DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: confused about rooting

  1. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #1

    confused about rooting

    yeah i am a noob...i did some research and nothing reallly came up.

    basically i forced the official 2.2 update last week.

    decided i wanted to root afterall so i downloaded easyroot from the marketplace and did that with no issues. then i went to ROM manager, got clockworkmod recovery working, downloaded Bugless beast, rebooted into recovery and got the CWM recovery screen, and was stuck from there, i didn't know what to do, so i just rebooted back to stock 2.2.

    whenever i download a ROM, it finishes, but when it prompts me to reboot, it reboots into normal recovery mode or doesn't reboot at all. and when i try to reflash clickworkmod recovery i get an error saying "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands!" i know for a fact i gave it super user access when i ran the ROM manager.

    so basically i am stuck. i just want bugless beast, but i am having issues with SP and CMW recovery where they dont want to work correctly...just boots to the stock recovery.

    i am a total noob, just got my droid, just started reading about it. please help, try to use full names of programs, and links if possible.

    also wondering about overclocking AND wifi tethering. do i need a different kernal for this, or does BB come with overclock and wifi tethering. i have barnacle installed, but it doesn't seem to be working on rooted stock 2.2.
    sorry for all the rambling...i just really want to know what i am doing so i can possibly help out in the future.
    thanks guys
    Last edited by turdbogls; 08-10-2010 at 11:37 AM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #2
    can anyone help me here? still not finding the answers anywhere.

    currently i am rooted, and have superuser status. i have the latest rom manager downloaded, and i have a BB and Cynogen ROM downloaded from Rom Manager. when i go to install, it says it is going to reboot into clockworkmod recovery, i say OK, and it does NOTHING...doesn't reboot at all. if i manually reboot into recovery, it does the stock recovery. when i try to "flash ClockworkMod Recovery from RM i get an error message saying "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands!"

    what is going on here? i get the same message when i try to flash SP recovery.

    also Rom Manager says my current recovery:clockworkmod 2.5.0.1 which is the same as the latest recovery.
  4. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #3
    My oh my, another Easy Root/ROM Manager issue ... I walked someone through this earlier.
    1) open RM and scroll down to "All ClockworkMod Recoveries"
    2) Select an older version (2.0.1.3 usually works for me).
    3) Hit OK, after the " Successfully flashed ClockworkMod recovery!" appears hit OK. Then do that 2 more time (staying with 2.0.1.3)
    4) Scroll up to "Download ROM" and select whick ROM you'd like to run.
    5) Being that you already have a backup, just check the "Wipe data/cache" box after the download is complete.

    That should do it - let me know how you make out.


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  5. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #4
    BTW - this is a ROM Manager issue, nothing you did ... so don't beat yourself up


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  6. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #5
    Ugh...I am still getting that error message....not sure what's up but it downloads the file to like 99% then gives me the message. I appreciate the help tho...now help me with this....hahaha
  7. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by turdbogls View Post
    Ugh...I am still getting that error message....not sure what's up but it downloads the file to like 99% then gives me the message. I appreciate the help tho...now help me with this....hahaha
    Sorry, had to catch some Z's ...

    Weird! Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling RM? Aside from that the only thing I can think of is installing SPRecovery and going that route.


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  8. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by YankInDaSouth View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by turdbogls View Post
    Ugh...I am still getting that error message....not sure what's up but it downloads the file to like 99% then gives me the message. I appreciate the help tho...now help me with this....hahaha
    Sorry, had to catch some Z's ...

    Weird! Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling RM? Aside from that the only thing I can think of is installing SPRecovery and going that route.
    yeah i did do that....i finally got it working.

    basically went into easyroot, and unrooted, menue button, force re-root, reboot system, re-install RM, and went from there without a hitch.
    thanks for your help.

    currently running bugless beast V0.4 with no issues, and wifi tethering working (i think...dont have any accepted devices around to test it out...unfortunately my Zune HD is not supported)

    so as far as getting it overclocked (BB is overclicked to 800mhz) to like 1ghz, is that just another kernal i have to DL and flash? i think i am actually starting to understand this stuff...haha
  9. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #8
    Here's how I install kernels:

    First I download a few and put them on my SD card. Phones are picky about what kernels they like. So, if it's a Chevy kernel I'd d/l the 1.0ULV, 1.0LV, 1.0MV etc.

    After you get some on your SD card, go into ROM Manager and select "Install ROM from SD card"

    Find where it is and select it - no need to wipe data/cache, but as always MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A CURRENT BACKUP OF YOU ROM

    Now, if everything boots up and looks good, you're done. You may need an app like SetCPU in order set the speeds.

    HOWEVER, if you get stuck in a boot loop or stuck on the "M" logo this is where downloading several kernels comes in handy

    Simply pull the battery out and wait a few seconds. Put it back in a boot up in recovery (hold down the X button while powering on, blah, blah, blah)

    Then select "install zip file" (or however it's worded), scroll down to you stash of kernels and pick a different one.


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










  10. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by YankInDaSouth View Post
    Here's how I install kernels:

    First I download a few and put them on my SD card. Phones are picky about what kernels they like. So, if it's a Chevy kernel I'd d/l the 1.0ULV, 1.0LV, 1.0MV etc.

    After you get some on your SD card, go into ROM Manager and select "Install ROM from SD card"

    Find where it is and select it - no need to wipe data/cache, but as always MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A CURRENT BACKUP OF YOU ROM

    Now, if everything boots up and looks good, you're done. You may need an app like SetCPU in order set the speeds.

    HOWEVER, if you get stuck in a boot loop or stuck on the "M" logo this is where downloading several kernels comes in handy

    Simply pull the battery out and wait a few seconds. Put it back in a boot up in recovery (hold down the X button while powering on, blah, blah, blah)

    Then select "install zip file" (or however it's worded), scroll down to you stash of kernels and pick a different one.
    Fantastic!....now if i do this, am i going to loose all my apps/games i downloaded like i did when i went to BB? is there any way to move them all to the SD card so this wont happen every time i install a different ROM?
  11. Theme Developer
    YankInDaSouth's Avatar
    Member #
    85810
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Posts
    2,951
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX HD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by turdbogls View Post
    Fantastic!....now if i do this, am i going to loose all my apps/games i downloaded like i did when i went to BB? is there any way to move them all to the SD card so this wont happen every time i install a different ROM?
    No, when installing themes and kernels you don't wipe data/cache so everything will be there. Once again though, ALWAYS HAVE A CURRENT BACKUP BEFORE YOU FLASH A ROM OR INSTALL A KERNEL/THEME. (I stress that cuz I care )

    You can get Titanium Backup off the market to backup apps AND app data!


    RETIRED THEMER
    (Check out my Droid 1 themes - click here)










Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. I'm Confused....Can someone please HELP
    By Cronkalicious in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-24-2010, 06:42 PM
  2. How fool-proof are these rooting steps / is rooting permanent
    By liguy257 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 06:56 AM
  3. New and Confused
    By SJSD in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 07:04 PM
  4. A little confused...
    By Deano2423 in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 03:54 PM

Search tags for this page

easy root 1.3.4

,

easyroot 1.3.4 install

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+