DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: sholes 2.0.5 apparently hates me.

  1. Droid Ninja
    nerdbox08's Avatar
    Member #
    22363
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,154
    Phone
    DROID .rwar.
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by LrdElderon View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nerdbox08 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by LrdElderon View Post
    turn on phone and then just about as soon as i swipe unlock and then BANG lock up and about a dozen different force closes including home. and i get stuck at a black screen with lit menu buttons that do not respond to touch and I am forced to battery pull yet again.

    Something is really f'd up with this rom or there is an app it really hates and don't know which it is because so far after half a day of formatting, reinstalling, formating more, redownloading... I have to put this rom in the sucks major balls category. I'm sorry, but comparing what I've been through to installing adams most recent rom.... nandroid restore KAPOW all done freaking awesome phone. there is absolutely no comparison. Maybe I have to do a complete factory reset wipe and try? I don't know. God forbid a complete newbie should try this piece of garbage and not know how to restore the phone back.

    I would seriously like to try using this rom for a day or two just to test it out but it's just not possible apparently for my phone. if someone has any suggestions I would be open for listening to them.

    I'll understand if my post gets edited by a mod hehe. or is deleted. but this is annoying me greatly especially for a program that's suppose to do the whole bleeping thing itself.......
    Have you tried dropping your OC speed?
    the couple of times i've been able to actually get far enough to install and set setcpu yes I have. what frequency should it be at when before setcpu is installed? i would assume stock frequency but since that isn't in this kernels steppings I don't know... does it run 1.2ghz right of the bat? kinda wierd if it does.
    Well, the more demanding apps you are running the more speed they need to function smoothly, but I think with this particular ROM anything over 1gHZ is going poorly at this point.

    I'm running at 700 mHZ with no problem. In fact, my battery has even lasted me the entire day and is still at 80% with mild internet browsing and tons of email.

    Since they pull 550 from their options, I would go with 600 since the CPU is underclocked when shipped, for your testing needs at this point. That is, IF you want to keep testing it.
    I had a nice signature, but the mean ate it.
  2. Master Droid
    LrdElderon's Avatar
    Member #
    26076
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    489
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    #12
    well my phone is perfectly stable on taz kernel at 1ghz. I'd like to at least try playing around with the rom a bit. people seem to like it, but I'm not feeling the love from this rom at all. I don't really know what is conflicting or if it actually is the cpu causing the lockups.

    going to try one more time double check and try and a low clock rate and if it does it again i'll keep a logcat file and just go back to smoked 4.1
  3. Droid Ninja
    nerdbox08's Avatar
    Member #
    22363
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,154
    Phone
    DROID .rwar.
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by LrdElderon View Post
    well my phone is perfectly stable on taz kernel at 1ghz. I'd like to at least try playing around with the rom a bit. people seem to like it, but I'm not feeling the love from this rom at all. I don't really know what is conflicting or if it actually is the cpu causing the lockups.

    going to try one more time double check and try and a low clock rate and if it does it again i'll keep a logcat file and just go back to smoked 4.1
    Okay let us know how it goes.
    I had a nice signature, but the mean ate it.
  4. Master Droid
    LrdElderon's Avatar
    Member #
    26076
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    489
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    #14
    ok im at desktop, i managed to get setcpu root access and set it down to 700 conservative and curvefish battery widget and I'm about to put the power bar widget on top.

    that's right around when i usually have issues. especially if i take it off autobrightness. Well I'm only at 700mhz and i noticed i think some errors when i put the power control bar widget up

    I/ActivityManager( 1280): Displayed activity com.android.settings/.AppWidgetPick
    Activity: 4116 ms (total 4116 ms)
    D/dalvikvm( 1843): GC freed 548 objects / 30256 bytes in 76ms
    D/dalvikvm( 1843): GC freed 87 objects / 4136 bytes in 68ms
    W/InputManagerService( 1280): Window already focused, ignoring focus gain of: co
    m.android.internal.view.IInputMethodClient$Stub$Pr oxy@44c43950
    D/VoiceDialerReceiver( 1550): onReceive Intent { act=android.intent.action.PACKA
    GE_CHANGED dat=package:com.android.settings flg=0x20000000 cmp=com.android.voice
    dialer/.VoiceDialerReceiver (has extras) }
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    50000
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    20005
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    20004
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    700e5
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    20031
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    20030
    W/ResourceType( 1280): Resources don't contain package for resource number 0x7f0
    50000
    I/ActivityManager( 1280): Process com.bigtincan.android.adfree (pid 2735) has di
    ed.
    D/dalvikvm( 1550): GC freed 165 objects / 7760 bytes in 201ms
    D/dalvikvm( 1524): GC freed 158 objects / 8232 bytes in 104ms

    maybe it is 1.2 ghz being the problem and then i just can't get in to change it back. well i can but i have to edit the file through adb.... still with all the people mouthing off how awesome 1.2 is and how we should pull the lower clocks out and put them up to 1300 1400... blah. I guess I'm the perfect example of why that is not such a good idea.
    Last edited by LrdElderon; 02-16-2010 at 07:53 PM.
  5. Master Droid
    LrdElderon's Avatar
    Member #
    26076
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    489
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    #15
    Well I appreciate the help. I'll slowly add and ramp up speed and see if i can narrow down the cause. it very well could be the cpu. either way I think I'll prob go back to smoked blu 4.1 and then push over chevys 10 slot kernal =) wooo woooo

    couple of questions though: 1 I thought the news and weather widget would not be installed since thats what I told the rom installer to do, yet here it is....
    2. Why that stupid 2.0 lock screen? people liked that? i don't see the specialness of it so i removed it.
    3. Not sure if it makes a diff or not but on every install I always removed wifi tether and vpn. they are not needed. this time i even took out dropbear. don't know if that helped fix any conflicts?
    Last edited by LrdElderon; 02-16-2010 at 08:00 PM.
  6. Droid Ninja
    nerdbox08's Avatar
    Member #
    22363
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,154
    Phone
    DROID .rwar.
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by LrdElderon View Post
    Well I appreciate the help. I'll slowly add and ramp up speed and see if i can narrow down the cause. it very well could be the cpu. either way I think I'll prob go back to smoked blu 4.1 and then push over chevys 10 slot kernal =) wooo woooo

    couple of questions though: 1 I thought the news and weather widget would not be installed since thats what I told the rom installer to do, yet here it is....
    2. Why that stupid 2.0 lock screen? people liked that? i don't see the specialness of it so i removed it.
    3. Not sure if it makes a diff or not but on every install I always removed wifi tether and vpn. they are not needed. this time i even took out dropbear. don't know if that helped fix any conflicts?
    Honestly, I'm unsure about all of those. I usually just leave them. I've not had any major problems with Sholes, but I have always been a fan of how Adamz blue ROM looked, turns out he has a theme so I themed Sholes with Adamz.

    Once Chevy's ROM is more stable I am going to try that one.
    I had a nice signature, but the mean ate it.
  7. Master Droid
    LrdElderon's Avatar
    Member #
    26076
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    489
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    #17
    yeah i like the look too, especially if you get the 2.36 beautiful widgets like he has in his screenshots (the one post last before htc sent the dev the cease and desist order). incredible looking.

    just be aware that chevy is doing a 2.1 rom so careful with the root stuff i suppose.
  8. Droid Ninja
    nerdbox08's Avatar
    Member #
    22363
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,154
    Phone
    DROID .rwar.
    #18
    Quote Originally Posted by LrdElderon View Post
    yeah i like the look too, especially if you get the 2.36 beautiful widgets like he has in his screenshots (the one post last before htc sent the dev the cease and desist order). incredible looking.

    just be aware that chevy is doing a 2.1 rom so careful with the root stuff i suppose.
    I saw he was having peoplee try a different launcher because the original isn't doing so hot.

    that seems to be the common problem with 2.1 roms
    I had a nice signature, but the mean ate it.
  9. Droid
    CongoJack90's Avatar
    Member #
    22223
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    42
    Phone
    Motorola Droid (Froyo)
    #19
    I've also had a little bit of a problem with sholes 2.0.5 but only if I run it at 1.2 gHz it rebooted on me twice in one day. So far at 1.2 gHz its not very stable but its very stable at 1 gHz and below so I've seen.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Tethering hates me.
    By lockdownx1x in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 09:09 PM
  2. Hitler hates apple
    By NYZ93 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 04:23 PM
  3. Replies: 52
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 12:10 AM
  4. I'm trying to download roms on my Droid, but technology hates me.
    By SushiGummy in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 03:03 AM
  5. Beautiful Widgets is apparently no more
    By Vulcan1600 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 150
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 02:56 PM

Search tags for this page

cooliris chunk o
,
local-album- cache chunk 0
,

local-album-cache

,

local-album-cachechunk

,
local-album-cachechunk 0
,

local-album-cachechunk 15

,
local-skip-cachechunk
,
unable to create cache directory android
,
unable to create or open the chunk file
,
unable to create or open the chunk file /sdcard/android/data
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+