DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GPS broken

  1. Junior Droid
    astough's Avatar
    Member #
    58838
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    GPS broken

    My droid is having problems finding itself. Out of the last 10 times I have tried to navagate somewhere, I have gotten "searching for GPS". Every time, but one time it did finally figure out where I was. Sky's are clear and have been in multiple locations. Anyone know what that's all about?
  2. Theme Developer
    icculusX's Avatar
    Member #
    36395
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    RAZR!
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    Hmm, i have trouble maybe 1 out of 20 times... Where you live? (as if that matters much)
  3. Junior Droid
    astough's Avatar
    Member #
    58838
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    I'm in san antonio texas, and the gps was completely reliable until last week. Maybe it is just a bug.
  4. Junior Droid
    camaropep's Avatar
    Member #
    37095
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Ever get it working? Mine is having the same problems
  5. Junior Droid
    astough's Avatar
    Member #
    58838
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Nope. Still having problems. Strange thing though, the other day I was going somewhere and my droid couldn't find itself. My mother tried on hers and it worked like a charm,with mine sitting right next it searching for GPS.
  6. Droid Newbie
    cantbdun's Avatar
    Member #
    55200
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    A855
    #6

    GPS vs cell towers

    I'm not 100% sure, but I think when it's having a location issue it's using cell towers not satelites. Mine works fine when I'm in a good cell tower area. When I'm near my lake house, (this was the last analog tower, now it's an old shared by all carriers tower) that only lets verizon users make calls - no internet or other apps that need a conection.
    Run the app 'GPS Status', it will show the satelites it is receiving.
    Question - why would a satelite app only work with a good (or 3G) cell tower connection? Answer = It shouldn't matter.
  7. Junior Droid
    Rulkiewicz's Avatar
    Member #
    67981
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by cantbdun View Post
    I'm not 100% sure, but I think when it's having a location issue it's using cell towers not satelites. Mine works fine when I'm in a good cell tower area. When I'm near my lake house, (this was the last analog tower, now it's an old shared by all carriers tower) that only lets verizon users make calls - no internet or other apps that need a conection.
    Run the app 'GPS Status', it will show the satelites it is receiving.
    Question - why would a satelite app only work with a good (or 3G) cell tower connection? Answer = It shouldn't matter.
    Hi, I'm having similar problems. I downloaded that app, the compass works, but the radar below the compass doesn't load, it just displays the "refreshing circle".

    Any ideas?
  8. Master Droid
    Zippster's Avatar
    Member #
    51
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    524
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Razr HD
    #8
    Same issue here, seems to be worse since the 2.1 "update" mine ends up locking up my phone like a brick until it eventually reboots about 3-5 minutes later.
  9. Master Droid
    brochaos's Avatar
    Member #
    18653
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    782
    Phone
    Motorola Doid
    #9
    this happens to all phones. just restart it and it should be ok for the next couple of days.
  10. Junior Droid
    Rulkiewicz's Avatar
    Member #
    67981
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by brochaos View Post
    this happens to all phones. just restart it and it should be ok for the next couple of days.
    I rebooted it we few times and it finally started to work. But it's really hit or miss... currently it's broken again.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. vibration broken?
    By urallmine in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 01:17 PM
  2. broken led
    By g8gt2012 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 10:46 AM
  3. Is my accelerometer broken or
    By CBLJazz in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 08:37 AM
  4. Broken
    By broken in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:57 PM
  5. Broken Droid
    By MikeZ in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 02:19 PM

Search tags for this page

android a855 searching for gps
,

android gps broken

,
broken gps droid
,
broken gps issues
,
buffalo verizon gps
,

droid gps broken

,
gps broken phone
,
motorola a855 gps broken
,
motorola droid a855 searching for gps
,
motorola droid android gps buffalo
,
motorola droid gps broke
,
verizon 4.1 broke gps
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+