DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: ROM Flashing

  1. Senior Droid
    Twitch043's Avatar
    Member #
    97526
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    ROM Flashing

    Once again, I searched around and could find no answers, haha.

    So I rooted (using the Universal Androot thing that was on the front page yesterday) and have ROM manager. I downloaded Bugless, I think .4, whichever is the latest 2.2 version. Anyway, I made a clockwork recovery. Do I need to back up my current ROM if I did a clockwork recovery? Because when I try to, my phone turns off, reboots, and then gets stuck on the screen with the !, triangle, and dead phone. When I power off and on, it boots fine.

    Also, what (free?) program should I use to back up my apps/contacts/all that good stuff? I already had Astro File Manager and see that has a "backup applications" option, so I did that, but... it just makes me uneasy.

    I did some searching and found Titanium Backup, the free version. Will this version be able to back up all of that stuff? And if so, how would I put everything it backed up on to my phone once I flashed the new ROM?

    I just feel like I have a lack of... knowledge or that I'm not correctly backed up, cause I donMt want to lose anything. lol.

    Thank you for any replies.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  2. Super Moderator/RS
    dlwhtrose's Avatar
    Member #
    14116
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Posts
    2,777
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    TBOLT / Charge
    Premium Member
    #2
    Okay I am a little confused. You said that you rooted and have rom manager installed, flashed bugless beast BUT when you boot into recovery you see a triangle with a ! in the middle. Well that triangle with the ! is the stock recovery which tells me that you do not have root.

    When you go into rom manager, did you flash clockworkmod recovery (first option at the top of rm)? If you didn't then you need to (make sure to tap to select your phone when asked). If you did then scroll to the bottom of RM and try to flash SPRecovery then flash back to ClockworkMod. That should install the alternate recovery so that when you boot into recovery you will no longer see the triangle with ! in the middle.
  3. Junior Droid
    jaysnyder75's Avatar
    Member #
    3117
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    #3
    I am having the same problem with the !. I first step you mentioned. Haven't flashed a new ROM yet because I can't boot in recovery. Any help is appreciated

    EDIT: never mind, was being a little slow today, one of those days I guess
    Last edited by jaysnyder75; 08-27-2010 at 11:06 AM.
  4. Senior Droid
    Twitch043's Avatar
    Member #
    97526
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    aaaand now i cannot connect my phone to my computer. wont even charge; nothing happens. i dont know where i would have messed up. and the dial-up on my computer isnt working, so that has NO internet.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,337
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #5
    yea try reflashing clockwork recovery using rom manager - like dlwhtrose said, the ! is the stock recovery.

    and make sure the battery has good charge or youll end up getting stuck.
  6. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #6
    Are you running BB on your phone right now?


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  7. Senior Droid
    Twitch043's Avatar
    Member #
    97526
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Are you running BB on your phone right now?
    No, i only downloaded it through rom manager, i never flashed it.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Twitch043 View Post
    Are you running BB on your phone right now?
    No, i only downloaded it through rom manager, i never flashed it.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    OK - got ya! Sorry, was a bit confused ... I agree with the above posts - go into RM and select the very first option. After that you should be able to flash BB.


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  9. Senior Droid
    Twitch043's Avatar
    Member #
    97526
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    No, i only downloaded it through rom manager, i never flashed it.







    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk


    OK - got ya! Sorry, was a bit confused ... I agree with the above posts - go into RM and select the very first option. After that you should be able to flash BB.
    okay. do i have to worry about re-adding stuff? was backing it up all i had to do? and have any ideas about why i cant connect to my computer? or should i make another topic for that?



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Twitch043 View Post
    okay. do i have to worry about re-adding stuff? was backing it up all i had to do? and have any ideas about why i cant connect to my computer? or should i make another topic for that?
    OK- did you backup your apps with either astro or titanium backup? And, more importantly, did you backup your current ROM with ROM Manager?
    If you answered yes to the above questions, I'd say try and flash your ROM and then see what happens after that with the connecting to the PC...


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Led always flashing {24/7}
    By Beasley2425 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2011, 08:22 PM
  2. Flashing SBF with a Mac
    By OneTenderRebel in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 04:50 PM
  3. flashing .sbf problem?
    By beneharris in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-22-2010, 05:42 PM
  4. Need Help, flashing gone BAD.
    By Cdjones187 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 05:26 PM
  5. Flashing 2.1 sbf
    By ftgg99 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 03:51 AM

Search tags for this page

android rom flashing

,
droid flash rom
,
droid flashingfront page
,

flash droid rom from pc

,

flash rom on pc

,
flash rom universal android
,
flashing droid from computer
,
flashing rom again and again on android
,

rom flashing droid

,
universal rom flasher android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+