DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Installing ROM Problem

  1. Official_n00b's Avatar
    Member #
    87803
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Installing ROM Problem

    I've had my phone rooted for about 4 months using the BB 2.2Froyo ROM and been pretty happy with it. The big complaint I had was when I rotated the phone 90 degrees, it would take about 10 seconds to reload the home screen. Hoping that a new ROM would fix this, I decided I would try to change.

    After talking to another guy online, he suggested I use "ROM Manager" from the Market. He recommended I buy the premium version ($5) and install a ChevyNo1 ROM. So I downloaded the trial to make sure I could get it to work before spending $5. Since ChevyNo1 ROM is a premium ROM (need to pay before can download), I installed stock 2.2 FRG01B ROM and checked the rooted option. That installed fine.

    Since that worked GREAT, I decided I would buy the premium version so I could get the ROM that I wanted (and it was so easy). I choose to download ChevyNo1 ROM > Simply Stunning FROYO v4.8 > SS Blue Theme > No OCed Kernel > No Theme or Live Wallpaper > No Launcher Options > No ROM addons. I can choose either "Backup Existing ROM" or "Wipe Data and Cache" because it doesn't matter. Then I get an error that says, "An error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands!" and then it goes back to the main ROM Manager screen.

    To me, it seems like I don't have root access, but I DO have the super user ninja. But when I try to run "BusyBox Installer" it crashes. When I try to run "ShootMe" it says "Failed to start server. Please check that you have ROOT access on your device and enabled access to the lower level graphics." That's why I think I don't have root access.

    So I decided I would download the unrooted stock update.zip file (from the link in this video: ) and install it the old way by booting into recovery. But it aborts when loading. I'm too scared to wipe the data b/c I don't want to brick my phone.

    Can anyone help me get ChevyNo1 ROM onto my phone? If that means I need to go back to stock first, that's fine. I just want my phone back.
  2. Rescue Squad
    Tallica's Avatar
    Member #
    48266
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Middleboro, MA
    Posts
    3,259
    Liked
    6 times
    Twitter
    Tallica21
    Phone
    GSIII-Rooted
    Premium Member
    #2
    If you still have the super user icon but apps that need root will not work, then you just lost root access, use link 3 in my sig to reroot

    Edit: you won't b rick your droid by wiping Data, and if you want to unroot 1st use link 4 in my sig then link 3 to reroot

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. problem after installing update
    By connie13021 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 01:20 PM
  2. Problem with installing themes over BB 0.5
    By MissCz in forum Bugless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 01:27 PM
  3. problem after installing new rom
    By tyler467m in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 12:23 PM
  4. Big Problem Installing 2.1, I know I'm not the only one.
    By hatboysam in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 08:57 AM
  5. 3G problem after installing ROM
    By Shadowkast in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 02:18 PM

Search tags for this page

access to lower level graphics droid
,
android enable low level graphic
,

enable access to lower level graphics

,
failed starting server please check that you have root acces
,

failed to start server.please check that you have root acces

,
my phone is rooted but aborts installing super user
,
shoot me wont start android
,

shootme failed starting server

,
shootme failed to start server
,
shootme root access
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+