DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need some help..someone who knows something about wireless networks PLEASE!!

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid

Question I need some help..someone who knows something about wireless networks PLEASE!!

So heres my dilema: Was with t-moblie for 11 years, wanted the droid so I switched. I work in a hospital 7 nights a week, so a cell is important to me!! lol. However, the minute I walk in the door: BOOM. NO FRICKING SERVICE! No one else has Verizon to ask if they get service...did the *228 thing...and I even went and bought a 20.00 cricket phone which gets GREAT service inside! Yea, Cricket! Called tech support, of course they were no help...tried an external antenna, tried a new droid and the only real difference is the call quality on this one is ****! My conversations consist of me repeating myself over and over again bc people cant understand me. So, they said they will send me yet ANOTHER droid, and to see what happens. There are towers literally three miles from I work and every other carrier gets service inside. SOOOO here are my thoughts, and again Im struggling here so please help.

I went and got a cricket USB modem for my laptop...I plug it in, get service good inet service, so can I set up a wi fi network off of my laptop for when Im at work and just tether my phone off of it? If someone knows....please tell me how. I looked through the advanced settings and I know nothing about static IP's and crap! ORRRR The Verizon range extender? 20o bucks but if I can get it to work off of my laptop and cricket usb modem it would b worth it to me because I spend so much time here. They guy at verizon said it can be done, but he doesnt know how. Any suggestions guys?

I love the phone....but DAMN I need service! Thanks in advance...Im so bummed!

3. Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked