DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: Arm® Cortex™ A8 processor speeds?

  1. Droid
    Gimic26's Avatar
    Member #
    18051
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid X
    #21
    I think what we all really want is full OpenGl 2.0 support within Android so the OS can use the gpu to help speed things up...screen scrolling/transitions etc.
  2. Droid Ninja
    Guchi's Avatar
    Member #
    15045
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,074
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #22
    what does all that mean??? is says in speeds of from 600 to over 1GHz???

    Cortex-A8

    VFP, NEON, Jazelle RCT, Thumb-2, 13-stage superscalar pipeline variable (L1+L2),
    MMU+TrustZone

    up to 2000 (2.0 DMIPS/MHz in speed from 600 MHz to greater than 1 GHz)

    Texas Instruments OMAP3xxx series, SBM7000, Oregon State University OSWALD, Gumstix Overo Earth,
    Pandora, Apple iPod touch (3rd Generation), Archos 5, FreeScale i.MX51-SOC,
    BeagleBoard, Apple iPhone 3GS, Motorola Droid, Palm Pre, Samsung i8910, Sony Ericsson Satio,
    Touch Book, Nokia N900, ZiiLABS ZMS-08 system on a chip.
    Last edited by Guchi; 01-20-2010 at 08:39 PM.
  3. Droid Ninja
    640k's Avatar
    Member #
    565
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,124
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #23
    Quote Originally Posted by Guchi View Post
    what does all that mean??? is says in speeds of from 600 to over 1GHz???

    Cortex-A8

    VFP, NEON, Jazelle RCT, Thumb-2, 13-stage superscalar pipeline variable (L1+L2),
    MMU+TrustZone

    up to 2000 (2.0 DMIPS/MHz in speed from 600 MHz to greater than 1 GHz)

    Texas Instruments OMAP3xxx series, SBM7000, Oregon State University OSWALD, Gumstix Overo Earth,
    Pandora, Apple iPod touch (3rd Generation), Archos 5, FreeScale i.MX51-SOC,
    BeagleBoard, Apple iPhone 3GS, Motorola Droid, Palm Pre, Samsung i8910, Sony Ericsson Satio,
    Touch Book, Nokia N900, ZiiLABS ZMS-08 system on a chip.
    don't read too much into it. the processor designation, "OMAP3xxx series" is a clear indication that there is more than one processor.

    Berzerker said it best with the OMAP3430 vs. 3440 comparison.
  4. Senior Droid
    Yakuzagang5's Avatar
    Member #
    15956
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    236
    Phone
    Fascinate
    #24
    TO Everyone Talking about the processor....
    I have had my DROID "overclocked" to 600mhz since it was made available. Im on the web and playin games almost all day, and with the ability to use profiles to reduce the clock speed during sleep mode and when the battery drops to a certain level (i have mine set to drop to 550mhz max, 125min at < 30%). I have noticed an extended (slightly) battery life, with the ability to drop the clock speed to 125mhz when not doing anything with the phone, while also noticing a decent speed improvement (although not mindblowing). App loading is really the only thing affected, as games like Quake and Polarbit games may have a slight increase in speed, but mainly what I have noticed is less choppy screen transition and Maps loads quicker lol and about people talking about it being hot, I dont know where that is coming from, as it never gets "hot" for me, only luke warm.

    All in all I'm not a processor genius, all I have is my 3 week+ experience with it, and overall I would suggest to get it IF you make use of different profiles offered in SetCPU from the Market.

    As a reference my SetCPU is set to set on boot, profiles on with: on charge set to 600max 125min Sleep/Standby: 125max 125min Battery < 30% 550max 125min and my main slider on top of the main screen are both set to 600mhz.
  5. Banned
    killabyte's Avatar
    Member #
    29682
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    N.C.
    Posts
    178
    Phone
    Droid
    #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Guchi View Post
    what does all that mean??? is says in speeds of from 600 to over 1GHz???

    It means that the architecture that processor is based on is capable of running up to 1ghz, not that it will. In other words the core it is based on. There can be many different processor models based on that core that run at different clock speeds. See the engine analogy below to put it into a better perspective.

    There are a lot of different steps involved in the manufacturing of processors. Many CPU manufacturers will take a particular processor architecture that is capable of running up to a certain speed but they will cripple it, for lack of a better term, into running at slower speeds/efficiency. They do that little trick mostly for marketing reasons though.

    A real life example would be cars, although not the best analogy. A "standard" V8 engine, we'll say a 302 (5.0L) COULD make five or six hundred HP but that doesn't mean every 302 will, just that they are capable of it.

    My personal experience is limited to desktop cpu overclocking but my opinion is that while it may be possible to get it to run at 1ghz I can't really see it happening. For those kinds of increases in clock speed there is normally voltage increases that are needed which leads to more heat which would become another hurdle to overcome.

    As for overclocking it from 550 to 600 I doubt there is any significant real world performance to be gained. If there was an app to benchmark cpu performance you'd be able to see that the results would barely be worth the effort.
    Last edited by killabyte; 01-21-2010 at 12:20 PM.
  6. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #26
    Well this thread was brought back from the dead!
  7. Master Droid
    alienware777's Avatar
    Member #
    10139
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    616
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #27
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    Well this thread was brought back from the dead!
    Yes... people just dont like to see threads die. Its just so sad to see something die.
  8. Droid
    teenfaces's Avatar
    Member #
    3666
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    31
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #28
    The droid runs perfect and stable clocked at 600mhz. Battery life is still good and heat isn't a problem either. Would be interesting to see it clocked higher...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Arm® Cortex™ A8 processor speeds?-device3.png  
  9. Droid Newbie
    nicDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    32390
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Rooted Droid 2.0.1
    #29

    Overclocked @ 1.2

    I have had my Droid over clocked at 1.2 Ghz for about a week now. The only time the temperature spikes is when it's charging or I'm multitasking like there is no tomorrow. I'm using SetCPU, so, I have my profiles set to combat this.
  10. Droid
    lockdownx1x's Avatar
    Member #
    20457
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #30
    Quote Originally Posted by nicDroid View Post
    I have had my Droid over clocked at 1.2 Ghz for about a week now. The only time the temperature spikes is when it's charging or I'm multitasking like there is no tomorrow. I'm using SetCPU, so, I have my profiles set to combat this.
    Really?

    People let this thread die, its been known for a while that we can go up to 1.3GHz already.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What speeds is everyone getting over 3g?
    By garrett in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 98
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 01:11 PM
  2. minimizing processor use / process management
    By xndzizz in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 01:19 PM

Search tags for this page

arm cortex a8 550 mhz
,

arm cortex a8 overclock

,
arm cortex a8 processor clocked at 550mhz
,

cortex a8 overclock

,
cortex-a8 overclock
,
overclock arm cortex a8
,

overclock cortex a8

,
overclock cortex a8 processor
,
overclocking cortex a8
,
procesador arm cortex a8 550 mhz
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+