DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Yahoo! Mail on WiFi Gives "Connection Error"

  1. Junior Droid
    Raj's Avatar
    Member #
    206
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    17
    #1

    Yahoo! Mail on WiFi Gives "Connection Error"

    I've been having this issue with my Yahoo! mail on Droid. I can get/send my emails fine using Verizon's 3G network. However, when I switch my connection settings to WiFi, all my messages disappear upon refresh and I get a a message saying: "Connection Error." My other Internet apps (including GMail) work fine on WiFi. After switching back to the 3G network and performing refresh, the Yahoo! Mail reloads all the messages and works fine. I checked this issue on 2 phone sets and on work and home WiFi networks. How do I make the Yahoo! mail work on WiFi connection? Is anybody else having this issue?
  2. Droid Newbie
    Gimmeanathlon's Avatar
    Member #
    12802
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    I have the same prob. Any resolution pal?
    Let me know!
  3. Droid
    rlandon's Avatar
    Member #
    8693
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    PCB, FL
    Posts
    74
    Phone
    Samsung Droid Charge
    #3
    Mine has the same issue using POP3 accounts. I also noticed that the Droid music player and other apps won't work if I had previously enabled WiFi (say for DroidLive) and then disabled. I end up rebooting the phone. My WinPro6.1 Samsung would keep all connections active and run all programs. This seems to be my only peeve with the phone. I had hoped 2.0.1 would have fixed it.
  4. Super Moderator
    New2u's Avatar
    Member #
    21
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Posts
    3,628
    Liked
    28 times
    Phone
    Note 3
    Premium Member
    #4
    No this has been reported, most believe it's got something to do with the IP addressing (or just checks your phone). The reason is because yahoo technically charges for it's yahoo plus email accounts, which is what you really should have to access their networks from pop3, and to forward your emails to another account. The way we have set up the yahoo account, is through a MOBILE connection, so i think once it sees that it's no longer a mobile connection, it doesn't allow you to get there.
    Resistance is futile.

    On 11/16/2009 DroidNet Became Aware
  5. Droid
    rlandon's Avatar
    Member #
    8693
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    PCB, FL
    Posts
    74
    Phone
    Samsung Droid Charge
    #5
    I'm not using Yahoo but my own domain account and it's having the issue on WiFi. Switching it back screws up the 3G although it is showing it working on the status bar, that's when my apps decide to quit work working.

    Start your phone and play a music file. Enable wifi and disable back to 3G, then try that same music file again. Mine gives an error message stating it doesn't support that file format (mp3). That's just one example. So if I listen to DroidLive via wifi, I have to reboot afterwards to get my mail working again via 3G.

    Panama City
  6. Droid
    tono80's Avatar
    Member #
    29724
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6

    same problem here.

    I have the same problem. Man, that is annoying. Something the Android people should've thought about before releasing. I wonder if iPhone have all these sort of problems, such as these and force closes...
  7. Sal
    Sal is offline
    Master Droid
    Sal's Avatar
    Member #
    32943
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    345
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by New2u View Post
    No this has been reported, most believe it's got something to do with the IP addressing (or just checks your phone). The reason is because yahoo technically charges for it's yahoo plus email accounts, which is what you really should have to access their networks from pop3, and to forward your emails to another account. The way we have set up the yahoo account, is through a MOBILE connection, so i think once it sees that it's no longer a mobile connection, it doesn't allow you to get there.
    I wonder if that relates to the thread I started today:

    2.1's new Yahoo mail update sounds messy!
    There's a weird footnote in the official Verizon pdf (link below) on the update saying that either Yahoo mail and/or the new sign-in or something "is not available when using Verizon wifi."

    Wondering what that even means and wanted to alert people. I use wifi on my droid whenever I'm home. And it's verizon's service...

    http://support.vzw.com/pdf/system_update/moto_droid.pdf
  8. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    Wow, so many talking about how wifi messes up the droid. And here I thought I might be nuts, having had wifi off for over 3 weeks and having zero problems w/ my droid.

    As for the yahoo problem, I wonder if you need to switch your SMTP port setting to 587 (as opposed to 25) to bypass your ISPs spam protections. Just a stab in the dark.
  9. Droid
    tono80's Avatar
    Member #
    29724
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9

    I get it now

    Thanks for all that provided insight. I guess it's not really a problem other than you just have to pay for Yahoo upgrade to use it as a non-mobile device, since when you use WiFi, it doesn't see it as a mobile device but as a computer. It would be sweet if they figure out a way to show that it is still a mobile device even if you connect through WiFi...
  10. Droid Newbie
    joelang's Avatar
    Member #
    50754
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10

    yahoo over wifi

    You can use maildroid for yahoo: https://slideme.org/application/maildroid-096-beta, it will also work over wifi.

    The update from verizon for 2.1 will probably be pop3 anyway and not imap. They have an incoming.yahoo.verizon.net for broadband users, so I bet they applied that...however, that is still pop3.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "Late night, off topic, bored, chat" thread.. ;)
    By Sam in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-27-2013, 10:22 PM
  2. Maps - how to "save" a "place" ... work around.
    By rdalemercer in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 11:34 AM
  3. "select all"? "check all"?
    By santoro1200 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 11:28 AM
  4. "Where" app (Gas, Traffic, Restaurant/Business etc) and related apps
    By LordKastle in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 06:28 PM
  5. Suicide of german Goal Keeper "Robert Enke"
    By RinTinTigger in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 08:48 AM

Search tags for this page

connection error yahoo
,
connection error yahoo android
,
connection error yahoo mail
,
connection error ymail
,
imap.vzw.net
,

imap.vzw.net error

,
mail w-lan.com
,
wifi error android yahoo
,

yahoo connection error

,

yahoo connection error on android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+