DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: What Kernel?

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Droid 1

What Kernel?

So I'm quite new to the whole ROM thing and was reading online at different messageboards about a Kernel..

I understand what it is and what it does, but what one do I want to get?
    I just installed the metiCkMOD FRG83D ROM last night on my Motorola Droid (1), and there is a link there suggesting ChevyNo1 Kernels..
    but, on their site at http://chevyno1.richstevenson.com/froyo/kernels3, what kernel do I get?
    Or, do I really need to worry about getting one?
    How is it installed?
    Last edited by jrd761; 12-15-2010 at 03:55 PM.

3. Developer Relations
    Member #
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    It already has a kernel. Kernels are for over/under clocking the processor. If you don't want to do that you don't need a new one. (The rom comes with one, if it didn't your phone wouldn't be working right now!)

If you are interested in that look for the thread called "overclocking 101" in the Rescue Squad area of this forum.

There are many kernels and some like certain phones better.

A kernel is installed the same as a rom. It is done after the rom has loaded.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid A855