DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Need to unroot and erase droid but have broken screen?

  1. Junior Droid
    abooch1's Avatar
    Member #
    865
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Need to unroot and erase droid but have broken screen?

    Is there anyway I can do this? Verizon is sending me a new droid and then I have to send them the old one back. The screen doesn't work so I can't see anythhing. Is this going to be a problem? Can they charge me the full price if they find out that its rooted? Can they find out if the screen is broke?
  2. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    Assuming this is a D1 or DX, you can download the SBF and flash the phone back to it's original state.....

    It's likely that they'll never know, especially with a busted screen, but it cant hurt to be sure. And yes, on the off chance that they do find out, they can charge you full price.
  3. Junior Droid
    abooch1's Avatar
    Member #
    865
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    yea I have the droid one.. How do I do it? I can't see anything on the screen..
  4. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #4
    There's a sticky in one of the Droid subforums that is titled "SBF to root and unroot". It will walk you through the process -- the most tricky part will be getting into the bootloader, which should still be doable without a screen, you'll just have to let RSDLite tell you you're there.
  5. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #5
  6. Junior Droid
    abooch1's Avatar
    Member #
    865
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Thanks! What do you mean I need to have RSDlite tell me I'm there? How woud I know i unrooted it without a screen. Oh i forgot to mention I have a mac I only could do it with Windows? haha?
    Last edited by abooch1; 10-16-2010 at 03:16 PM.
  7. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #7
    People with working screens rely on the screen to tell you if you're at the bootloader screen. You'll have to depend on the computer software telling you that it's connected and ready.

    Flashing a stock SBF will get you back to stock, that's it. You'll know you're stock, because you flashed an SBF.
  8. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #8
    If all you have is a Mac, then you will have to use an emulator (or VM) to run windows to be able to use RSD Lite. The good part is, they can't see your screen, you can't see your screen, and if RSD Lite fails, all the better.

    good luck
  9. Junior Droid
    abooch1's Avatar
    Member #
    865
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    hey LT Im not able to get my phone to show up in RDS lite... any ideas? Again I can't see the screen so..
  10. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #10
    Follow the instructions carefully, and give plenty of time to each step... That's the best I can do for you. Sorry.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Broken screen, need to unroot
    By Kage in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 07:36 PM
  2. HELP Broken Screen on Droid
    By maidmarianiii in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 01:46 PM
  3. unroot phone with broken power button?
    By BRUINSdroidBOSTON in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 07:04 AM
  4. droid screen broken
    By troynewell47 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 02:41 PM
  5. Broken screen on rooted droid...how to unroot for return?
    By Killmanaj in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 11:01 PM

Search tags for this page

clear a droid pro with a damaged screen
,
how can i erase a droid incredible with a broken screen
,
how do you wipe a droid 3 if screen is broken
,
how to erase droid incredible memory with broken screen
,
how to erase memory on droid razr if i can't see the screen
,
how to erase memory on droid razr when screen is broke
,
how to wipe droid without screen
,
unroot broken droid
,

unroot phone with broken screen

,

wipe droid incredible broken screen

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+