DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: Want better in-call audio? / How-To Change Voice Codec

  1. Droid
    godanigo's Avatar
    Member #
    933
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    94
    Phone
    Tha Droid
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by dajakal View Post
    On my moto razr, I used the same programming type menu to disable 3G or EVDO which really helped the battery life. Even though it defeats the purpose of the smartphone aspect, is there a setting on the Droid that can do that for last-ditch battery saving?

    Check out the Toggle Data widget.
  2. Junior Droid
    skuzz's Avatar
    Member #
    6116
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #12
    You can use the menu to completely disable EVDO. I was using it earlier to do some 1x data tests and it works fine. The switch for it is under the Test Mode screen.

    Test mode->enable->next->next->Network Mode->CDMA Only

    You may need to power cycle the radio/device if it doesn't come back in 30 seconds or so, otherwise you'll drop to 1x for battery saving joy!
  3. Master Droid
    markmicallef's Avatar
    Member #
    7366
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    291
    Phone
    Droid X
    #13

    How to get better call quality on your droid

    source:
    How to get better call quality on your droid - SmartPhoneADDICTED

    THIS IS THE PHONE PROGRAMING MENU! DO NOT MESS WITH OTHER SETTINGS IN THIS MENU IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING! YOU CAN AND WILL FUBAR YOUR DEVICE!

    How to get better call quality on your droid
    There have been a few reports of users hearing a echo when making calls. Or the person on the other end of the call no being able to hear you very good. This is something that may help you if you find the Droid having poor call quaility.

    On your dialpad dial*##PROGRAM
    * then press* SEND
    The SPC password is* 000000
    Now you should be at the Programming Menu.*
    From the list press*"04 Vocode"
    Now you can select 13k, EVRC (default option), or EVRC-B. Select EVRC-B
    After you select one, back out to your home screen and your phone will reset.

    That's it Also here is a little information on what this does*exactly.

    Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Enhanced_Variable_Rate_Codec

    Enhanced Variable Rate Codec B - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Now before you dive into changing these settings... EVRC-B is not available in all parts of the country. So if you change these settings and cannot make calls, try changing it to the 13K setting.

    ALSO THIS IS THE PHONE PROGRAMING MENU! DO NOT MESS WITH OTHER SETTINGS IN THIS MENU IF YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING! YOU CAN AND WILL FUBAR YOUR DEVICE!
    ~Mark

    Samsung Galaxy S III
  4. Junior Droid
    04blkep3's Avatar
    Member #
    9538
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Droid
    #14
    i just did this. thanks going to see if it works with a phonecall
  5. Senior Droid
    INFERNO's Avatar
    Member #
    4187
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    114
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #15
    A tech dialed the prl from my phone and it calibrated itself. I believe it was *228 or something its on the back of the Verizon cheat sheet card.
  6. Master Droid
    medicTHREE's Avatar
    Member #
    516
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    463
    Liked
    1 times
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by INFERNO View Post
    A tech dialed the prl from my phone and it calibrated itself. I believe it was *228 or something its on the back of the Verizon cheat sheet card.
    *228 will help with your Preferred Roaming List, but It won't do what this post is describing.
  7. Master Droid
    medicTHREE's Avatar
    Member #
    516
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    463
    Liked
    1 times
    #17
    It worked great for me, sounds better calling automated systems, hard to tell with a live person as it is 0630 and I have no one to call yet.
  8. Droid
    spyder560's Avatar
    Member #
    6417
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    83
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID
    #18
    I did all these steps above and it doesn't seem to have fixed the muffling or sound quality. I'm wondering if I should try exchanging it for another one?

    Anyone else took theirs back and got an improved one?
  9. Droid Newbie
    theraven51's Avatar
    Member #
    10819
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid
    #19
    I am having the same problem and none of the fixes worked for me either. I am going to take it back and see what they can do.
  10. Droid
    spyder560's Avatar
    Member #
    6417
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    83
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by theraven51 View Post
    I am having the same problem and none of the fixes worked for me either. I am going to take it back and see what they can do.

    Let us know if the one you get is better
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Streaming Audio and Audio Recording
    By Inundated in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 10:22 PM
  2. App to change the navigation voice?
    By blowdryl in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 09:54 PM
  3. Change LED color?
    By 350-Jason in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 03:38 PM
  4. voice recognition and voice control list of commands?
    By angelman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 01:19 AM

Search tags for this page

android change audio codec
,
android change codec
,
android change voice codec
,
android internet calling codec
,

android voice codec

,
android voice codecs
,
change android voice codec
,

ims test mode

,
setting your voice codec from the smartphone
,
what is ims test mode
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+