DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: SetCPU Developer Overclocks Motorola Xoom to 1.2Ghz, Hits 40 MFLOPS in Linpack

  1. Team FreeMyMoto
    Jaxidian's Avatar
    Member #
    81925
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    556
    Twitter
    Jaxidian
    Phone
    G1 -> DX -> Nook -> TBolt
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Hugh Jass View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaxidian View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Hugh Jass View Post
    And we all know it'll do a lot more than 1.2ghz, I won't be surprised a bit to hear 1.5ghz before the weekend is over.
    Huh? Why do we all know this? I thought the Tegra 2 was based on a core similar to the OMAP36xx, which seems to cap out around there? Apparently I'm ignorant...


    The Tegra2 is built on the ARM Cortex A9, the Tegra 250 3D is built on the exact same chip and architecture just with an upgraded GPU and runs 1.2ghz STOCK. The Droid was built on the Cortex A8, and from ARM's website, the specifications for the chip are: "Frequency from 600MHz to 1GHz and above"...and what was the droid shipped with? 550Mhz, severely under clocked by specs yet safe to overclock to even 1.3ghz, more than twice it's shipped clock. Manufactures of handsets never push chips to their limits because it's generally considered that it severely degrades overall life and reliability of the chip and reduces battery life, therefor it's safe to assume 1.5ghz will come without issue as it's only 0.3ghz increase over STOCK for the Tegra 250 3D.

    The potential clocks this chip is capable of is outstanding.
    But most (not all) 36xx chips in DX/D2 that are at 1ghz stock max out at 1.15ghz. If Tegra 2 chips are the same architecture but with the additional complexity of the dual core management, then I'd say your assumptions about their overclockability is certainly not something that should be assumed. Hoped for, sure. Assumed, no way!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    Quote Originally Posted by patfactorx View Post
    Ima bigger fan of TI's chips
    Why? Just curious.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
    Last edited by New2u; 02-28-2011 at 06:17 AM.
    Support @FreeMyMoto
  2. Droid Ninja
    dfuser312553's Avatar
    Member #
    110383
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,084
    #12
    I thought setcpu might be dead. Glad to see the 2.1a update!
  3. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    I thought setcpu might be dead. Glad to see the 2.1a update!
    i dont even have it running...there was an update?
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  4. Droid Ninja
    dfuser312553's Avatar
    Member #
    110383
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,084
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by jerroedr View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    I thought setcpu might be dead. Glad to see the 2.1a update!
    i dont even have it running...there was an update?
    Yep GB support, dual core, CM fix, etc
  5. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jerroedr View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by poontab View Post
    I thought setcpu might be dead. Glad to see the 2.1a update!
    i dont even have it running...there was an update?
    Yep GB support, dual core, CM fix, etc
    woo! awesome news! thanks!
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  6. Droid Ninja
    kptphalkon's Avatar
    Member #
    155133
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,389
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaxidian View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Hugh Jass View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaxidian View Post

    Huh? Why do we all know this? I thought the Tegra 2 was based on a core similar to the OMAP36xx, which seems to cap out around there? Apparently I'm ignorant...


    The Tegra2 is built on the ARM Cortex A9, the Tegra 250 3D is built on the exact same chip and architecture just with an upgraded GPU and runs 1.2ghz STOCK. The Droid was built on the Cortex A8, and from ARM's website, the specifications for the chip are: "Frequency from 600MHz to 1GHz and above"...and what was the droid shipped with? 550Mhz, severely under clocked by specs yet safe to overclock to even 1.3ghz, more than twice it's shipped clock. Manufactures of handsets never push chips to their limits because it's generally considered that it severely degrades overall life and reliability of the chip and reduces battery life, therefor it's safe to assume 1.5ghz will come without issue as it's only 0.3ghz increase over STOCK for the Tegra 250 3D.

    The potential clocks this chip is capable of is outstanding.
    But most (not all) 36xx chips in DX/D2 that are at 1ghz stock max out at 1.15ghz. If Tegra 2 chips are the same architecture but with the additional complexity of the dual core management, then I'd say your assumptions about their overclockability is certainly not something that should be assumed. Hoped for, sure. Assumed, no way!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
    I made an oopsie, and was wrong. All these mobile platforms use ARM's core architecture license to make all their chips...

    The snapdragon, hummingbird, omap, and tegra line are all derived from ARMs proprietary research and development. Bleh what a mistake, and on that note google cortex A15
  7. Master Droid
    sb1831's Avatar
    Member #
    124448
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    429
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #17
    No need to overclock it IMO but hey people will do it if they can...
  8. Team FreeMyMoto
    Jaxidian's Avatar
    Member #
    81925
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    556
    Twitter
    Jaxidian
    Phone
    G1 -> DX -> Nook -> TBolt
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #18
    Quote Originally Posted by kptphalkon View Post
    I made an oopsie, and was wrong. All these mobile platforms use ARM's core architecture license to make all their chips...

    The snapdragon, hummingbird, omap, and tegra line are all derived from ARMs proprietary research and development. Bleh what a mistake, and on that note google cortex A15
    All previous debates I participated in have been null and void. Thanks for the clarification.
    Support @FreeMyMoto
  9. Droid Ninja
    Hugh Jass's Avatar
    Member #
    35340
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,561
    Liked
    150 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    And we all know it'll do a lot more than 1.2ghz, I won't be surprised a bit to hear 1.5ghz before the weekend is over.
    Looks like I hit the nail on the head, go figure.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...tructions.html
  10. Droid Sensei
    jroc's Avatar
    Member #
    56815
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    3,856
    Liked
    164 times
    Phone
    Droid 1, X, RAZR, Rez, Maxx HD
    #20
    ^Ok, I need some lottery numbers from you now...cuz you called it to the tee.

    Lets put that ability to good use!!!
    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.

    MLK, Jr.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 09:46 PM
  2. Motorola announces 2GHz Droids by end of year...
    By Scott2373 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 12:36 PM
  3. Motorola Droid 2 Global Does 1.2GHz!?
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 07:36 AM
  4. SetCPU Developer
    By keithsmith22 in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 08:52 PM
  5. Motorola to release 2Ghz phone by end of year
    By JohnDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 102
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 03:39 PM

Search tags for this page

atrix overclock

,
motorola atrix overclock
,

overclock tegra 2

,

overclock xoom

,
overclocking tegra 2
,
tegra 2 gflops
,

tegra 2 overclock

,
tegra 2 overclocking
,
tegra overclock
,

xoom overclock

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+