DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Switching Keyboards Done Differently With Honeycomb

  1. Master Droid
    WenWM's Avatar
    Member #
    120293
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    647
    Liked
    37 times
    Twitter
    WMPerson
    Phone
    T-mobile G2x
    Premium Member
    #1

    Switching Keyboards Done Differently With Honeycomb



    In Android 2.X you’re able to switch keyboards in a few easy steps by going to the settings menu and doing the usual routine; however, the new method of switching keyboards is a little different in Android’s 3.0 Honeycomb tablet OS. While you can still switch between all the different on-screen keyboards Android offers, the magic auto switching keyboard concept (switches depending on app) that many people have been requesting is still not here. We can always hope for that in an update.



    Does this seem simple enough or is there another way you'd like it done.


    Source: (http://www.androidcentral.com/honeycomb-allows-quick-change-screen-keyboards)
    Last edited by dgstorm; 02-04-2011 at 10:10 AM.
    There is probable a million things about me that you don't know. Check out my About.me page
    About.me
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Detonation's Avatar
    Member #
    29500
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    969
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Galaxy SIII
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by WenWM View Post

    Does this seem simple enough or is there another way you'd like it done.
    Not sure how much more simple it can get. Press a button and choose your keyboard.
  4. Theme Developer
    bazar6's Avatar
    Member #
    15789
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    683
    Liked
    39 times
    Twitter
    Bazar6
    Phone
    GNex & Xoom & OG Droid
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #3
    You don't even have to go in to settings. You can just long-press in the type box and hit "Input Method" and choose one of the active keyboards from there. Much simpler than going in to settings each time. (I have the android keyboard, physical [no need to switch], 8 pen, and swype).
    Moto Droid 1 : Project Elite v4.2
    HTC Thunderbolt : Sold
    Samsung Droid Charge : Stock
    Moto Xoom Wifi : CM10.1
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus : CM10.2
  5. Junior Droid
    Ryguy085's Avatar
    Member #
    8870
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    is that not exactly how it is on android smart phones? I hold down in the text area, choose input method, and I can pick between swype and android keyboard.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. Theme Developer
    bazar6's Avatar
    Member #
    15789
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    683
    Liked
    39 times
    Twitter
    Bazar6
    Phone
    GNex & Xoom & OG Droid
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #5
    It is how you do it on a phone. My comment was towards the OP saying you have to go in to settings to do it; was giving an alternate and quicker route. And if that is how they are going to have it executed in Honeycomb, then I'll be completely fine with that.
    Moto Droid 1 : Project Elite v4.2
    HTC Thunderbolt : Sold
    Samsung Droid Charge : Stock
    Moto Xoom Wifi : CM10.1
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus : CM10.2
  7. Master Droid
    Detonation's Avatar
    Member #
    29500
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    969
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Galaxy SIII
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryguy085 View Post
    is that not exactly how it is on android smart phones? I hold down in the text area, choose input method, and I can pick between swype and android keyboard.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    It looks like there is now a dedicated button for it. So rather than a long press on the box, you can just single press that button. Saves you a second.
  8. Theme Developer
    bazar6's Avatar
    Member #
    15789
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    683
    Liked
    39 times
    Twitter
    Bazar6
    Phone
    GNex & Xoom & OG Droid
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Detonation View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryguy085 View Post
    is that not exactly how it is on android smart phones? I hold down in the text area, choose input method, and I can pick between swype and android keyboard.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    It looks like there is now a dedicated button for it. So rather than a long press on the box, you can just single press that button. Saves you a second.
    Talking about the settings button one on the right of the space bar? Cuz that goes away if you have voice search installed.
    Moto Droid 1 : Project Elite v4.2
    HTC Thunderbolt : Sold
    Samsung Droid Charge : Stock
    Moto Xoom Wifi : CM10.1
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus : CM10.2

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. More Honeycomb
    By luv2golf in forum Droid Forums Member News Depot
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 11:24 AM
  2. Honeycomb ROM??
    By xXbrick84Xx in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 05:14 PM
  3. After Honeycomb?
    By Shadez in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 04:04 PM
  4. Touch Screen responds differently if you...
    By Mr.G in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 09:40 AM
  5. Droid Volume Excessively Low or Acting Differently than in the Past.
    By terry.g.johnson in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 07:08 AM

Search tags for this page

android honeycomb keyboard replacement
,

change honeycomb keyboard

,

change input method honeycomb

,
honeycomb change input
,

honeycomb change input method

,

honeycomb change keyboard

,

honeycomb input method

,
honeycomb keyboard change language
,

how to change input method honeycomb

,
input method honeycomb
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+