DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: advanced task killer

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    android by Verizon

advanced task killer

I use ATK and Memory Task Cleaner..Do I need both...When I use MTC it says it has freed X amount of memory..Is this true? or am I wasting my time..My droid seems to run smooth...But would like to get a honest opion on this subject please...thankyou
  2. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    I'm not an expert on the subject, but I used an app killer frequently until I saw this from the help menu of the SystemPanel app...
    "the [Android] OS itself automatically removes programs from memory as memory is needed. The OS may also preload applications into memory which it thinks might soon be needed."
    Having lots of available memory doesn't appear to improve battery life, and they recommend only using "end all" applications if the phone is performing poorly...
    I haven't been going out of my way to conserve memory lately and haven't noticed any difference...
  3. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    You really don't need either one. I've had my droid since shortly after launch date and have never had speed or memory issues. If you do get a bad app that's sucking up battery or memory you can close it using the stock applications management in the menu.
  4. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus

Re: advanced task killer

+1 for the post above me. I used a task killer for a while, then have been without one for the past week our so. I haven't noticed any difference either way. My phone is actually running its best now, but I think it has a lot to do with the rom I have running now (Buglessbeast 1.0)

Sent from my Droid
    Rom: Codename Android 1.0.1
    Kernel: Imo's Lean Minimalistic Experimental

5. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Phone