DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Data/Cache wipe Question.

  1. Junior Droid
    Rick-s's Avatar
    Member #
    32080
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Data/Cache wipe Question.

    Please forgive the newbie question... but here goes

    I understand that the Data and Cache partitions are to be wiped prior to the installation of one of the roms.

    Also, from what I understand this means I'll have to re-install all my apps after rom installation.

    My question is, will there be any way to get back game saves or will I have to start over on any game I had?

    Thanks,

    Rick
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick-s View Post
    Please forgive the newbie question... but here goes

    I understand that the Data and Cache partitions are to be wiped prior to the installation of one of the roms.

    Also, from what I understand this means I'll have to re-install all my apps after rom installation.

    My question is, will there be any way to get back game saves or will I have to start over on any game I had?

    Thanks,

    Rick
    What you are suppose to do is install the paid version of Titanium Backup and freeze your apps. This will allow you to retain your game saves.

    If you don't do that in games like Home Run Battle 3D, you will be starting over.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Junior Droid
    Rick-s's Avatar
    Member #
    32080
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    Does that work with apps like angry birds as well?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. Master Droid
    Ozzie's Avatar
    Member #
    100173
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    824
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #4
    I paid for this not long ago...didn't understand what the 'freeze' was about.
    I also like that with the paid version you can set up the restore to install selected apps unattended. Way nice.
  6. Junior Droid
    Rick-s's Avatar
    Member #
    32080
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    I also noticed in metiCkOne's instructions for the FRG83D Stock rom in the sticky that he said:

    Wipe or not? It is my recommendation that everyone wipes data & cache no matter what build they are coming from. Also, you should only use titanium to re-install apps without the data. It kinda sucks to re-enter all your info, accounts and bookmarks and re-download apps but in the end, if you run into problems you won't wonder if itís because you didn't wipe data/cache.
    Am I reading this correct? Is he saying to restore with titanium (as you did) only without data... Wouldn't that mean you would lose your saves ... or am I totally misunderstanding... which could easily be the case
  7. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick-s View Post
    I also noticed in metiCkOne's instructions for the FRG83D Stock rom in the sticky that he said:

    Wipe or not? It is my recommendation that everyone wipes data & cache no matter what build they are coming from. Also, you should only use titanium to re-install apps without the data. It kinda sucks to re-enter all your info, accounts and bookmarks and re-download apps but in the end, if you run into problems you won't wonder if itís because you didn't wipe data/cache.
    Am I reading this correct? Is he saying to restore with titanium (as you did) only without data... Wouldn't that mean you would lose your saves ... or am I totally misunderstanding... which could easily be the case

    He's saying restore without saving data. I'm not going to argue with him, all I can do is share the benefits of my experience.

    I've never "froze" the apps with titanium myself because I didn't understand that part of the process but anyone who has experienced this will tell you this is what you need to do. But it's his ROM far be it from me to argue with a dev. So that leaves the decision up to you.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  8. Junior Droid
    Rick-s's Avatar
    Member #
    32080
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Thank you for your quick and helpful info.

    I wonder what the reasoning metiCkOne has behind that?
  9. Beta Team
    metiCkOne's Avatar
    Member #
    28203
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Posts
    1,717
    Phone
    Droid
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick-s View Post
    Thank you for your quick and helpful info.

    I wonder what the reasoning metiCkOne has behind that?
    Both methods will work fine. I used titanium backup to restore my data but when I didnt tell people to wipe everything and not restore using titanium I would get complaints about things being broken that worked fine. So basically it's to keep me safe from troubleshooting things I shouldnt have to.

    With that said you can use any method you want to restore all your stuff, as long as you know what you're doing. Hook's idea is a great one. I havent used it but it should work great.
  10. Junior Droid
    Rick-s's Avatar
    Member #
    32080
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Thanks, I'm going to purchase titanium now and with any luck all will be normal after the update and theme. Any chance of the blue-blackbar theme ??
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wipe data and cache
    By tjs in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 06:12 AM
  2. no wipe data/cache
    By mskks64 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 09:46 AM
  3. Wipe Cache / Data
    By ab41681114 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 12:25 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 10:57 AM

Search tags for this page

android wipe data cache
,

backup existing rom and wipe data and cache

,
backup existing rom and wipe data and cache.
,

backup existing rom wipe data and cache

,
droid charge wipe data cache
,
how to wipe data droid charge
,
motorola atrix wipe cache partition
,
what is a cache on a phone
,
wipe cache droid charge
,

wipe data and cache

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+