DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Issues with ROMs

  1. Junior Droid
    khrisdeus's Avatar
    Member #
    101222
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Issues with ROMs

    I just rooted my phone about a week ago, and this was after months of debate. I then held out on any custom ROMs until today. I downloaded and updated my phone manually to FRG01B this week as well.

    The issue I'm having is that I can't seem to install any custom ROMs with success. Thank god I decided to buy and install ROM manager first and create backups (duh).

    First I tried Kangerade as I've heard nothing but good about it. Downloaded it directly from the JRummy thread and put it in my root. Once I got into the ROM installation and had it completed I got stuck in a boot loop, eye, droid, and back and forth. I ended up saying to hell with it and reloading a backup I had.

    After doing this several times, I finally gave up and decided to try cynogen or however you spell it. Downloaded it through ROM manager and then when the phone rebooted after making a backup, it did the Motorola "M" then an exclamation point next to an image of the phone. I was able to do a battery pull and it went back in fine to my previous ROM.

    Any suggestions or things that I may be totally screwing up? Thanks in advance!
  2. Senior Droid
    scoder's Avatar
    Member #
    17345
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cedar Grove, NJ
    Posts
    140
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    After flashing any rom, it can take as long as ten minutes for the phone to leave the loading screen.

    As for the situation with Cyanogenmod, it seems like you were in the recovery menu. Did you have any options or it only showed the exclamation point and Android?
  3. Master Droid
    kennydied23's Avatar
    Member #
    49522
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    596
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    DroidBionicFan
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Maybe you should try a different kernel.
    Droid Bionic 247 ICS leak
    Tweaked up with Pimp My Rom Mod
  4. Junior Droid
    khrisdeus's Avatar
    Member #
    101222
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Scoder: So was it normal for it to loop in the boot animation? And no, I had no options except for the exclamation point.

    KennyDied: I haven't messed around enough to learn how to change kernels. I understand the concept of a kernel on an OS but I'm new to the whole smart phone gig.

    And wow, I've heard this community is amazing, but 2 responses within 10 minutes is nuts
  5. Droid Sensei
    OneTenderRebel's Avatar
    Member #
    53261
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Posts
    3,334
    Liked
    353 times
    Twitter
    JefFullerMyself
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    are you wiping data and cache beforehand?
    Anytime someone dares me to walk a mile in their shoes I do it! Because, hey free shoes and I am now a mile away from that person!

    Hatred is by far the ugliest trait any human can possess (think about it)
  6. Junior Droid
    khrisdeus's Avatar
    Member #
    101222
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    I'm trying to avoid doing that as I have all kinds of contacts, pictures of my kids, all of that I don't want to lose :/ Is it possible to just wipe the cache and have that correct the issue, or do I have to completely clear it out?
  7. Droid Sensei
    OneTenderRebel's Avatar
    Member #
    53261
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Posts
    3,334
    Liked
    353 times
    Twitter
    JefFullerMyself
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by khrisdeus View Post
    I'm trying to avoid doing that as I have all kinds of contacts, pictures of my kids, all of that I don't want to lose :/ Is it possible to just wipe the cache and have that correct the issue, or do I have to completely clear it out?
    well everything on your sdcard will be safe. Your best option is to always wipe data and cache. I would download an app like mybackup pro and back everything up, it will back up apps and settings. Titanium Backup is also good. Then wipe data and cache and see if that helps.
    Anytime someone dares me to walk a mile in their shoes I do it! Because, hey free shoes and I am now a mile away from that person!

    Hatred is by far the ugliest trait any human can possess (think about it)
  8. Droid Ninja
    brando56894's Avatar
    Member #
    45165
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,217
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #8
    All that stuff will get saved on your sdcard and your contacts will reload every time you reflash a rom. /data just hold the data for your applications.
    How To: Compiling a Custom Version of Clockwork Mod Recovery
    <-- Lockscreen

    ROM: Incredibly Re-Engineered v2.3
  9. Junior Droid
    khrisdeus's Avatar
    Member #
    101222
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    Trying Titanium backup right now, I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks!
  10. Junior Droid
    khrisdeus's Avatar
    Member #
    101222
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    Well, I backed everything up with Titanium, went into ROM manager and selected the newest kangerade, selected to backup current ROM, wipe data and cache, and when the phone got past the M I keep getting the exclamation now and have to do a battery pull to get it to boot.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 32
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 09:26 AM
  2. Source roms vs stock roms
    By elucid in forum LithiumMod
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 03:30 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 03:07 PM
  4. Video issues and battery plate issues
    By nofx1728 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 08:46 AM

Search tags for this page

droid x2 pimp my rom flash exclamation

,

my android always got stuck in exclamation point

,

trying to install rom on droid and getting exclamation point

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+