DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: service bars issue??

  1. Droid Newbie
    makinascene's Avatar
    Member #
    161804
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    pro
    #1

    service bars issue??

    droid pro -
    when i wake up my phone and it's on the "locked" screen, before you use your finger to swipe it unlocked, my service shows 5 bars, with no 3G symbol or anything, just 5 bars.
    Then, when i unlock it, after a second the 3G shows up.

    i feel like after the update, my phone service has been a lot worse. when my phone is idle, it says i have full service, but as soon as i connect to a call, it shows i have 0 bars.

    can anyone shed some light on this? i've updated my phone and the roaming service and nothing seems to work.
  2. Senior Droid
    StormyHeather's Avatar
    Member #
    96842
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    ONJFANGA
    Phone
    Droid RAZR MAXX
    #2
    Hm. You may want to check your power settings. I know that sometimes in the morning or when I haven't unlocked my phone in a while, it will have to reconnect to the network and it takes a couple seconds for it to connect. I don't worry when that happens, since I've not had a problem with it connecting. I freaked out the first time I noticed it though, because I figured my phone was ALWAYS connected. Then I realized what was going on.

    To my knowledge: the BARS indicate your cellular signal. The bars doesn't have anything to do with your connection to the network (the data parts), which is the 3G indicator on your phone. That is why you can get telephone calls on your mobile, but can't connect to the internet or get emails or update your facebook page or twitter. I've had my 3G sometimes go back and forth between 3G and 1X if there are network problems.

    I'm not sure why you would be having problems with your cellular service after an update. Someone around here with way more knowledge than I do will have an answer for that.

    Good luck!
    - StormyHeather





    ______________________
    Chaos, panic and disorder -- my work here is finally done.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Issue with Ticker SNS service for facebook
    By RyanS2000 in forum Samsung Continuum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 06:45 PM
  2. Bars but no service
    By Robochek in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 07:15 PM
  3. Hardware issue or service issue???
    By stanwelks in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 10:42 AM
  4. Incredible no bars=Great service?
    By xxnonamexx in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 07:38 AM
  5. No Service - Reception Issue
    By sooner2k1 in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 06:11 AM

Search tags for this page

my verizon thunderbolt says no service and has x where bars
,

no bars on my android

,

samsung charge no service

,
samsung continuum losing connection
,

samsung continuum no 3g

,

samsung continuum no service

,

samsung droid charge no service

,

verizon incredible 2 losing service

,

why does my android phone say no service

,

why does my android say no service

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+