DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Location is WAAAAY off

  1. Junior Droid
    V8s_are_slow's Avatar
    Member #
    70597
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Panama City, Florida
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Location is WAAAAY off

    When I open the Maps app, it has my location in Gainesville, Fl. I'm live about 4-5 hours southwest of there. If I click on latitudes to find my g/f's location who also has a Droid, she's in Gainesville too. What the heck???
  2. Junior Droid
    proof's Avatar
    Member #
    59864
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Motorola A855
    #2
    Don't feel bad. I am in Michigan and it once kept telling me I was Salt Lake City, Utah. I had to look out the window just to be sure.
    Can't we all just get along?
  3. Master Droid
    gszeman's Avatar
    Member #
    56765
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    507
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    Rom: Codename Android 1.0.1
    Kernel: Imo's Lean Minimalistic Experimental

  4. Junior Droid
    V8s_are_slow's Avatar
    Member #
    70597
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Panama City, Florida
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    Thanks a lot. I'll have to try that.
  5. Junior Droid
    V8s_are_slow's Avatar
    Member #
    70597
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Panama City, Florida
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Well, that worked. For about 2 hours. Gps stutus won't recalibrate. Dunno why. Won't give me longitude and latitude.
  6. Junior Droid
    KJRadz's Avatar
    Member #
    69532
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Incredible
    #6
    Panama City...? Check this thread...

    Droid Eris - Wrong Network/Location - Verizon | Forums and Blogs - Verizon Community

    It's a Verizon network problem. The "workarounds" work for some phones but not all. They still don't have an ETR.
    Last edited by KJRadz; 05-24-2010 at 06:57 PM.
  7. Junior Droid
    V8s_are_slow's Avatar
    Member #
    70597
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Panama City, Florida
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Sure appreciate the link. That sure cleared up a lot and guess there's a lot of people on that forum from Panama City and all of them having the same problem as me for the same amount of time. Trying to join that forum but it's not letting me for some reason.

    Anyway, I did one of the workarounds and it's working. Question is, will it keep working? Sure hope so. Thanks a lot.
  8. Junior Droid
    KJRadz's Avatar
    Member #
    69532
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Incredible
    #8
    You're welcome. It might help get them off their butts and get it fixed if you added your voice to the mix by opening a ticket with their tech support.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Gps location and map
    By snappingfish in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 04:04 PM
  2. Why location???
    By bje1982 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 01:21 PM
  3. location?
    By Pstroke in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 04:02 AM
  4. App location
    By astevens54 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 08:31 AM

Search tags for this page

v8s are slow droid

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+