DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: [nOOb warning] Cyanogen 6.0 RC2 Kernels and overclocking, do I need Set CPU?

  1. Droid
    qwopzxnm's Avatar
    Member #
    6317
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    [nOOb warning] Cyanogen 6.0 RC2 Kernels and overclocking, do I need Set CPU?

    After being on the fence about it I finally rooted my Droid 1 and my first ROM install was the Cyanogen 6.0 RC2. I also installed the 7 slot, 1ghz, low voltage kernel.

    My question is do I still have to get an app that lets me set my CPU speed? Or did simply installing the kernel already overclock me to 1ghz?

    Thanks for your help.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    kyle94481's Avatar
    Member #
    97090
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #2
    Installing that kernel automatically set your clock max to 1GHz, if you want to see for yourself, download an app called terminal emulator from the market. When it's done downloading, go into the app and type what is written below

    cpuinfo

    Then press enter.
    I'll break it down for you,

    Maximum Frequency Applied - This is the maximum clock speed your processor is currently set to go to, this is basically the max speed of the kernel you have installed, which in your case would be 1GHz.

    Maximum Frequency Applied - I believe this is the just the max speed available for the processor to be set at. With the kernel you have installed in mind, that is.

    Minimum Frequency Applied - This is the minimum that your clock speed that your kernel is set to drop to.

    Minimum Frequency Available - This is the minimum clock speed that your kernel is set to drop to. In your case it would be either the 1st or 7th slot of your kernel (depending on the order from which it is displayed on their download page)

    Current Frequency Speed - This is the clock speed that your phone is currently running at, remember that this rate can function depending on the governors that are in place.

    Scaling Governors Applied - The current governor that your kernel is set to.

    Scaling Governors Available - These are the governors that your phone's kernel supports.

    Governors are basically just parameters for the phone's processor to run at based on what the kernel tells it. You can derive what they mean for the most part just by looking at their names.

    The following things that are stated in the cpuinfo command aren't that important for you at the time being. Hope this helps
    Last edited by kyle94481; 08-02-2010 at 02:59 PM.
  4. Droid
    qwopzxnm's Avatar
    Member #
    6317
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Thanks for the reply Kyle it was a huge help. I went into Terminal Emulator and when I type in cpuinfo and hit enter it says "permission denied".

    However knowing that when I installed the kernel it was enough to overclock my cpu is all I needed to know. Thanks again for your help!
  5. Droid
    kyle94481's Avatar
    Member #
    97090
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #4
    Your welcome If you're getting that "permission denied" message, then before you type in cpuinfo type in the letters "su" without the quotations. This stands for super user, giving you complete control over it and giving permission to do whatever you want within that terminal. Glad to know I helped, if you need any more help, just post it here.
  6. Senior Droid
    deaf leppy's Avatar
    Member #
    89295
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    137
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #5
    If you're wondering this just because you can't/ don't want to buy the SetCPU app, I believe you can find the .apk on the XDA dev forums...
  7. Developer
    gflam's Avatar
    Member #
    77717
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,884
    Liked
    41 times
    Twitter
    @init2winitapps
    Phone
    Moto Droid/HTC Evo 3D
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #6
    There's a widget called overclock widget which is free and does basically the same thing as setcpu just doesn't have all the features of set cpu
  8. Junior Droid
    stryker71's Avatar
    Member #
    39998
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    15
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    If I try and run cpuinfo before su I get permission denied. After su it says "cpuinfo: not found". I have busybox v 1.16.2. Any ideas where that command is?
  9. Droid
    qwopzxnm's Avatar
    Member #
    6317
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by stryker71 View Post
    If I try and run cpuinfo before su I get permission denied. After su it says "cpuinfo: not found". I have busybox v 1.16.2. Any ideas where that command is?
    I'm now getting the same thing you are.
  10. Developer
    gflam's Avatar
    Member #
    77717
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,884
    Liked
    41 times
    Twitter
    @init2winitapps
    Phone
    Moto Droid/HTC Evo 3D
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #9
    cpuinfo is a script that is located in your xbin it however is rom specific. I run bugless beast v0.4 and pete included this script in his rom you guys might be running something else and your developer didn't have that script in his rom.
    It's much easier just to get setcpu it'll be the best money you spend for your phone
  11. Droid
    qwopzxnm's Avatar
    Member #
    6317
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by gflam View Post
    cpuinfo is a script that is located in your xbin it however is rom specific. I run bugless beast v0.4 and pete included this script in his rom you guys might be running something else and your developer didn't have that script in his rom.
    It's much easier just to get setcpu it'll be the best money you spend for your phone
    Thanks gflam. I'm running Cyanogen 6.0 RC2 with the bekit 7 slot, 1ghz, low voltage kernel on a Droid 1.

    I've been trying to use Rom Manager to switch to and try BB V.4 but it's not working for some reason.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [Froyo] Bugless Beast Overclocking Kernels
    By steptaker in forum Bugless
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 04:40 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 08:46 AM
  3. Kernels for Cyanogen 5.0.8
    By krnboixshawn in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 10:54 PM
  4. [Noob] Custom Kernels
    By vinylgruve in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 09:08 PM
  5. Noob overclocking question
    By cpuwhiz22 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-28-2010, 10:23 AM

Search tags for this page

boot randimations 2.0.2 free download
,
cyanogen 6 overclocking
,
cyanogen cpu
,

cyanogen kernel

,

cyanogen overclock

,
cyanogen overclock kernel
,
cyanogenmod 6 overclock
,
cyanogenmod overclock kernel
,
overclock cyanogen
,
overclock widget cyanogen
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+