DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Proximity sensor problem?

  1. Master Droid
    hacku's Avatar
    Member #
    23421
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mesa, AZ.
    Posts
    549
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    Proximity sensor problem?

    I've noticed lately that when I place a call, immediately after it dials it the screen goes black before I even put the phone up to my face (and no, I'm not covering the sensor). And after I end the call and pull it away from my face it remains blacked out. I have to actually slide the keyboard open to get the screen t wake up so I can either end the call when I'm done, or if I want to use speaker.

    I did a search and some people are experiencing the opposite where the screen stays on and they end up pushing buttons with their face.

    Anyone else experiencing this issue?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    dgoakill's Avatar
    Member #
    20658
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    55
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by hacku View Post
    I've noticed lately that when I place a call, immediately after it dials it the screen goes black before I even put the phone up to my face (and no, I'm not covering the sensor). And after I end the call and pull it away from my face it remains blacked out. I have to actually slide the keyboard open to get the screen t wake up so I can either end the call when I'm done, or if I want to use speaker.

    I did a search and some people are experiencing the opposite where the screen stays on and they end up pushing buttons with their face.

    Anyone else experiencing this issue?
    I have the exact same problem. very annoying when you need to access the dialpad button to enter numbers for an automated answering system.
  4. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #3
    Only thing I could suggest is a factory reset to see if it is a program/app that is causing the problem or a hardware issue. The later of course would have you going to the store or calling CS (only reason I suggest the reset is because it's the FIRST things they are going to have you do or do in the store so this will save you some time).
  5. Master Droid
    hacku's Avatar
    Member #
    23421
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mesa, AZ.
    Posts
    549
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Only thing I could suggest is a factory reset to see if it is a program/app that is causing the problem or a hardware issue. The later of course would have you going to the store or calling CS (only reason I suggest the reset is because it's the FIRST things they are going to have you do or do in the store so this will save you some time).
    You don't need to go to the store to do a factory reset...

    Settings> Privacy > Factory Data Reset

    Anyone else having this issue that can offer a solution?
  6. Administrator
    cereal killer's Avatar
    Member #
    88
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    11,046
    Liked
    1562 times
    Phone
    Nokia Lumia 928
    Premium Member
    #5
    You running Advanced Task Killer?

    Reason I ask is because I had the same problem when I first got the phone and installed it. Upon uninstall haven't had the issue since.
  7. Master Droid
    hacku's Avatar
    Member #
    23421
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mesa, AZ.
    Posts
    549
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by cereal killer View Post
    You running Advanced Task Killer?

    Reason I ask is because I had the same problem when I first got the phone and installed it. Upon uninstall haven't had the issue since.
    Yes I am... I'll uninstall it and see what happens. Thanks for the tip.
  8. Droid
    machnhed's Avatar
    Member #
    13289
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Washington DC (Centreville, VA)
    Posts
    53
    Twitter
    zmhill
    Phone
    Droid X2 (Stock)||Droid (Root)
    #7
    I am running ATK and my screen goes black almost immediately as well. However, I just have to shake the phone just a little bit and the screen comes to life. I can only speak for myself, but I like this cuz I still have to pull the phone away from my face if I'm needing to look and dial in numbers, so rattling the phone a tiny bit to bring it to life doesn't bother me.
    "Life is a comedy for those who think... and a tragedy for those who feel." - Horace Walpole

    Droid X2 || Stock....for now

    Droid 1 || Cyanogen 7.0.3 || O/C 1.1GHz || LauncherPro Plus
  9. Master Droid
    dodgersrgood's Avatar
    Member #
    11351
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    818
    Phone
    moto droid
    #8
    ya im having problems both ways. sometimes it wont go on and then other times it stays on and i end up either muting the other person or hanging up on them. really sucks
  10. Droid Sensei
    KZIWarrior's Avatar
    Member #
    21812
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2,634
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by hacku View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Only thing I could suggest is a factory reset to see if it is a program/app that is causing the problem or a hardware issue. The later of course would have you going to the store or calling CS (only reason I suggest the reset is because it's the FIRST things they are going to have you do or do in the store so this will save you some time).
    You don't need to go to the store to do a factory reset...

    Settings> Privacy > Factory Data Reset

    Anyone else having this issue that can offer a solution?

    Please learn to read a response before adding to the discussion. I said 'the latter' (though forgot an 'l'), which in this case would be a hardware issue would require a trip to the store... not performing the reset. But thanks for playing.

    As to the OP, sorry, I've tried to get mine to mess up and, while it might have a slight delay it seams to be acting as designed/intended. I used to use ATK (for the first week or so) and didn't notice anything so this sounds like a hardware failure.

    Your not using a cheap screen protector or case or something are you (i.e. something that could be interfering with the sensor)?

    Edit: OP are you using any sort of 'battery saving' or monitor programs (i.e. something to keep the screen dim)? I'm using screebl but I could see how a program like that could be causing this.
    Last edited by KZIWarrior; 01-15-2010 at 06:01 PM.
  11. Master Droid
    hacku's Avatar
    Member #
    23421
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mesa, AZ.
    Posts
    549
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hacku View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by KZIWarrior View Post
    Only thing I could suggest is a factory reset to see if it is a program/app that is causing the problem or a hardware issue. The later of course would have you going to the store or calling CS (only reason I suggest the reset is because it's the FIRST things they are going to have you do or do in the store so this will save you some time).
    You don't need to go to the store to do a factory reset...

    Settings> Privacy > Factory Data Reset

    Anyone else having this issue that can offer a solution?

    Please learn to read a response before adding to the discussion. I said 'the latter' (though forgot an 'l'), which in this case would be a hardware issue would require a trip to the store... not performing the reset. But thanks for playing.

    As to the OP, sorry, I've tried to get mine to mess up and, while it might have a slight delay it seams to be acting as designed/intended. I used to use ATK (for the first week or so) and didn't notice anything so this sounds like a hardware failure.

    Your not using a cheap screen protector or case or something are you (i.e. something that could be interfering with the sensor)?

    Edit: OP are you using any sort of 'battery saving' or monitor programs (i.e. something to keep the screen dim)? I'm using screebl but I could see how a program like that could be causing this.
    You call me a post whore and tell me to "Please learn to read a response before adding to the discussion."? Well you apparently didn't read either since I'm both the "post whore" and the OP.

    But anyway, I got rid of Advanced Task Killer and my phone has been functioning properly ever since. I'll probably shoot an email to the developer so he can look into why his program is causing this issue.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. proximity sensor
    By MrsDebbi in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 08:36 AM
  2. proximity sensor
    By MrsDebbi in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2009, 05:29 PM
  3. Phone sensor problem
    By Axel Foley in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 05:24 PM
  4. proximity sensor after the update
    By eskanday in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 10:14 PM
  5. Proximity sensor and hair
    By Zich in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 04:41 PM

Search tags for this page

android proximity sensor settings

,
android reset proximity sensor
,

droid proximity sensor problem

,
droid x2 proximity sensor problems
,
how to reset proximity sensor
,
how to reset proximity sensor android
,
proximity sensor droid bionic
,

reset proximity sensor android

,
sensor problems on a verizon droid a955
,
sensor settings android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+