DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Is the voice dialing really this bad?

  1. Droid Newbie
    ggodat's Avatar
    Member #
    71315
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    MOT Droid
    #1

    Is the voice dialing really this bad?

    Am i missing something? Love the Droid but the voice dial is horrible. Given that the Google voice search is awesome i'm extremely disappointed that the voice dial is much worse than the phones from several years ago. I'll say the name of a contact "Call Bill Gates mobile" and i'll get a phone number that appears to have been selected at random from somewhere on the planet. the number is not in my contacts.

    Hopefully i'm missing something but the voice dial on the BB Curve puts this phone to shame.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    ValkF6's Avatar
    Member #
    19526
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    78
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Bionic
    #2
    Maybe Google is so good that it's really Bill Gates' mobile number? ;-)

    It's supposed to get better in the next operating system release.
  4. Master Droid
    y0manda's Avatar
    Member #
    9610
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    335
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - -> HTC TBOLT
    #3
    yes the number your phone is calling is Bill Gates new cell phone number, you probably didn't update it in your contacts.
  5. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #4
    *rofl* yeah it's pretty bad. It'll be fixed in 2.2, but until then I use HF Dial, it is a paid app but well worth the money. You can pair it with another free app and bind it to your camera button to make it easy to use.
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?
  6. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #5
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    I didn't realize those were two different things, I just thought it was an alternate way to get into the voice search!
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?
  8. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Taegost View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    I didn't realize those were two different things, I just thought it was an alternate way to get into the voice search!
    Nope, it's two completely different things. Google works well it's the voice search that actually sucks. Some people also like Gesture search, I prefer the voice.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Super Mod/News Team
    Shadez's Avatar
    Member #
    32075
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Posts
    8,223
    Liked
    594 times
    Twitter
    @Shadez69
    Phone
    Droid,Droid Bionic/Galaxy SIII
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    When it works it nice, 1/2 the time it pulls up a web page tho.. even tho in the box shows exactly what I said.
  10. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadez View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    When it works it nice, 1/2 the time it pulls up a web page tho.. even tho in the box shows exactly what I said.
    Do you specifically say "call" before your search subject? I think maybe 1 time I've seen that happen.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  11. Super Mod/News Team
    Shadez's Avatar
    Member #
    32075
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Posts
    8,223
    Liked
    594 times
    Twitter
    @Shadez69
    Phone
    Droid,Droid Bionic/Galaxy SIII
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadez View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Just use the Google search to voice dial with. It works much better. Press search, the microphone, then say call (enter name) and Google will dial the number for you. Works much better then voice search.
    When it works it nice, 1/2 the time it pulls up a web page tho.. even tho in the box shows exactly what I said.
    Do you specifically say "call" before your search subject? I think maybe 1 time I've seen that happen.
    Yep Ill say "Call Home" and I get the web with results for "Call Home"
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Hands-free voice dialing with Voice Dialer HF
    By DFXmobile in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 05:05 AM
  2. Voice Dialing
    By weissman in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 09:14 AM
  3. Error Voice Dialing and Voice Searching
    By DogPaw in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 04:58 PM
  4. Voice dialing
    By DABlaylock in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 06:22 PM
  5. Voice BT Dialing
    By Kemp in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 04:42 PM

Search tags for this page

android bluetooth dialer poor recognition
,
android voice dial bad
,

android voice dialer sucks

,

android voice search sucks

,

google voice dialer sucks

,

how to improve android voice dial

,

how to improve android voice dialer

,
improve android voice calling
,

improve android voice dialer

,

improve voice dialer

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+