DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Way to connect Droid to Ad-Hoc Wifi?

  1. Junior Droid
    skater8705's Avatar
    Member #
    116138
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid A855
    #1

    Exclamation Way to connect Droid to Ad-Hoc Wifi?

    I’ve looked around for this question, and a lot of the threads seem outdated.


    Now that Froyo 2.2 is out, is there a way to connect the Droid to an adhoc network? More specifically, tether a Droid to a Droid?


    I have two Moto Droids, and one is without plan, and since it is all beat up, I prefer to use it in my car for music (Pandora) over my new Droid (which I’m trying to keep new-looking). Both Droids are rooted and are running different ROMs (Data-Enabled Droid running Ultimate Droid and No-Service Droid running ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning v4.7).

    I have wifi tethering on the with-service Droid, but when I run it, the no-service droid doesn't pick it up.
    I've read people talking about changing ini settings to allow it to do so, but I have no clue where to start on doing this.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Last edited by skater8705; 09-10-2010 at 11:30 PM.
  2. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #2
    I cant do this either however I would be willing to try, particularly if it involved any command line options. Can you post a link of any information you have found so I can look over it? I never ran across anything with ini files.
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #3
    My Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks fine. I'm running CyanogenMod 6, though.
  4. Droid
    yorT's Avatar
    Member #
    67472
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    My Droid picks up Ad-Hoc networks fine. I'm running CyanogenMod 6, though.
    Which kernal are you running?
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #5
    ChevyNo1's 1.1GHz ULV. I don't know if the stock kernel would have an issue or not with the WiFi system. I'd assume not.

    @OP: Is your Droid broadcasting SSID when you turn on tethering?
  6. Junior Droid
    skater8705's Avatar
    Member #
    116138
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid A855
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    @OP: Is your Droid broadcasting SSID when you turn on tethering?
    Yeah it is. Ive connected it to other people's laptop, as well as mine. Ive also connected it to ipods without a problem.

    You did say you're running CyanogenMod 6 though, imma install tonight, and see if it works. When i have it up and running ill respond with results.
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #7
    Good luck!
  8. Junior Droid
    skater8705's Avatar
    Member #
    116138
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid A855
    #8

    Talking

    WIN!!!!

    @ furbearingmammal .....THANX A MILLION

    yea i loaded up CyanogenMod 6.0.0 and had success connecting to my other droid. i also loaded up the ChevyNo1-1.25Ghz-ulowV-7slot kernel if it matters, but everything works great.
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #9


    So glad it worked for you!
  10. Master Droid
    kevdog's Avatar
    Member #
    4295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    722
    Phone
    moto droid
    #10
    Weird -- but a stock 2.2 D1 wont connect to a D1 cm6.0 running wireless tether. Its weird -- using wifinder the ad-hoc network can be seen but the handshake can not be completed.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. WIFI won't connect
    By icemanrrc in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:11 AM
  2. Droid won't connect to wifi internet through sonicwall
    By FrontierProject in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 09:40 PM
  3. Allow iPhone wifi connect my Droid
    By FoFa in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 09:55 AM
  4. Can find droid wifi tether, but cannot connect
    By orthrwi in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 07:24 AM
  5. WiFi will not connect
    By tsDroidio in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 02:34 PM

Search tags for this page

android 2.2 ad hoc

,

android wont connect to ad hoc

,

android wont connect to adhoc

,

connect android 2.2 to ad hoc

,

droid 2 ad hoc

,

droid ad hoc

,

droid raxr max adhoc

,

how to connect ad hoc at android 2.2

,

how to connect adhoc network on android

,
tool to connect android to adhoc
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+