DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Motorola Droid 2 Voice Command Bug Discovered

  1. Administrator
    danDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,280
    Liked
    352 times
    Twitter
    droidforums
    Premium Member
    #1

    Motorola Droid 2 Voice Command Bug Discovered



    Motorola has had their hands full swatting recently discovered Droid X froyo bugs, but we haven't heard of many issues surrounding the Droid 2. Today, BoyGeniusReport was tipped off with a strange security flaw that might be a tab bit concerning. While the phone is in the lock state and waiting for a password to be entered, pressing down the search softkey for four seconds and announcing a voice command will send your Droid 2 into "does mode" performing the voice request. Weird eh? Check out the video above and let us know your thoughts.. Big Deal or No Big Deal?

    Edit JohnDroid: Just confirmed this as working on my phone as well. Don't think it's a huge security issue IMHO.

    Source: Motorola DROID 2 security flaw allows Voice Actions from passcode-protected state Boy Genius Report)
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Code Money's Avatar
    Member #
    125054
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, Bay Area
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Droid 2 A955
    #2

    Not A Deal Breaker

    This is just one of the many exploits/dysfunctions of owning a smartphone. This type of thing kind of comes with the territory of owning "new" technology. I'm sure it will be fixed in some future Froyo update. From a security breach perspective, its no big deal really. At least it's not an antenna issue. lol
  4. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #3
    That's a big problem, but it's not a deal breaker, especially since the fix should be forthcoming shortly.

    Business users beware, however.
  5. Droid Ninja
    johnomaz's Avatar
    Member #
    87119
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Valley, California
    Posts
    2,256
    Liked
    395 times
    Phone
    HTC One M8
    #4
    Anyone else notice he was using an iPhone 4 to record with.
  6. Droid Ninja
    johnomaz's Avatar
    Member #
    87119
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Valley, California
    Posts
    2,256
    Liked
    395 times
    Phone
    HTC One M8
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by johnomaz View Post
    Anyone else notice he was using an iPhone 4 to record with.
  7. Droid
    ggtus's Avatar
    Member #
    9480
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    68
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    the calling may not seem like a big deal to some, but they basically have a phone now. and what about the "Go To" function. they can access the internet from your phone.
  8. Junior Droid
    johntkong's Avatar
    Member #
    124018
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    This may just be the hard key shortcut for placing an emergency call while in lock mode.
  9. Junior Droid
    johntkong's Avatar
    Member #
    124018
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by johnomaz View Post
    Anyone else notice he was using an iPhone 4 to record with.
    And I just went back to watch the video... tsk tsk.
  10. Junior Droid
    barakaspeed's Avatar
    Member #
    28734
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Glad to see this is getting more attention. I did try back on 10/12.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...ck-screen.html


    I hope, at least, Moto makes an option to turn on/off to give users a choice.
  11. Master Droid
    droidman101's Avatar
    Member #
    40871
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    711
    Phone
    DROID
    #10
    not even close to a security flaw imo, it would be as much as doing an emergency call, sure someone could send texts out to everyone and all but theyd need the names of the people to do so, etc. Now, i dont know about you, but none of my enemies who would be able to do this because they know my friends will ever know about this bug, until this iphone fanboy site(bgr, look at what the people ahead of me posted for proof) reported it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't find Motorola USB networking on Command Prompt
    By baboulou in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-20-2011, 09:31 PM
  2. voice command
    By mrwright1983 in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 10:16 AM
  3. Voice Command Question
    By Scanyou in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 05:52 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 02:45 PM
  5. Voice command to call
    By u7mg0 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 01:27 PM

Search tags for this page

disable voice command android
,

disable voice command droid 2

,
disable voice commands droid 2
,
droid 2 always goes to voice commands
,

droid 2 say a command

,
droid 2 voice commands disable
,
galaxy s2 disable voice command
,
how to turn off voice activation on droid 2
,

how to turn off voice command on droid 2

,
silence voice command droid2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+