DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Thread: Rooted Moto Droid 1 about to flash CyanogenMod

1. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here

Rooted Moto Droid 1 about to flash CyanogenMod

Ok so I am fairly new to this stuff, but I did manage to successfully root my Moto Droid 1 using Soup or Root 2.06 and have been enjoying it for a couple months now. I have not installed any custom kernels or roms. So far I have downloaded ROM manager and flashed CyanogenMod recovery and backed up my current rom. I have downloaded and have been using SetCPU and have downloaded and been using WIFI tether and everything is working great. I have also downloaded Choose Install Location to move apps to my SD card and moved most of my apps to my SD card. So my question is, what will I gain from flashing a Cyanogen custom ROM (or maybe a different one if there is a better one)? Is it worth the risk? I know the risk is fairly small and I HAVE made a backup of my current rom using rom manager, but not only what will I gain, but what will I lose? If I flash a custom rom, do I lose all my apps and then I have to re-download/re-install everything? I have about a hundred apps on my phone. Would I basically be going back to square one if I flash a custom rom? I do have "My Backup Pro" and have backed up SMS, Call logs etc etc and that backs up apps too, but what happens to my apps when I flash a rom?

Also, what do I need Busybox for and how do I know if I have it installed? I'm not sure if Soup or Root already did that or if that is something I still need to do or if it's something I even need. From reading the forums it seems like I do.

And then one last thing. I'm assuming that because I am rooted, I will no longer be receiving OTA updates from Verizon correct? So what do I do for updates? I would be forced to flash a custom CyanogenMOD rom with the update or some other rom right?