DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: titanium, nandroid or both?

  1. Senior Droid
    papatar's Avatar
    Member #
    6304
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    175
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    titanium, nandroid or both?

    i read mentions in numerous posts that while installing something to make sure you do a nandroid backup. would titanium work instead or do you specifically need to do a nandroid. i have found titanium to work great. i have done simple nandroid backups while in SPR but when i try and do an advanced the screen just sits there and does nothing. am i okay just doing the titanium for the most part? thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    trainstroker's Avatar
    Member #
    14223
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    54
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Personally, I hate titanium, and love nandroid/rom manager backups. First of all, I would highly recommend you get rom manager, install clockwork mod and do backs up through that.

    BUT to answer your question, if you screw your phone up to where you cannot boot into it, your titatium backup will be useless, which is why SPrecovery backups are recommended. Yeah, you can use titanium, but it's like driving a car with your feet. Yeah you can do it, but it's dangerous (in case you can't boot).
  4. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #3
    +1 for backups in SPR. They have saved many folks.

    I'm surprised that you are not able to make an advanced nandroid backup. Are you able to enter the name? If so, are you pressing the return key?

    Mike
  5. Senior Droid
    papatar's Avatar
    Member #
    6304
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    175
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    in recovery i get the screen showing to choose between advanced and simple backup. i scroll to advanced, hit the camera button and get a screen where 'set backup name' is highlighted. i hit camera button but nothing happens
  6. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #5
    OK when you get the line "set backup name" open your slider and enter a name for your backup then press the key directly below the DEL key and above the key with a - above an up arrow close your slider and press the camera key.

    Let me know if you have questions.

    Mike
  7. Senior Droid
    papatar's Avatar
    Member #
    6304
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    175
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    ok, got it. i will do a backup tomorrow. thanks Mike and everyone else
  8. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #7
    OK if you have questions or issues post and we'll get you through.
  9. Senior Droid
    papatar's Avatar
    Member #
    6304
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    175
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    okay, i got to 'set backup name', hit the camera button, opened the slider, typed in a name, hit the button below 'del', closed the slider-nothing happened so i hit the camera button and below where it showed the name i had typed in, it asked again to type in a prefix to name your backup. thats where i'm at right now
  10. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by papatar View Post
    okay, i got to 'set backup name', hit the camera button, opened the slider, typed in a name, hit the button below 'del', closed the slider-nothing happened so i hit the camera button and below where it showed the name i had typed in, it asked again to type in a prefix to name your backup. thats where i'm at right now
    When you enter the backup name, press the button below the DEL key, close the slider and use the volume key to move down to the perform backup then press the camera key

    Let me know if this works
  11. Master Droid
    brochaos's Avatar
    Member #
    18653
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    782
    Phone
    Motorola Doid
    #10
    sprecovery is great if you mess your phone up, get stuck in boot loops, want to undo a theme, etc. if you load a new rom though, your old nandroids are basically worthless (assuming everything is stable with your new rom). this is where you would use TB to restore all of your previous apps and their data, so you don't have to install them from the market one by one or wait for google to sync them (without the user data of course).
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Nandroid backup issue: Nandroid exited with status 34
    By gnome_sayin in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 02:59 AM
  2. Titanium FC with BB v1.1
    By pastortommy in forum Bugless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 10:30 AM
  3. simply nandroid vs. advance nandroid
    By marcogiudice in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 09:51 AM
  4. Titanium Backup help
    By pyro6128 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 10:51 AM
  5. Titanium Backup vs. Advanced Nandroid
    By rickt1152 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 07:16 AM

Search tags for this page

clockwork recovery vs titanium backup

,
clockwork vs titanium backup
,

nandroid backup vs titanium backup

,
nandroid titanium
,
nandroid titanium backup
,
nandroid vs clockworkmod
,

nandroid vs titanium

,

titanium backup vs clockwork

,
titanium backup vs nandroid
,
titanium vs nandroid
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+