DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Droid dropping my saved WiFi connection

  1. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #1

    Droid dropping my saved WiFi connection

    This has been happening recently, though nothing about the phone or wireless has changed. But the wireless router works perfectly well, as three of my four home computers run off the wireless router (including my Verizon Network Extender). The stuff is saved and the WiFi is turned on. As I type this I am sitting like 2 feet from the router.

    Why is it dropping my signal and switching to 3g?
  2. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    This has been happening recently, though nothing about the phone or wireless has changed. But the wireless router works perfectly well, as three of my four home computers run off the wireless router (including my Verizon Network Extender). The stuff is saved and the WiFi is turned on. As I type this I am sitting like 2 feet from the router.

    Why is it dropping my signal and switching to 3g?
    I have the same exact problem. I was told to try it in airplane mode but that didn't help either. I have a good signal, I run a laptop and two TiVo's off my home wireless network but Droid can't seem to hold a signal.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  3. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #3
    Could it be the channel used on the router? Anyone know what is better for Droid, high or low channels?
  4. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #4
    According to a thread I found somewhere else, it said try changing the security to AES. I'm going to try it and see what happens. I also switched from channel 2 to 5.
  5. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #5
    Curious, what brand of router are you guys using? This isn't the first thread I've seen about this, there seams to be some issues with the wi-fi. Just wondering, I know a thread I saw here and a few on another Android forum had problems with Netgear. I've run on several Linksys and Belkins with no problems.
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
  6. Droid Ninja
    jasonb's Avatar
    Member #
    12570
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,153
    Phone
    Moto Droid :)
    #6
    i am having the same problem. i just replaced a linksys router with a netgear router and now it drops it from time to time. it never dropped the linksys, so that makes me assume it's a router issue or an issue with a setting on the router.
  7. Droid Sensei
    unix.punkx's Avatar
    Member #
    3991
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    3,332
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Yes KSI beat me to it, what kind of router are you guys using? That very well could be the issue.
  8. Droid Sensei
    unix.punkx's Avatar
    Member #
    3991
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    3,332
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonb View Post
    i am having the same problem. i just replaced a linksys router with a netgear router and now it drops it from time to time. it never dropped the linksys, so that makes me assume it's a router issue or an issue with a setting on the router.
    I've never ever ever ever trusted Netgear, being an Apple person, and completely unbiased I love their wireless router. Linksys is great too, not so much for Macs however
  9. Banned
    Matth3w's Avatar
    Member #
    25413
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Bugless Beast 2.1 ROM @ 1.1GHz
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Curious, what brand of router are you guys using? This isn't the first thread I've seen about this, there seams to be some issues with the wi-fi. Just wondering, I know a thread I saw here and a few on another Android forum had problems with Netgear. I've run on several Linksys and Belkins with no problems.
    I have a Linksys WRT54G. And we definitely aren't the only ones...here is a 56 page thread on the subject:

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/t...t=825&tstart=0
  10. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Matth3w View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Curious, what brand of router are you guys using? This isn't the first thread I've seen about this, there seams to be some issues with the wi-fi. Just wondering, I know a thread I saw here and a few on another Android forum had problems with Netgear. I've run on several Linksys and Belkins with no problems.
    I have a Linksys WRT54G. And we definitely aren't the only ones...here is a 56 page thread on the subject:

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/t...t=825&tstart=0
    Yeah, I've seen several threads on it on the other sites. Got to be the phone(s) then (or more likely an app conflict or something). That's the same router I have here at home and I've not had a problem yet (knock on wood). I use the wi-fi daily syncing and browsing and never had it drop.
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid shows connection to WiFi, but no go
    By pdpotter in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 01:51 PM
  2. Interesting issue with Droid Wifi connection.
    By bmore in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 12:58 PM
  3. WIFI connection Problem!
    By hart.jordan in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 07:23 PM
  4. Alternating Between WiFi and 3G Yielded No More 3G Connection
    By mmcompute in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 10:10 AM
  5. WiFI connection periodiaclly drops
    By Shoop in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 11:14 PM

Search tags for this page

android dropping wireless connection
,
android keeps dropping netgear
,
android keeps dropping wifi connection
,
android keeps losing wifi setting
,
android losing wifi connection
,

droid drops wifi connection

,

droid keeps dropping wifi connection

,
droid x keeps losing wifi connection
,

droid x losing wifi connection

,
keep losing wifi connection on android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+