DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Let's go HTC_IME 2.1 for Droid!

  1. Droid
    pcm2a's Avatar
    Member #
    944
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Let's go HTC_IME 2.1 for Droid!

    Hey all. So the HTC Android 2.1 is leaked out now and with it comes a nice new HTC_IME keyboard. If you used this on any older phone then you know it blows the stock keyboard away. I'm guessing this one will be updated for high res screens.

    I don't want to type it all in again, but over on XDA I have started gathering some information about this:
    How to modify compiled AndroidManifest.xml to downgrade it from 2.1 to 2.0? - xda-developers

    I have pulled the HTC_IME.apk from the leaked rom.
    I have extracted the AndroidManifest.xml from the file and used a hex editor to change the SDK version from 6 to 5 (We are on 2.0 not 2.1).

    The only piece left is to change this Manifest.MF file to have the correct SHA1-Digest for the .xml file, but I'm not sure how to do that. Does anyone have any ideas?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Stigy's Avatar
    Member #
    745
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,084
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    Keep us posted on the development. This would be awesome and I would love to use the HTC keyboard on my phone again like I did on my G1.
  4. Senior Droid
    jrocketdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    2797
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    163
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    wow - that's awesome...can't wait =) sorry not savvy enough to be a developer, so that's all I can add to this thread.
  5. Senior Droid
    JasonLee's Avatar
    Member #
    1841
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    buffalo ny
    Posts
    233
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #4
    Post when done please! !!!
  6. Droid Newbie
    sebgonz's Avatar
    Member #
    10504
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DRRRRROOOID
    #5
    I might be able to help out. Pm me the file that you need help with and fill me in on. The progress. I'm sure we can accomplish something
  7. Junior Droid
    angel12's Avatar
    Member #
    3692
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    will be watchin guys, love the htc keyboard!
  8. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Wish I could help. You might also try posting over at alldroid.org. They have some smart guys over there working on the rooting effort, so perhaps they can help with this as well.
  9. Droid
    phamous's Avatar
    Member #
    884
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Huntington Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    T-Mobile G1
    #8
    ask Cyan to give you some help with that, or Jubeh on xda. pm them

    jubeh's done some modification on the first IME, but besides... unless the latest 2.1 hero'-esque devices will sport a high resolution screen, the IME will still be for lower resolution devices. Apparently the Droid Passion is supposed to be high res? i don't remember, but that dump isn't available yet, and sources haven't released a 2.1 for those higher resolution phones

    Steve Kondik (cyanogen) on Twitter


  10. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Have you seen this thread: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...ine-droid.html

    It seems that the previously modified htc_ime works on the Droid, it just doesn't work perfectly. Perhaps comparing the two can help you along?

    I'm also hopeful that since higher resolution devices are on the way, the apk from 2.1 may support multiple resolutions.
    Last edited by Vanilla Tarantino; 12-02-2009 at 03:07 PM.
  11. Senior Droid
    JFDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    185
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    226
    Phone
    DROID
    #10
    Oh, this is pretty cool. Works well on my Droid. Turned off one of the settings so that in portrait mode, the predictive words don't block my text box that I'm typing into. I type fairly accurately anyway, so this is a good compromise for me.

    Need the kb to be high-res and stretched for landscape, and a fix for the predictive text in portrait and it would be really amazing. Even in its sort of gimped form, it's still better than the stock 2.0 android keyboard. That's lame.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. HTC_IME working fine on Droid
    By ei8htohms in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 09:23 PM

Search tags for this page

htc ime 2.1

,
htc ime 2.1 apk
,
htc ime apk for sense 2.1
,

htc ime eclair

,
htc ime lo.apk for android 2.1
,
htc ime resolution
,
htc ime x8 2.1
,

htc ime.apk 2.1

,
htc ime.apk eclair
,
ime
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+