DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: You asked for it.. You got it.. an LTE Chip That Will Work Anywhere in the World!

  1. Droid Ninja
    MissionImprobable's Avatar
    Member #
    221238
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,901
    Liked
    263 times
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadez View Post
    Just curious, how many of you use your phone overseas on a semi-regular basis or even once and how was the experience? Did you find it easy to do?
    I know you were asking about one specific aspect, but there's another great thing about this: companies like Sony and Google who actually make non-contract devices easily available can offer universal flagships much more easily with this. This also allows us not to have to worry about the unlocking idiocy mentioned above. Untethered global devices for the win!
    Shadez likes this.
    What is best in life? "To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women."
  2. Droid Sensei
    kodiak799's Avatar
    Member #
    39354
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4,704
    Liked
    399 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #12
    Could potentially be a big development for the prices of phones if OEM's can mfr 1 handset to work anywhere. That's assuming VZW plays along (unlikely).
  3. Droid
    Krennel's Avatar
    Member #
    212426
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Razr M
    #13
    I dream of an unlocked Nexus 5 that can use any carrier, and on LTE to boot.
  4. Droid Ninja
    cybertec69's Avatar
    Member #
    60551
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1,686
    Liked
    162 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 R-U/Galaxy S4
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Krennel View Post
    I dream of an unlocked Nexus 5 that can use any carrier, and on LTE to boot.
    Keep on dreaming, that will never happen, not if the wireless carriers have a say.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Droid Forums
  5. Droid Ninja
    MissionImprobable's Avatar
    Member #
    221238
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,901
    Liked
    263 times
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by cybertec69 View Post
    Keep on dreaming, that will never happen, not if the wireless carriers have a say.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Droid Forums
    Verizon and Sprint are the only carriers that are a55 out on the new Nexus devices.
    What is best in life? "To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women."
  6. Master Droid
    comk4ver's Avatar
    Member #
    94035
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    605
    Liked
    20 times
    Phone
    Moto X... The Game?
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by MissionImprobable View Post

    Verizon and Sprint are the only carriers that are a55 out on the new Nexus devices.
    Agreed Verizon thinks they have all the clout to negotiate these things.
  7. Master Droid
    Dusty's Avatar
    Member #
    27087
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC/NoVA
    Posts
    713
    Liked
    174 times
    Phone
    Moto X / 4.4
    #17
    This chip is pretty exciting.

    OEM products featuring the complete Qualcomm RF360 Solution are anticipated to be launched in the second half of 2013.

    - Qualcomm


    EDIT BY SHADEZ: Adding to the OP - Thanks Dusty!
    Last edited by Shadez; 02-25-2013 at 01:24 AM.
    Shadez likes this.
  8. Droid Ninja
    MissionImprobable's Avatar
    Member #
    221238
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,901
    Liked
    263 times
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #18
    If Moto/Goog have some sense and the cajones, I would definitely suggest they push back the rollout of the X Phone if possible to include this chip. I'm tempted to hold out upgrading until I can get a device with this onboard.
    What is best in life? "To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women."
  9. Super Mod/News Team
    Shadez's Avatar
    Member #
    32075
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Posts
    8,223
    Liked
    594 times
    Twitter
    @Shadez69
    Phone
    Droid,Droid Bionic/Galaxy SIII
    Premium Member
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by kodiak799 View Post
    Could potentially be a big development for the prices of phones if OEM's can mfr 1 handset to work anywhere. That's assuming VZW plays along (unlikely).
    VZW play along? :P
  10. Droid Ninja
    xeene's Avatar
    Member #
    82269
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,540
    Liked
    234 times
    Phone
    droid maxx
    #20
    with this chip, it won't matter. buy a phone, unlock it and activate it on what ever carrier you like.
    Sony CM-B1201 > Samsung SCH-8500 > Motorola RAZR V3m > Samsung SCH-i760 > Motorola DROID X > HTC Thunderbolt > Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Motorola Droid Razr Maxx > Droid Maxx
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. World clock does not work...
    By Kitulu in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 09:18 PM
  2. Does Motorolla Xoom 3G work all over the world?
    By amory10 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 08:51 AM
  3. How can I get the Blur World Clock widget to work with LauncherPro?
    By r314bd in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 04:06 AM
  4. Does World War work on any Froyo builds yet?
    By shoot2scre in forum Android Games
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2010, 05:33 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 12:22 AM

Search tags for this page

droid incredible 2 world clock wrong location

,

world clock on incredible 2 quit working

,

you asked for it, you got it

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+