DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wrong network/location

  1. Droid Newbie
    Ateres's Avatar
    Member #
    69163
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    DROID Eris
    #1

    Wrong network/location

    Hello!

    For the past week or so, my husband and I (both with DROID Eris') have been having issues with our phone's location. We live in Panama City, FL, however as of late our location has been showing up as Tallahassee, FL (some 100 miles away), Gainesville, FL (even further away), or even just 'Florida' with no city. This is causing problems with several apps on our phone, most visibly Google maps, Google sky (I was able to manually set my city in this app, though), the HTC weather widget, as well as the actual phone time (I've overridden the auto detect of the time and set it to our proper timezone, however its still noteable). I thought that when we received the 2.1 Update that this would fix itself, however I just got the update today and am still having the same problems.

    I've done several power downs/power ups, and have downloaded/used the GPS app, all to no avail. I have posted this problem elsewhere, however I was told that it was an issue with Google Maps and that it would be resolved with a bug update. This doesn't explain why my weather widget, phone time, and network all show me in a different area.

    Any ideas? If you need more info, please let me know.

    Thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    TJMIV's Avatar
    Member #
    69182
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #2
    This same issues started on my HTC Incredible Friday night (05/14/2010). At least two other people I know are experiencing the same problem. We all have the same issues you listed except mine shows Panama City as Eastern Time zone. I had to manually set my location to Mobile for the alarms to work correctly.

    Possibly unrelated, but I was at the Verizon store Saturday for another issue and overheard a conversation where they said that a tower technician was on site.
  4. Junior Droid
    KJRadz's Avatar
    Member #
    69532
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Incredible
    #3
    Also in Panama City. Wife has a Motorola Devour I have an Incredible. Hers currently has her in Gainesville and mine is showing Crawfordville. GPS works correctly but does not update the apps and widgets for time and weather display when current location is selected. This is apparently provided by Verizons network. I've opened a ticket with them but haven't heard anything back yet.
  5. Droid Newbie
    eidiamonddot1's Avatar
    Member #
    70067
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    htc droid eris
    #4

    Location is wrong

    Wow!!! I am in the Southport/Panama City area. This is insane. Both my daughter and I have HTC DROID ERIS and for about a week the location has been wrong. Showing either Gainesville or Tallahassee as our location. I have done everything possible. It started this prior to me updating my phone on Monday, 5/14/10. It is driving em insane.. I have turned the gps location off and on, reset my phone, etc. My maps is showing the correct location buy my weather widget and clock are wrong. I had to manually adjust the time.
  6. Junior Droid
    KJRadz's Avatar
    Member #
    69532
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Incredible
    #5
    They're working on the problem according to this thread on verizon's support forum...

    Droid Eris - Wrong Network/Location - Verizon | Forums and Blogs - Verizon Community

    I haven't heard back on my ticket yet but am planning on calling them again today.
  7. Droid Newbie
    cartisdm's Avatar
    Member #
    140640
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #6
    Sorry to revive an old thread but I am just spreading the word now that I finally found the problem:

    Hey Everyone, the problem has FINALLY been solved. It has to do with GPS either being turned off or very low signal. In which case your Wifi begins looking for networks to determine location. Check out my thread to read up on the issue:

    http://androidforums.com/incredible-support-troubleshooting/249744-i-feel-like-im-effin-twilight-zone.html
  8. Junior Droid
    KJRadz's Avatar
    Member #
    69532
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Incredible
    #7
    Hi, just wanted to drop back in to let you know that our particular problem was solved quite some time ago and give you some background that might help you a bit since I assisted the Verizon engineers in resolving this issue for us.

    At the time this thread was created, Verizon had upgraded their network for our area (Florida panhandle, lower Georgia and Alabama) to a new cellular network switch. The upgrade required that the cell id for each of the towers be changed for proper mapping to the new switch. This resulted in erroneous responses to lookups in the Google cell tower location database since the new cell id's hadn't been entered. The recommended work around involved hard setting your location in apps that use Google location services or use GPS. If Verizon location services are working and Google are not you may be facing a similar issue. I'd be happy to jump in and help if you need.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Network location fc loop when activated.
    By telly in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 11:44 PM
  2. driod GPS has me at the wrong location
    By Sean in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 10:55 PM
  3. Wrong location on Google.com browser
    By jixser in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 08:11 AM
  4. Cell network location wrong?
    By Lafond in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 10:40 AM
  5. Right location, wrong label on map
    By feistycapn94 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 06:59 AM

Search tags for this page

facebook location wrong city

,
htc incredible wrong cell location
,
my cell phone shows wrong location on facebook
,
my location on facebook is wrong
,

my phone location is wrong

,
why does my phone have the wrong location
,

why does my phone show the wrong location

,

why does my phone show wrong location

,

why is my location on facebook wrong

,

why is my location wrong on facebook

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+