DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: USing Droid without activating on Verizon?

  1. Droid Newbie
    Mark Larson's Avatar
    Member #
    99484
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    USing Droid without activating on Verizon?

    I bought a Droid today - it was a good deal, and I had been wanting to get an Android device for a while now, but I didn't want to pay the monthly data fees.

    So when I saw one with a bad ESN, I figured the price was right, and I bought it. It had 2.1 on it, and I promptly updated it to 2.2 FRG01. However, it doesn't seem to want to work without communicating with Verizon's servers.

    I put in my wifi information and switched on the wifi, but when I open the Browser it just tells me it can't find the website (any website).

    When I open Market it asks me to log in via my Gmail ID, but when I do that, it tells me "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the Server. This could be a temporary problem or your phone may not be provisioned for data services. Call Customer Care"

    I know that on the iPhone you could jailbreak to skip activation. Is that not possible with the Droid?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Larson View Post
    I bought a Droid today - it was a good deal, and I had been wanting to get an Android device for a while now, but I didn't want to pay the monthly data fees.

    So when I saw one with a bad ESN, I figured the price was right, and I bought it. It had 2.1 on it, and I promptly updated it to 2.2 FRG01. However, it doesn't seem to want to work without communicating with Verizon's servers.

    I put in my wifi information and switched on the wifi, but when I open the Browser it just tells me it can't find the website (any website).

    When I open Market it asks me to log in via my Gmail ID, but when I do that, it tells me "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the Server. This could be a temporary problem or your phone may not be provisioned for data services. Call Customer Care"

    I know that on the iPhone you could jailbreak to skip activation. Is that not possible with the Droid?
    I think by jailbreak you mean "root". The term is used on the iphone because their devices are in jail, and their users belong in jail.

    You can bypass the activation by clicking the four corners and then the android. (Feel free to google this one, there are even youtube videos).

    You should be able to use it on WiFi just fine. The market should work for you as well providing you have a gmail account. You should be able to make calls via SIPdroid.

    E
  4. Droid Newbie
    R3D3M0N's Avatar
    Member #
    98725
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Eastern US
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by gavron View Post
    I think by jailbreak you mean "root". The term is used on the iphone because their devices are in jail, and their users belong in jail.
    I dang near poo-ed lol...
    Quote Originally Posted by gavron View Post
    You should be able to use it on WiFi just fine. The market should work for you as well providing you have a gmail account. You should be able to make calls via SIPdroid.
    E
    I could look this up but i figured you might already know if there's an app to send texts over WiFi... I could possibly ditch my bill...
  5. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by R3D3M0N View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by gavron View Post
    I think by jailbreak you mean "root". The term is used on the iphone because their devices are in jail, and their users belong in jail.
    I dang near poo-ed lol...
    Quote Originally Posted by gavron View Post
    You should be able to use it on WiFi just fine. The market should work for you as well providing you have a gmail account. You should be able to make calls via SIPdroid.
    E
    I could look this up but i figured you might already know if there's an app to send texts over WiFi... I could possibly ditch my bill...
    Google Voice will do what you want. Free on Market if not already installed.



    E
  6. Droid Newbie
    Mark Larson's Avatar
    Member #
    99484
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Thanks for the input guys. It seems the wifi was the issue - it just randomly started connecting to websites yesterday and I was then able to browse the market, install some apps etc.

    However today I'm trying to use it with my TP2, which has a hotspot built-in. My laptop can connect to the TP2's hotspot, but the Droid doesn't see it. Looking around, I see that the Droid has wifi issues - is there any way to fix it?
  7. Banned
    gavron's Avatar
    Member #
    32757
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    555
    Phone
    VZW Moto Droid + N900 ;)
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Larson View Post
    Thanks for the input guys. It seems the wifi was the issue - it just randomly started connecting to websites yesterday and I was then able to browse the market, install some apps etc.

    However today I'm trying to use it with my TP2, which has a hotspot built-in. My laptop can connect to the TP2's hotspot, but the Droid doesn't see it. Looking around, I see that the Droid has wifi issues - is there any way to fix it?
    I find that turning WiFi off and on works most of the time. Doing that and rebooting my Netgear access-point works all of the time.

    E
  8. Droid Newbie
    imaustinyourenot's Avatar
    Member #
    148951
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    DROID 1
    #7
    I'm right there... so close!
    I'm able to get on websites with my wifi only droid, but I can't successfully register(?) my google account with the droid to download apps. It says: "Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server. This could be a temporary problem or your phone may not be provisioned for data services. If t continues, call Customer Care."

    Accessing this forum, it offered me the free droidforums app but if I click Ok it asks me to register my google acct

    I bought the phone used.
    Last edited by imaustinyourenot; 12-16-2010 at 08:56 AM.
  9. Junior Droid
    dm1027's Avatar
    Member #
    146227
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid R2D2
    #8
    When you enter your google account info and click submit, pull down the menu from the top of the screen. Several times I have had to click to allow the permission for the program to run and log me in.

    Hope its something this simply fixed for you...
  10. Droid Newbie
    imaustinyourenot's Avatar
    Member #
    148951
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    DROID 1
    #9
    Thanks a lot. I kept searching the net and found a solution where I register thru the YouTube app, which worked after a few tries.

    Now the marketplace says 'Server unavailable. Please try again later.'

    I'm also reading up on rooting. Glad to have found this board!
  11. Junior Droid
    BobF4's Avatar
    Member #
    149371
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Actually, I JUSt got my Droid Eris on Tuesday. Previously, I used an LG Dare with Page Plus Cellular (a Verizon reseller).

    When I got my Eris, I called into Page Plus, gave them my MEID and the switched my number over to my new phone! Everything works fine, including internet and mail. Surprisingly, the Market let me access and INSTALL VCast Song ID, with no issues! VZ Navigator also appears to be working, too.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Activating my Droid
    By Unitopia in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 12:06 AM
  2. Activating a used Droid?
    By Hivoltage in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 08:36 AM
  3. Activating Droid on Verizon Network
    By StephanC in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 01:16 PM
  4. Having problems activating droid
    By uncdude777 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-26-2009, 01:39 AM
  5. Activating Droid by myself with no data plan ?
    By xxllznkid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 02:36 PM

Search tags for this page

activate droid 2 without verizon
,

activate droid x without service

,
activate droid x without service plan
,
how to activate a verizon phone without service
,

how to activate droid 2 without verizon

,

how to use a verizon phone without activating it

,
how to use droid x without activating
,
how to use verizon phone without activating
,

use droid x without activating

,
use verizon phone without activation
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+