DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Droid not switching between 1X and 3G despite good 3G coverage

  1. Droid Newbie
    jiffypop's Avatar
    Member #
    78903
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Droid not switching between 1X and 3G despite good 3G coverage

    When I first got my droid I had 3G everywhere all the time, though about 8 months or so into my ownership it began to more or less only recieve 1X signal. I tried updating the coverage area, popping out the battery, switching different wireless/plane settings and various other sundry methods.

    I accidentally dropped my droid in a parking lot and cracked the screen pretty bad. So I filed an insurance claim and had a new one sent to me I was hoping that maybe it was tied to the phone, no such luck it turns out.

    After charging my phone to the full capacity I noted the same behavior from the new phone. I can tell it has good 3G because I'll get sustained bursts of 3G that are all the bars light up and during that time I can running streaming apps such as radio and video fine. Though eventually it'll arbitrarily switch back to 1X despite having the maximum amount of bars on 3G.

    I read into this a bit more and saw somewhere that someone had gone through the process of calling tech support, and got lucky enough to find someone willing to investigate the issue instead of just "The towers down" or, "Try these things I know you've done ten times already" and found out that the android OS seems to want to switch from 3G to 1X even though a good 3G connection is available and there are several tickets in on Motorola's site from VZW about the same thing (this is what the support rep told the person I'm referencing). This issue is SUPPOSED to be fixed in the rollout of the new android OS though we still have to wait for VZW to nerf all the juicy bits before we'll get it on our droid unless you want to go through the trouble of rooting/installing community made builds of the version of the OS.

    I was wondering if anyone knew anything else about this or had heard anything similar.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    foolydooly's Avatar
    Member #
    78829
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Nope, first time.

    Could be OS update issue, then... Did you try updating?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon 3G Coverage with Droid...Question
    By Habs Forever in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 08:32 AM
  2. Good morning, good evening, and good night!
    By Jarosg803 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 08:23 PM
  3. No 3g coverage ANYWHERE!?!?!
    By Comisac028 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 01:17 PM
  4. GPS Coverage
    By xlr8bigmike in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 06:28 PM
  5. best skins ever coverage?
    By EsiEmi in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 03:09 PM

Search tags for this page

1x coverage

,
1x or 3g
,
3g to 1x switching droid
,

droid 1x

,
how to change 1x to 3g
,

how to switch from 1x to 3g

,

phone switches from 3g to 1x

,

what is 1x coverage

,
why does my motorola droid x2 switch from 3g to 1x
,

why does my phone switch from 3g to 1x

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+