DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Arm® Cortex™ A8 processor speeds?

  1. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #1

    Arm® Cortex™ A8 processor speeds?

    I know our processor is underclocked to 550 mhz and we can't overclock it currently. I was just hoping someone knew what our processor is capable of in regards to speed and what speeds would be realistic considering the increased heat and decreased battery performance that occurs when overclocking. Is anyone knowledgeable on this subject?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    bernal125's Avatar
    Member #
    10594
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    queen creek,az
    Posts
    22
    #2
    Don't quote be on this but I read on a forum that a devoleper of a overclock app had said that thedroid can run safely at 1ghz
  4. Senior Droid
    Randomocity's Avatar
    Member #
    2178
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    148
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #3
    bernal, i HIGHLY doubt that's true. keep dreaming though. 600 MHz will probably be the top out being stable.
  5. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #4
    So if 600 mhz is the top stable speed, will there be any noticeable increase in performance? I have no idea how much of a difference 50 mhz makes in a phone.

    I just found this quote regarding the processor:

    "According to ARM, the Cortex-A8's long pipeline will enable high clock rates—potentially exceeding 1 GHz in a 65 nm process."


    Even if it is possible to get up to 1ghz, I would have to assume that it would create a lot more heat and really kill the battery. I know the Droid's processor is underclocked from 600 to 550 mhz, so I guess Motorola didn't think 50 mhz would make that much of a difference or that the decrease in performance was well worth the gain in battery performance.
    Last edited by JhankG; 12-16-2009 at 10:31 AM.
  6. Senior Droid
    Elysian's Avatar
    Member #
    11420
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    187
    Phone
    Moto Droid :D
    #5
    The processor is the same as the Pre, and people have been running it at 600 since it was first rooted... It really shortens the life of the processor, to under 1 year, they just aren't meant to run that high... The Pre only runs at 500 stock(and 550 for a short period during boot-up). 600 was what the Pre was limited to by the OS(it could overclock right out of the box).
  7. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Elysian View Post
    The processor is the same as the Pre, and people have been running it at 600 since it was first rooted... It really shortens the life of the processor, to under 1 year, they just aren't meant to run that high... The Pre only runs at 500 stock(and 550 for a short period during boot-up). 600 was what the Pre was limited to by the OS(it could overclock right out of the box).
    I didn't even think about it shortening the processor's life. Do you know if Pre owners were able to tell much of a difference by they were running at 600mhz?
  8. Junior Droid
    Quickster357's Avatar
    Member #
    1059
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Frigid North of Central US
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #7
    as Winston25, an employee of motorola who worked on the phone, said on HoFo whilst everyone was arguing about the underclocking "you will not notice a difference from 550Mhz to 600Mhz."
  9. Senior Droid
    jkayner's Avatar
    Member #
    2549
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    120
    Phone
    Verizon S4 ME7 w/root
    #8
    the pre is not running at 600. It is at 500.
  10. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by jkayner View Post
    the pre is not running at 600. It is at 500.
    We are talking about Pre owners who are overclocking it to 600mhz...
  11. Master Droid
    Varking's Avatar
    Member #
    661
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Winston Salem
    Posts
    579
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    When we can get a nice over-clocking app in the Market, I will clock at at higher speeds and report back my results. I don't intend by any means to leave the phone clocked at those for more than 12 hours at a time, but that should be more then enough time to properly get a feel and see if there is any difference.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What speeds is everyone getting over 3g?
    By garrett in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 98
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 01:11 PM
  2. minimizing processor use / process management
    By xndzizz in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 01:19 PM

Search tags for this page

arm cortex a8 550 mhz
,

arm cortex a8 overclock

,
arm cortex a8 processor clocked at 550mhz
,

cortex a8 overclock

,
cortex-a8 overclock
,
overclock arm cortex a8
,

overclock cortex a8

,
overclock cortex a8 processor
,
overclocking cortex a8
,
procesador arm cortex a8 550 mhz
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+