finally, she decided that her iphone was garbage and it was time to port the old number to the X. We had some trouble so I called verizon and the nice rep started to help us. Next thing I know, the X is doing a factory reset! I'm like, wtf? The rep is like "Oh! Pull the battery out! Pull the battery out!" First of all, pulling the battery out in the middle of a reset seems like a bad idea. Second of all, the thing's got a case on it and getting to the battery isn't so easy. Anyway, my girlfriend didn't mind too much (at all) as she had wanted to set it up herself (without me mucking with it).

    I noticed on the very first visit to the market that all the free apps were still listed! I should have written down what was there but I exited out and the next time I went to the market, the list was clear.

    Thanks verizon!
    Last edited by aminaked; 08-19-2010 at 03:02 PM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. pinch zoom not working in browser
    By Ecliptic in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 07:34 PM
  2. btunes is not working with the new droid update!
    By husky_299 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-2010, 04:58 PM
  3. Droid X camera stops working after update
    By OutGolfn in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 09:43 PM
  4. Dolphin Browser Update
    By BlueBus in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 06:15 AM
  5. Droid Browser is not working correctly now....
    By YosM45 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 12:35 PM

Search tags for this page

android 2.2 browser not working
,
browser not working after droid update
,
browser not working droid x
,
browser not working on droid pro
,
browser not working on droid x
,

droid 2 browser not working

,
droid browser not loading
,
droid browser not working
,
droid not working after update
,

droid x browser not working

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+