DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Ringtones or lack thereof!?!

1. Junior Droid
    Member #

Ringtones or lack thereof!?!

I am new to this and yet n my tinkering, I have found out a few things and am yet to trash my phone. I have two issues (at the moment):

1) I am getting the hang of setting ringtones. The tones I have downloaded I have gotten into my ringtone folder and I have set several. Problem: When I go to set the tone for Text notification,only the pre-installed ringtones show up (and I don't really like any of them!)

2) I came over from an LG Envy2. Setting up text groups was a breeze. I grabbed Handcent but making groups is still not working. I am a hot dog guy and need to text menu's out to about 20 folks every morning starting Monday! Any help would be appreciated!

3. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    1) Create a folder called notifications on your SD card. Anything put in there will show up as a notification tone.
  4. Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    Quote Originally Posted by LifeIsABeach View Post
    1) Create a folder called notifications on your SD card. Anything put in there will show up as a notification tone.
    Bingo. OP, you've got the handle on this. The 'ringtone' folder you created works only for ringtones. You just need to create the 'notifications' folder on your SD card and the text notifications list will have the sounds/mp3s you've added!
  5. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by Martin030908 View Post
    Bingo. OP, you've got the handle on this. The 'ringtone' folder you created works only for ringtones. You just need to create the 'notifications' folder on your SD card and the text notifications list will have the sounds/mp3s you've added!